wazua Sat, Apr 4, 2026

13 Pages«<910111213>
A letter to Kenyans Abroad - by bikozulu
#101 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 3:19:20 PM

Nabwire wrote:
This is the point where I give up, wacha nikajipatie sshughli!

Nice of you

You can never win an argument with a Kenyan Middle class fellow.. but worse is a villager who has just landed in the city or exposed to urban life.. he is comparable to the guys Masukuma is lamenting about..acquire an accent after a successful VISA application.

I cringe when i talk to Nairobi women... that accent? GALS!!! Cant you just drop it.. what the Effff

Something in between Shanikwa and Hillary Rodham... worse accent in the world
#102 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 3:45:29 PM

aemathenge wrote:
I was about to cheer you for posting Biko's sentiments, then I remembered these are the exact sentiments exhibited by Nairobbers when they go (come to)"shags".

We wacha man he goat nikifika nyumbani mi huenda kuchunga mbuzi nini Wewe
Rollout
#103 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 5:44:57 PM

sky5 wrote:
I have a cousin who has lived in US since 1990. Everytime he comes 'home', he always speaks proper in mothertongue and never in 'American' accent. So I guess it depends on how fast some Kenyans get 'Americanized'.

There is no mothertongue with American accent but there is mothertongue with Nairobi accent!

Alot of Nairobians just refuse to speak in mothertongue..... if your name in Kimaiyo berberkwetiot, you should be able to speak in kale, and how can kimani wanjiku not able to speak in Kyuk?
#104 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 6:06:04 AM

An oga has also penned an interesting piece get time and read it id a dogz life

american-life-rudolf-ogoo-okonkwo
#105 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 7:23:27 AM

Siringi wrote:

That was a sobering article ...waa! Sad Sad Sad
Tokyo
#106 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 8:14:38 AM

Siringi wrote:

A good article to read . might be true to some but many others have diffrent experiences
work to prosper
#107 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 10:32:23 AM

Rollout wrote:
sky5 wrote:
I have a cousin who has lived in US since 1990. Everytime he comes 'home', he always speaks proper in mothertongue and never in 'American' accent. So I guess it depends on how fast some Kenyans get 'Americanized'.

There is no mothertongue with American accent but there is mothertongue with Nairobi accent!

Alot of Nairobians just refuse to speak in mothertongue..... if your name in Kimaiyo berberkwetiot, you should be able to speak in kale, and how can kimani wanjiku not able to speak in Kyuk?

Mbossss... punguza tafasali....Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Rollout
#108 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 4:50:40 PM

Tokyo wrote:
Siringi wrote:

A good article to read . might be true to some but many others have diffrent experiences

I think it captures a small part of every immigrant's experience. Everyone can relate to a small part of the article.

The biggest problem immigrants face when the move to western countries is the inability to decide where they want to live their entire life because no one can be in two place at the same time unfortunately most people in western countries have their minds in two place, their native country and the country they reside in.

#109 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 5:13:42 PM

Rollout wrote:
Tokyo wrote:
Siringi wrote:

I think it captures a small part of every immigrant's experience. Everyone can relate to a small part of the article.

The biggest problem immigrants face when the move to western countries is the inability to decide where they want to live their entire life because no one can be in two place at the same time unfortunately most people in western countries have their minds in two place, their native country and the country they reside in.

the article kinda made me realize that I have a lot here!

ps: that loosing of teeth is not a joke. when you are bila insurance huko work by dentists will cost you a lot of money!!
#110 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 5:46:35 PM

Siringi wrote:

Grim picture. How long should one stay in the diaspora before cutting losses if things turn bad? I know some who face hard times refuse to come back home coz they fear their society will laugh at them
13 Pages«<910111213>