Investor
Property
Konza city Reality.
bird_man wrote:bird_man wrote:Let me just ask this.... If you were Seven Seas,Craft Silicon,Nokia Siemens,Ericsson,Safaricom,Kencall,KDN,AK,IBM,HP etc.....why would you shift your office from Westlands/Mombasa Rd to Konza?
Is it that taxes will be lower?Fibre faster?Cheaper labour?Cheaper electricity?Huge market?
What? Yes....all that plus networking depending on the supply chain management. So far 18 universities are setting up base there...labor will be in plenty. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/4/2010 Posts: 1,668 Location: nairobi
This article by Standard Newspaper outlines the dangers of too much public debt, mostly from the vision 2030 projects. http://www.standardmedia...%20to%20raise%20concern
Lets hope Ministry of Info top brass will read this info so that their decisions on behalf of Kenyans don't make us all more poorer. Lets hope that in future, our leaders will see the importance of using local consultants as opposed to overseas as in the case of Konza city with IFC and London based engineers. As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
a4architect.com wrote: This article by Standard Newspaper outlines the dangers of too much public debt, mostly from the vision 2030 projects. http://www.standardmedia...%20to%20raise%20concern
Lets hope Ministry of Info top brass will read this info so that their decisions on behalf of Kenyans don't make us all more poorer. Lets hope that in future, our leaders will see the importance of using local consultants as opposed to overseas as in the case of Konza city with IFC and London based engineers. Our debt is too little if we are to compute what we will get out of this projects....it makes it worthy to borrow. Have a look at this http://www.economist.com...ntent/global_debt_clock and notice how well we are doing "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Kenyas debt is $14,962,191,781 This figure is mind boggling. Raising it by even a 50 cent is too much dishonor to the next generation. In justifiable cases like Lamu port and Thika road/Southern/Eastern bypasses, this is ok since business generated out of this will pay back. In cases such as Konza where prudent decisions can be made to avoid debt, this should be avoided. As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
It's about 32,000 kenya shillings per head. Did you know that America has even a bigger debt for fighting her perceived enemies? The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
a4architect.com wrote:Kenyas debt is $14,962,191,781
This figure is mind boggling.
Raising it by even a 50 cent is too much dishonor to the next generation.
In justifiable cases like Lamu port and Thika road/Southern/Eastern bypasses, this is ok since business generated out of this will pay back.
In cases such as Konza where prudent decisions can be made to avoid debt, this should be avoided.
Do u know that the ICT sector contributes 5% towards GDP growth. Now imagine the potential in the right business environment. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
alma wrote:@jamplu, I don't get your argument. So, if I have never created an IT product then I am not qualified to talk about this project? Then in that case, ditto to the ICT board and everyone from the PS to the cleaner at the ministry of Information. I wonder what apps they've created. Most of whose CV consists of working at 3 mice.
I still insist that without manpower, this is not an ICT city but a Real Estate venture. If you have read this thread, you will see that the very gov't of Kenya has outsourced nearly every major project to a company in another country. Their excuse has always been that there aren't good companies that can handle the projects. If Ndemo himself can outsource all gov't data to Google, exactly what are you talking about being an IT hub?
As for your question, I was doing something in technology before there was internet in Kenya. I retired 3 yrs ago and spend my time surfing the net and walking around nairobi from one mbuzi to another. Yet something tells me that I'm younger than you and you are busy in the office. @Alma my problem is your kind who just critic and have no solutions and make assumption about people just! If you did something in technology 3 years before internet... boss i'll let you eat your mbuzi and walk about town cauz we have nothing to talk about.
@jamplu before you directly approached me to talk to me, we were having a very heated debate on the pros and cons of konza. Mind you, every opinion was respected and everyone is wrong and everyone right. The idea here was to engage in verbal intercourse to come up with a reasonable idea of what its all about. This has led to a softening of stands on both camps. That is until, some guys like you have to come around and because they can't offer anything in such heated debate, go to the least common denominator which is personalization of issues. So I will leave childish behavior to shidrens and hopefully we shall have a very heated, bitter and serious discussion of this ICT issue. I am not the one who says that IT guys in Kenya aren't what they think they are. All you have to do is call KPLC customer care. Try KDN if you want to learn more. Or read what I consider to be one of Kenya's best has to say about it. Idd Salims Blog: "I am still in pain. Apart from Mpesa, we REALLY don’t have alot to talk about in terms of mass-financial innovations. Apart from Ushahidi, we REALLY don’t have alot to talk about in terms of mass-social-impact innovations. Apart from sprinkles here and there, we REALLY don’t have alot to talk about in terms of local tech." That's not me who said it, its one of your gurus. I did not realise that there is a God complex with IT guys in Kenya. When someone says you aren't all that, you start equating greatness to creating Apps. Its like a dairy farmer telling the professor, "how many titties have you ever milked". I have given my opinions based on what I have experienced in life and in business. If you don't like it, shauri yako. You don't see me interested in knowing who you are or what you do. Lakini if you think hizi ni enzi za Nyayo where Gov't can spend tax payer monies on projects and all of us say a Hail Mary, think again. Nyayo is retired. By the way, kweli guys of this ICT board only stick in wazua to bash anyone against this project? Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
@alma..true..lets stick to issues when engaging in debate here. Gone are the days when Govt was 100% right and its citizenry had no other outlet to give their views. As we speak, Kenya is experiencing slow internet due to cable breakage at the coast. Instead of Ministry of Info using the KES 1 Billion tax payer money to repair/ensure redundancy, they buy land at Konza and resell the same land to us. They then retain services of Worldbank/IFC and London based architects as opposed to local architects/consultants at a very high cost to us tax payers. The only local thing is the adverts on Kenyan tv and radio. This thread here in Wazua offers Ministry of Info/ICT BOard more consultancy service all for free than they can get from Worldbank/IFC and the London based architects/engineers combined. As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
Ping Pong. Luckily you aint the policy makers "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
..Seems i have missed out! Allow me to throw a curve ball,i see innovation as a pillar of accelerated growth primarily emphasizing on investment in information technology and SKILL FORMATION (higher education) for enhanced productivity and competitiveness. The potential comparative advantage of low wages in Kenya can be nullified by low productivity. Surveys of investors show that labour is not cheap where productivity is low. Information and communication technology (ICT) is now the main driver for productivity growth.There is strong empirical evidence that shows that investment in ICT and in higher education boosts competitiveness, making both key parts of the growth agenda.Kenya can make a huge leap forward and over antiquated technology by exploiting the ICT technological advantages as late starters. However that said there are other factors that if put into consideration could put Kenya well into the path of success ie: • Improving the investment climate by reducing and underwriting risk, as well as increasing the security of property. • Embarking on a big push in infrastructure investment, with a particular emphasis on transportation and energy to partly compensate for disadvantages arising from unfavorable geography,reduce transactions costs, and improve firm-level profitability. • Increasing institutional capacity by a targeted emphasis on a few priority areas: enforcement of contracts, greater exercise of voice,enhanced revenue transparency in resource-rich areas, and reduction of corruption through a country-driven agenda. So with the above views where are we in Kenya? I seem to think/see we are getting this wrong some-where, ICT-BOARD sema kitu and we can gauge comparatively as to the success of Konza and beyond.Your lack of involvment to engage the masses (in any forum continously) is distinctively alarming and i think you need to adapt/adopt future trends of shaping a nation! Lastly i think when we say we are creating apps hence on the way to "greater" things is sad and lauphable, greater insight on how projects of these magnitude are conceived is needed and as always government is needed to at-least offer insight/direction and pave the way for a future brighter Kenya! The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
murchr wrote:Ping Pong. Luckily you aint the policy makers Policy Makers have started noting that not everything that comes from LONDON is superior to Kenyan... http://www.standardmedia...20secret%20ICC%20probe?
As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/13/2009 Posts: 1,950 Location: in kenya
I came across factors that make India lead in call centre outsourcing and a preference for most global corporates...which might support @Ric dees arguments. Quote:The Following are some of the reasons quoted by one IT expert why leading global corporates opt for Call Center Outsourcing to India. :-
Efficient work force - Numerous attributes of the Indian manpower like great spoken English, well educated, technically skilled and mass scale availability on much lower remuneration makes India a popular destination for call center outsourcing. Moreover, research reveals that this kind of quality human resources will never cease due to the growing importance of education and a huge population of career oriented youth. Expert Service Availability - Due to technically ready base India provides services that cater to various kinds of customer supports. Be it a Voice process, Chat/Email support or Help desk service, expertise is provided with no compromise on the quality. India excels in both inbound and outbound call center services. Guaranteed proficiency is provided with regards to workforce, technology and operations.
Comfortable Time Zone - The twelve hour time difference in the Indian time zone makes India the number one choice for call centre outsourcing. This enables round the clock customer support to clients across the globe. Business Friendly Policies - Analyzing the benefits of the call centre outsourcing process and other IT ventures, the Indian government has gone a step ahead and pushed policies benefiting such endeavors. Tax exemptions/ benefits and support in building of effective infrastructure and Technology parks have inspired business owners in launching their own ventures. Polices like free export of capital goods and tax exemption on IT services and ITES exports makes India a clear winner in the call center outsourcing market.
Custom Made Infrastructure - India also benefits from outsourcing of call center services due to the presence of the latest infrastructure required for the ideal operation of such support processes. Excellent technology is put to work to get high quality of services. Also the cheap availability of the communication services is a factor boosting the growth.
Cost Saving Services - India emerges as the only nation to provide cost effective solutions to international inventors for call center outsourcing services. The outlay incurred on the human resource, IT setup and other infrastructure is comparatively less than other Asian and European countries.
Being a Leader in this fortune venture, call center outsourcing to India is a natural choice for various Global organizations. Moreover examples of major call center outsourcing ventures in India has encouraged other competitors in the world market to follow suit. http://skantel.blogspot....eady-for-konza-city.html'......to the acknowledgment of the mystery of God, and of the Father, and of Christ; 3 In whom are hid all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.' Colossians 2:2-3
LMAO...... "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
murchr wrote:bird_man wrote:bird_man wrote:Let me just ask this.... If you were Seven Seas,Craft Silicon,Nokia Siemens,Ericsson,Safaricom,Kencall,KDN,AK,IBM,HP etc.....why would you shift your office from Westlands/Mombasa Rd to Konza?
Is it that taxes will be lower?Fibre faster?Cheaper labour?Cheaper electricity?Huge market?
What? Yes....all that plus networking depending on the supply chain management. So far 18 universities are setting up base there...labor will be in plenty. If that's what some people think of Konza city - we are in s.... supply chain??? networking???? Most of the clients for the IT companies are in Nairobi. I have a feeling Konza city will be overtaken by the Lamu project, and it will end up where it is now.
nakujua wrote:murchr wrote:bird_man wrote:bird_man wrote:Let me just ask this.... If you were Seven Seas,Craft Silicon,Nokia Siemens,Ericsson,Safaricom,Kencall,KDN,AK,IBM,HP etc.....why would you shift your office from Westlands/Mombasa Rd to Konza?
What? Yes....all that plus networking depending on the supply chain management. So far 18 universities are setting up base there...labor will be in plenty. If that's what some people think of Konza city - we are in s.... supply chain??? networking???? Most of the clients for the IT companies are in Nairobi. I have a feeling Konza city will be overtaken by the Lamu project, and it will end up where it is now. Let me remind u that those are 2 distinct projects. Familiarize your self with the objectives of Konza to see its aim http://www.mytopcompany....eveloping-konza-city.php"There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
alma wrote:@jamplu, I don't get your argument. So, if I have never created an IT product then I am not qualified to talk about this project? Then in that case, ditto to the ICT board and everyone from the PS to the cleaner at the ministry of Information. I wonder what apps they've created. Most of whose CV consists of working at 3 mice.
I still insist that without manpower, this is not an ICT city but a Real Estate venture. If you have read this thread, you will see that the very gov't of Kenya has outsourced nearly every major project to a company in another country. Their excuse has always been that there aren't good companies that can handle the projects. If Ndemo himself can outsource all gov't data to Google, exactly what are you talking about being an IT hub?
As for your question, I was doing something in technology before there was internet in Kenya. I retired 3 yrs ago and spend my time surfing the net and walking around nairobi from one mbuzi to another. Yet something tells me that I'm younger than you and you are busy in the office. http://www.nation.co.ke/...2/-/3x3yew/-/index.html
May be this one will tell you we do have some good brains around..... they only need an environment that is conducive enough to move their innovation to the commercial level. And this is just one of them. If the city is gonna do that, then so be it!
Rank: Member Joined: 6/27/2011 Posts: 301 Location: Nairobi
Wendz wrote:http://www.nation.co.ke/...2/-/3x3yew/-/index.html
May be this one will tell you we do have some good brains around..... they only need an environment that is conducive enough to move their innovation to the commercial level. And this is just one of them. If the city is gonna do that, then so be it! Mr James Mwai did not build this appliction from a fancy resort in the coast, most likely he did it at home in his free time. What pushed him on the world map was his skills in programming and a brilliant idea of a problem that needs a solution. Armed with skills and a simple idea, he used those programming skills to realize the idea into a product. Infact I think that guy built the application as a hobby, it's not his full time job, even though he works in a closely similar field. What are the bare necessities needed to achieve what Mr Mwai did assuming he did all by himself- An idea of a problem to solve - Skills (programming in this case on the S40 platform) - Laptop or Desktop- SDK (Software Development Kit, freely obtained as a onetime download) - Internet (When do you need internet?) -When downloading the SDK -When uploading the final application to sales channel -Occasionaly for asking support from forums and platform supplier. So when you say that the only thing needed is an environment and such success stories will spring up, I'd say that it goes way beyond having an environment. It is equiping people with skills. In further support, the government can subsidise internet and hardware for high schools and universities to accelerate the learning and production of skilled labor to make this a national level industry.
Request for expression of interest (REOI) Master delivery partner (MDP) for Konza Technology City The MoIC, through the Interministerial Committee, seeks expressions of interest from firms or consortia to be considered for short-listing as MDP for an initial six-month advisory assignment to produce an integrated implementation plan that will drive the subsequent five-year phase 1 of project development of the 20-year, 5,000 acre Konza project. The project will be implemented initially through a public development authority that will act as master developer and carry out the initial infrastructure investments on the greenfield site. The MDP’s implementation plan must bring together real estate business planning and funding strategy with detailed infrastructure and master planning for Phase 1. The work is to be led by a real estate developer firm in an advisory capacity or by a real estate consulting firm. This firm will provide the real estate vision and work together with world-class master planning and related firms in order that it translates into a best practice detailed master plan for Phase 1 that set the basis for mostly private-led development over time. The MDP will be hired by and work under the oversight of the International Finance Corporation (IFC) on behalf of MoIC. The detailed EOI notice and requirements can be found at http://WBGEconsult2.worldbank.org, Selection #1063000 starting March 8. The full consortium must be presented at EOI stage if the expertise requires partnering. Deadline for EOI is March 22, 2012, after which a short-list will be finalized and the RFP issued. Information on the project can be found on this website http://www.konzacity.com. Posted on March 7, 2012 @ 1:25 pm "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
every baby poos. the parents then figure that in order to stop cleaning after the baby, they need to get a nappy or pampers. But the baby doesn't stop pooing. It is only when you train the baby to stop pooing ovyo ovyo that you can start getting rid of the pampers. Konza is like a nappy. You still have not dealt with the underlying problem of manpower, governance and institutions. Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
Investor
Property
Konza city Reality.