Ericsson
#183 Posted : Monday, April 18, 2016 1:33:01 PM

@mlennyama
That is for the full year 2015/2016 results to be announced in two weeks time
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
cyruskulei
#184 Posted : Monday, April 18, 2016 2:44:51 PM

Laughing out loudly Don't laugh at my beloved Kenya Gazette- it is the official voice of government and more digital than all those analogue papers you've mentioned.

Hapana tumia sauti ya serikali kufunga nyama!

Available for free here[/quote]

Thanks for this link. Be blessed.
Work hard at your job and you can make a living. Work hard on yourself and you can make a fortune.

#185 Posted : Monday, April 18, 2016 5:51:26 PM

Dividend - 90 cents.

Anzeni kufanya hesabu!!!
Ericsson
#186 Posted : Monday, April 18, 2016 6:20:35 PM

Kwani they will issue all the after tax profits as dividends.
I project 70 cents per share as dividend which comes to ksh.28bn
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#187 Posted : Monday, April 18, 2016 6:28:39 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Kwani they will issue all the after tax profits as dividends.
I project 70 cents per share as dividend which comes to ksh.28bn

Sawa bro. We wait and see. Siku kadhaa tu.
#188 Posted : Monday, April 18, 2016 6:41:27 PM

Dividend - 90 cents.

Anzeni kufanya hesabu!!!

safcom has 40billion shares,it needs to make 40billion profit after tax to have 1bob earnings per share,of this 1bob you want to say it will part with 90cts,.....this is a dream
#189 Posted : Monday, April 18, 2016 6:52:25 PM

mlennyma wrote:
Dividend - 90 cents.

Anzeni kufanya hesabu!!!

safcom has 40billion shares,it needs to make 40billion profit after tax to have 1bob earnings per share,of this 1bob you want to say it will part with 90cts,.....this is a dream

Remember they did Sh31.9 billion PAT in 2014/15
#190 Posted : Monday, April 18, 2016 6:57:06 PM

mlennyma wrote:
Dividend - 90 cents.

Anzeni kufanya hesabu!!!

so you suggest they have added 8.1 billion more and are willing to pay 90% as dividend?
#191 Posted : Monday, April 18, 2016 7:06:29 PM

mlennyma wrote:
Dividend - 90 cents.

Anzeni kufanya hesabu!!!

so you suggest they have added 8.1 billion more and are willing to pay 90% as dividend?

They paid 64cts in FY15 which was a 36% rise. 90cts will just be a 40% rise. Will that be impossible? I dont think so, it will all depend on the results

#192 Posted : Monday, April 18, 2016 7:18:47 PM

mlennyma wrote:
Dividend - 90 cents.

Anzeni kufanya hesabu!!!

They paid 64cts in FY15 which was a 36% rise. 90cts will just be a 40% rise. Will that be impossible? I dont think so, it will all depend on the results

that one off gvt security contract must have boosted them but the share price is making the dividend less attractive for those buying now,attractiveness is now pegged on future prospects and safcom has an uphill task to keep the growth momentum without declining ,a growing company needs to retain at least 50% of earnings as cash reserves
#193 Posted : Monday, April 18, 2016 7:26:51 PM

mlennyma wrote:
Dividend - 90 cents.

Anzeni kufanya hesabu!!!

that one off gvt security contract must have boosted them but the share price is making the dividend less attractive for those buying now,attractiveness is now pegged on future prospects and safcom has an uphill task to keep the growth momentum without declining

Were they paid? I thought they used their money to set up the infrastructure?

Anyway, my guess is the internet in use is by Safaricom. Ama?

Reuters wrote:
Under the terms of the contract, Safaricom will install and run a communication and surveillance system that is linked to police stations to help combat crime, initially operating in Nairobi and Kenya's second-largest city, Mombasa.
#194 Posted : Monday, April 18, 2016 7:31:35 PM

mlennyma wrote:
Dividend - 90 cents.

Anzeni kufanya hesabu!!!

that one off gvt security contract must have boosted them but the share price is making the dividend less attractive for those buying now,attractiveness is now pegged on future prospects and safcom has an uphill task to keep the growth momentum without declining

Reuters wrote:
Under the terms of the contract, Safaricom will install and run a communication and surveillance system that is linked to police stations to help combat crime, initially operating in Nairobi and Kenya's second-largest city, Mombasa.

when some politicians made noise claiming single sourcing all went quiet, even if its going on i think somebody claims security matters are secretsmile
#195 Posted : Monday, April 18, 2016 7:34:49 PM

mlennyma wrote:
Dividend - 90 cents.

Anzeni kufanya hesabu!!!

Reuters wrote:

when some politicians made noise claiming single sourcing all went quiet, even if its going on i think somebody claims security matters are secretsmile

They got it and its implementation is completed. They now must be milking from it. I wonder if the gok gave the 15BN back
#196 Posted : Monday, April 18, 2016 8:09:18 PM

I got it,this was the funny agreement. ...they have eaten in kind

The whole project will cost Ksh. 14.9 billion. The first Ksh.7.5 billion will be paid in
kind through allocation of 4G spectrum to Safaricom of that value. The rest will be
paid in annual installments over five years starting in the year 2016.
#197 Posted : Monday, April 18, 2016 8:28:12 PM

mlennyma wrote:
Dividend - 90 cents.

Anzeni kufanya hesabu!!!

that one off gvt security contract must have boosted them but the share price is making the dividend less attractive for those buying now,attractiveness is now pegged on future prospects and safcom has an uphill task to keep the growth momentum without declining ,a growing company needs to retain at least 50% of earnings as cash reserves

As of May last year, Safaricom had Kshs. 27.5 Billion in cash reserves. You want them to hoard cash like Apple?? For no good reason?

Even an average company should have at least a 5 year plan which includes cash requirements projections. Safaricom of course have plans in place and know how much they need and how much projected earnings are over a period of time.

You don't just hoard cash for the sake of hoarding. And there is a difference between a telecom like Safcom and an investment company (which needs all the cash they can get because they can invest in anything!!)
#198 Posted : Monday, April 18, 2016 8:44:01 PM

mlennyma wrote:
Dividend - 90 cents.

Anzeni kufanya hesabu!!!

As of last year, Safaricom had Kshs. 27.5 Billion in cash reserves. You want them to hoard cash like apple?? For no good reason?

Even an average company should have at least a 5 year plan which includes cash requirements projections. Safaricom of course have plans in place and know how much they need and how much projected earnings are over a period of time.

You don't just hoard cash for the sake of hoarding. And there is a difference between a telecom like Safcom and an investment company (which needs all the cash they can get because they can invest in anything!!)

the Internet space has competition, mpesa is the unchallenged cash cow,but apart from the business do they have any other investments??
gatoho
#199 Posted : Tuesday, April 19, 2016 9:10:57 AM

Guess the batch I got at 2.50 is going to be already paid up in dividends. Pity was only using change
Foresight..
subaru
#200 Posted : Tuesday, April 19, 2016 10:52:03 AM

gatoho wrote:
Guess the batch I got at 2.50 is going to be already paid up in dividends. Pity was only using change

and it seems this share is defying gravity at least wanjiku should have a bite