wazua Wed, Jan 29, 2025

16 Pages«<910111213>»
Why I fear / "hate" Going Home
#201 Posted : Sunday, August 11, 2013 4:12:43 PM

Looks like one makau Mutua, Chris Wamalwa @kiash @poundfoolish @ pundamlia et. al. Did not get Mary Kimonye ( CEO's memo)

LETTER TO KENYANS IN THE DIASPORA

Chris Wamalwa has removed the welding googles and seen the diaspora dilema this week fir what it truly is
WHEN KENYANS IN THE DIASPORA ARE NOT TOO SURE WHERE 'HOME' IS

his parting remark captures the probem squarely. . .

aemathenge wrote:
Rink:
http://www.nation.co.ke/...0/-/uwg451/-/index.html

EXTRACTS

[i][b]We are a mediocre country, and we know it. We should stop being so sensitive, and acting like silly brats.

My crystal ball tells me that @kiash=MakauMutua. You can take that to the bank.

"πŸ˜–πŸ˜‘KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
kiash
#202 Posted : Sunday, August 11, 2013 10:38:52 PM

kiash wrote:

Get home and

Electricity -you do not know when there is rationing or when they will say it’s a generator problem.

When you have electricity, the taps are probably dry no water

Daktari - go out there and get some cold and then get to that hospital, chances of getting the right medication God help

Airport fire/accident - Fire fighters and ambulances will take ages to get to the scene. In case you get to the emergency well the definition of emergency changes.

Wezi - Go out and have some few drinks, take a taxi, you are not a 100% sure you will get home in case the taxi driver ni mwizi pia. Next day take your car or a mat and there you do not know if you will be carjacked.

Police- get hijacked and get to the police station , ouf polisi nao, utumishi kwa wote you might think you are looking for help to go to heaven

TV content - get home and there you switch on the TV, hoping to get some local content and there you go a nollywood film ama zile za kutoka South America.

Politician - they will start telling lies for them to get elected so as to increase their salaries and show their power, petty issues how many cars, body guards blabla some retired ministers elsewhere ride bikes to work.
Wakenya wajinga - who will always talk politics even when not necessary Raila hapa, Uhuruto hapa they cannot move on donge!

Football fans - those who are in blue and red jerseys talking about our team, team yenu as if they hold shares in Man uni or Chelsea some stupid ones even commit suicide. Kwenda jogging ama support Rudisha.

Some of those who share my fears just stay put in their countries of residence ulaya

Now that tempers have cooled down kidogo, i think i may comment. This @kiash guy has actually raised some valid points but its only that he put them across 'wrongly' and caused such a furore among 'patriotic wazuans'.

I think like someone mentioned earlier on, we are so used to mediocrity, incompetence, corruption, lawlessness, chaos etc mpaka we think it's normal and that's how life should be. The garbage, the potholes, the crime, lack of water, unsafe tap water, unreliable power, burst sewers, deplorable public hospitals, chaotic public transport system, theft of public resources etc etc have become acceptable in our society.

We are heavily taxed but never get services due to incompetence, corruption etc etc, and so we have to go back to our pockets and dig deep to pay for private security, private education for kids, private healthcare, private garbage collection, buy bottled drinking water etc etc. I even see people contributing money to seal potholes in their neighborhoods! So how do those people who can't afford this (over 80% of the population) survive? Meanwhile, our politicians are the highest paid in the world and it's only recently we were treated to a circus in the name of county budgets. Imagine the savings we would all make if systems that we pay for run the way they should?

So what is the difference between us and the west? They pay taxes and ensure their systems work, we pay taxes and our systems somehow never seem to work.

Applause Applause Applause Applause Could not have put it better.
kiash
#203 Posted : Sunday, August 11, 2013 10:48:13 PM

Hata Zimmerman akiua a niggah huko majuu.....@kiash.

Honestly you overrate yourself....jipe shughuli......Nai is so full of expats, I wonder how they survive away from the paradise homes huko majuu.

@poundfoolish, inakaa Nairoberry haikupeleki vizuri lakini just know that every society/country have their own unique problems, it doesn't call for a saffurer/idler majuu to lecture us.

Wonder where you went to school, looking at your comments.The last time i checked the expats do not have a life like yours or like a normal Kenyan for that matter. The reason why they stay is simple.
They will not have winter to care about, they have a gardener, cook, watchman and any other domestic help they would like coz they pay them almost nothing. They are paid risk allowances because of some of the fears above.Incase they need another experts advice(medication) they take a flight home they will not need visas.Look at where they live;They are paid more than Kenyans and more than their compatriots at home so why not stay in Kenya?
You might call me names but the point is home!
kiash
#204 Posted : Sunday, August 11, 2013 10:52:54 PM

Still too much noise here.. some of us have never been to the USA..Think we complain because we live in some ghetto in new orleans.. Kiash are you inn the States.. Ive spent some time in Norway.. and Belgium.. and Austria.. this poverty they talk about i havent seen there..
Maybe its pure retaliation for cousin Barry's visits.
All said.. even citizens in the countries ive mentioned.. do admire the land of opportunities.. forgeting their arrogance and capitalis greed..

Yap! Yap! Yap!!! "Nobody outside should point out our flaws.. we can insult ourselves just fine" (read cops turn pickpockets thread or any other political thread)

Same, been to several countries in Europe but its not like the US , i think the best comparison of Kenya and the US should be the gap btwn the rich and poor unlike in Europe.So this Kenyan midle class who never even step beyond Moi Avenue and then come say they are happy to be the way they are. Wako majuu ya Kenya!!
#205 Posted : Sunday, August 11, 2013 11:05:15 PM

Yaani this thread is still on?
sheri
#206 Posted : Sunday, August 11, 2013 11:10:57 PM

haiya @ kiash ati majuu ya kenya ? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
InnovateGuy
#207 Posted : Sunday, August 11, 2013 11:20:32 PM

Seems Kenyans Living in the US are Stressed Up!
Live Full Die Empty - Les Brown.
#208 Posted : Sunday, August 11, 2013 11:36:18 PM

We all tell off our brothers and sisters abroad about. their twengin n hubris..

Why is it that when we are also told the truth we react as if we are the most beautiful creatures on earth?
We would love a place in the big boys table, brag and say how we are making it.. and demand our accolades.. but when its time to asses the facts on the ground.. Nairobi is similar if not worse to that districct in the US,someone mentioned here..where half the pop dont have running water or elec... and heck.. this is our effing capital.. not a district in a far off state..

Just because 1% of us get to work for multinationals, seating in boardrooms. charming western innvestors with our powerpoints n being parted on the back as ti how good or better than contemporaries in the Beijinf/newyork office. Then get to meet your fellow 1% at Psys doesnt make us as good as Oslo? Or Pal Alto.. whether its a foreigner telling us so, one of us.. or one of us from abroad...
Get off the high horses.. effing 80% of Kenyans.. given a chance.. would scatter from this counntry to go hustle anywhere else in Europe US or China..
and ooh.. by the way.. whatever they pump at their EMEA Markets... the money taking us to psys...business class flights... be it Helios money in Equity, Googles Sub sahara office.. Huaweis the IBM's.. thats pocket change to most of these firms back home..
Their pocket change has decked our middle class...

So lets stop yapping of how great we are doing and acknowledge we are just doing greater than our neighbours.. who are.. failed states..

I never read Makau mutua.. but hes captured it as it is...
A chronic case of megalomania... We are only great in East Africa.. land of wars and faminne.. out there we are just that... another one of those countries in Africa..
Untill we accept n change... just face it we are a proud 1%.. feeling nice!!!
#209 Posted : Sunday, August 11, 2013 11:41:16 PM

@##%&%rrrghh @poundfoolish, must you continue explaining your name? you already won.
Tokyo
#210 Posted : Monday, August 12, 2013 3:18:41 AM

Why is it that when we are also told the truth we react as if we are the most beautiful creatures on earth?
We would love a place in the big boys table, brag and say how we are making it.. and demand our accolades.. but when its time to asses the facts on the ground.. Nairobi is similar if not worse to that districct in the US,someone mentioned here..where half the pop dont have running water or elec... and heck.. this is our effing capital.. not a district in a far off state..

Just because 1% of us get to work for multinationals, seating in boardrooms. charming western innvestors with our powerpoints n being parted on the back as ti how good or better than contemporaries in the Beijinf/newyork office. Then get to meet your fellow 1% at Psys doesnt make us as good as Oslo? Or Pal Alto.. whether its a foreigner telling us so, one of us.. or one of us from abroad...
Get off the high horses.. effing 80% of Kenyans.. given a chance.. would scatter from this counntry to go hustle anywhere else in Europe US or China..
and ooh.. by the way.. whatever they pump at their EMEA Markets... the money taking us to psys...business class flights... be it Helios money in Equity, Googles Sub sahara office.. Huaweis the IBM's.. thats pocket change to most of these firms back home..

So lets stop yapping of how great we are doing and acknowledge we are just doing greater than our neighbours.. who are.. failed states..

A chronic case of megalomania... We are only great in East Africa.. land of wars and faminne.. out there we are just that... another one of those countries in Africa..

You are Ruining 1%nians party
work to prosper
Punda Mlia
#211 Posted : Monday, August 12, 2013 4:00:48 AM

Seems we made a mistake telling our fellow village mates that they married an average girl whose beauty, behaviour & character can only be measured/compared within the village. Since they are happily married, I chose to let them be. They are ok feeding on burnt food, lacklustre strokes, kunyoroshwa daily na bibi etc. They hold their heads high and say 'this is my wife, kwanza hanichapi sana kama yule wa Njoro'. Commendable. They only problem is that they are dragging the whole village behind. Hatuhami hii kijiji until retrogressive behaviours are eradicated. Kama you guys can manage the insecurity well, kuna village neighbour inaitwa Somalia accepting Ninjas.

This has nothing to do with diaspora or drawing comparisons. Kenyans are demanding basic services as taxpayers. Let's swallow our pride.

NB: I'm middle class but since I crossed the border the other day, I'm yet to make friends with that class and I find myself frequenting low class pubs and events. That is where I belong - MASHINANI.
#212 Posted : Monday, August 12, 2013 6:49:19 AM

Watu nguyaz iko chida lets cut akina @kiask,@poundfollish @pundamlia etc some slack. Tufanye harambee tutume Dr. Frank Njenga nakadhalika kushughulikia shida majuu otherwise vijana wanadead. Let us avert the many harambees for funerals. And receiving our loved ones in body bags.
Reading some of their comments nahofia it could be a manifestation of stress. Rink hapo chini.

KENYANS IN AMERICA HAVE THE HIGHEST STRESS-RELATED DEATHS COMPARED TO OTHER IMMIGRANTS

Some diasporans discussing here!

waweke kwa maombi. Peace.
"πŸ˜–πŸ˜‘KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
mkeiyd
#213 Posted : Monday, August 12, 2013 9:42:27 AM

Going through a bit of this thread shows why we are the way we are and where we are. Picking some poor district in the US and justifying our poverty ni UJINGA. I guess when our president doesn't visit US,majority of the middle class Americans discuss that in their social fora.

In short, @Kiash raised valid points,only in a wrong way.

Poverty,corruption,garbage everywhere,bad roads,pathetic public service etc are NOT the NORM. We need to change that.

Let's demand quality and deliver quality ourselves.

In the mean time @Kiash, find a way of making some improvement.
Afterall, this is our motherland. We should all love her and make her better not worse.
#214 Posted : Monday, August 12, 2013 9:47:12 AM

mkeiyd wrote:
Going through a bit of this thread shows why we are the way we are and where we are. Picking some poor district in the US and justifying our poverty ni UJINGA. I guess when our president doesn't visit US,majority of the middle class Americans discuss that in their social fora.

In short, @Kiash raised valid points,only in a wrong way.

Poverty,corruption,garbage everywhere,bad roads,pathetic public service etc are NOT the NORM. We need to change that.

Let's demand quality and deliver quality ourselves.

In the mean time @Kiash, find a way of making some improvement.
Afterall, this is our motherland. We should all love her and make her better not worse.

haya meza wembe... we are what we are. if you don't like it - go fly a kite!
#215 Posted : Monday, August 12, 2013 9:49:19 AM

@kiash - since you hate Kenya and everything about Kenya so much what are you doing on a Kenyan blog???Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
#216 Posted : Monday, August 12, 2013 9:52:20 AM

I am wondering about just what the purpose of this thread is. Kicking yourself and insulting yourself? what is the purpose of this thread?
#217 Posted : Monday, August 12, 2013 9:55:18 AM

@kiash - since you hate Kenya and everything about Kenya so much what are you doing on a Kenyan blog???Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

Signs of LOSERS.....can't keep up where they are and expect us juku nyumbani to venerate them !!!....they should export their clans to the US if they can and just let us be!!!!
#218 Posted : Monday, August 12, 2013 10:17:00 AM

What were Diaspora remittances back to their motherland again?

How much did we spend importing petroleum to fuel imported second hand cars? How much did we spend on imported liquor? and cheap Chinese products?

#219 Posted : Monday, August 12, 2013 10:31:23 AM

What were Diaspora remittances back to their motherland again?

How much did we spend importing petroleum to fuel imported second hand cars? How much did we spend on imported liquor? and cheap Chinese products?

Those who remit don't yAP around about it.....hawa ni masaffurers........simply venting out their frustrations!!!
#220 Posted : Monday, August 12, 2013 10:37:05 AM

I am wondering about just what the purpose of this thread is. Kicking yourself and insulting yourself? what is the purpose of this thread?

You actually don't know?

Let's just say in any other name it would have been called 'Killing the messenger'