Culture
Why I fear / "hate" Going Home
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
murchr wrote:Forgive this guy called @kiash, when he landed in majuu aliona milango zikijifungua and thot he fikad heaven. Am so damn sure he has never been out of his town/city to know what goes on around. The reality is we live in a world where the media strives to portray poverty to be a thing that only occurs in Asia, Middle East and Africa and that the continents that are Australia, US and Europe are a true replica of HEAVEN. The dude is so drunk with this mix. The reality is There's real poverty in the US. These people my not die of hunger, but they die of disease, and they live in deplorable conditions. Close to 50% of the people of Owsley County in Kentucky live without electricity and running water.. In all honesty @kiash, have you not seen such places as potrayed on this picture Msidanganywe na huyu @kiash that its all glits and glamour in the US of A In Ohio, Philadephia, Indiana you will find a people known as the Amish community, just do a simple google search. Take a drive to Kansas N**** utajionea mambo. #The media will not show u everything yeah, poverty in the Appalachia is quite visible. there is general concern in the US and it is growing! http://www.huffingtonpos...nt-rates_n_3666594.html All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/2/2009 Posts: 2,458 Location: Nairobi
Still too much noise here.. some of us have never been to the USA..Think we complain because we live in some ghetto in new orleans.. Kiash are you inn the States.. Ive spent some time in Norway.. and Belgium.. and Austria.. this poverty they talk about i havent seen there.. Maybe its pure retaliation for cousin Barry's visits. All said.. even citizens in the countries ive mentioned.. do admire the land of opportunities.. forgeting their arrogance and capitalis greed..
Yap! Yap! Yap!!! "Nobody outside should point out our flaws.. we can insult ourselves just fine" (read cops turn pickpockets thread or any other political thread)
Rank: New-farer Joined: 7/12/2013 Posts: 28 Location: Nairobi
madollar wrote:@kiash when prince william the future king of england popped the question to kate he did it in kenya with so many locations including his own native country nobody knows why he chose kenya with all the problems we have most commoners who spend most of their time talking ill of africa were humbled .if royalty could travel all the way to africa to propose to the future queen given that he used the same airport ,roads, hotels(he stayed at olesereni while he waited for his flight back home to go and break the news) we use na wewe kiash most likely raia wa kawa ati you are scared of coming back home .... Be objective, no one says everything and all of Kenya sucks. There are lots of amazing places in Kenya, I keep discovering them everyday. Some are exclusive establishments that rarely admit Wazuans (there fears are well placed, who wants people like @siringi, @madollar @mawinder criss crossing the place when prince william is proposing?). Down at the coast, there have been cases of racism in high end hotels. These locations have strived to provide what some ordinary Kenyans lack - 24 hr security, water, electricity amongst other things. I have lived in areas considered dangerous but turned out to be fine once I became mtu wa mtaani. I have also lived in other capitals in Africa & Europe for periods that do not qualify me to be termed as from the diaspora. Tuambiane ukweli, when I first went to an organised place, I had difficulties shelving the Kenyan habit in me of wanting to scrabble into a PSV (hata tukiwa wawili ), the urge to cross roads at non designated places, the urge to treat everyone in the streets with suspicion, the urge to keep checking if my wallet & phone are still safe, the urge ya kutusi watu ovyo ovyo, the urge of boxing people (this comes in handy in places I know - the only way to earn respect). It doesn't have to be this way. Most responses here are fallacious. Just because other places in the world have similar problems means we should accept them, just because we are patriotic Kenyans means we have to accept everything the way it is, just because some people disagree with us it means they are wrong na wakwende huko etc
Sounds funny " people keep on talking about poverty in US and they haven't been there" ouch...... work to prosper
Punda Mlia wrote:madollar wrote:@kiash when prince william the future king of england popped the question to kate he did it in kenya with so many locations including his own native country nobody knows why he chose kenya with all the problems we have most commoners who spend most of their time talking ill of africa were humbled .if royalty could travel all the way to africa to propose to the future queen given that he used the same airport ,roads, hotels(he stayed at olesereni while he waited for his flight back home to go and break the news) we use na wewe kiash most likely raia wa kawa ati you are scared of coming back home .... Be objective, no one says everything and all of Kenya sucks. There are lots of amazing places in Kenya, I keep discovering them everyday. Some are exclusive establishments that rarely admit Wazuans (there fears are well placed, who wants people like @siringi, @madollar @mawinder criss crossing the place when prince william is proposing?). Down at the coast, there have been cases of racism in high end hotels. These locations have strived to provide what some ordinary Kenyans lack - 24 hr security, water, electricity amongst other things. I have lived in areas considered dangerous but turned out to be fine once I became mtu wa mtaani. I have also lived in other capitals in Africa & Europe for periods that do not qualify me to be termed as from the diaspora. Tuambiane ukweli, when I first went to an organised place, I had difficulties shelving the Kenyan habit in me of wanting to scrabble into a PSV (hata tukiwa wawili ), the urge to cross roads at non designated places, the urge to treat everyone in the streets with suspicion, the urge to keep checking if my wallet & phone are still safe, the urge ya kutusi watu ovyo ovyo, the urge of boxing people (this comes in handy in places I know - the only way to earn respect). It doesn't have to be this way. Most responses here are fallacious. Just because other places in the world have similar problems means we should accept them, just because we are patriotic Kenyans means we have to accept everything the way it is, just because some people disagree with us it means they are wrong na wakwende huko etc You are definitely not alone on that one. I was in one of those UAE fancy buses when the driver started screaming. Turns out a guy had boarded using the exit door towards the back. And the guy was trying to blend in, thus avoiding to pay fare. When the driver started getting up, I saw the guy going to pay. That forehead was distinctively Kenyan! I couldn't resist the urge to go share laughter with him. WaKenya tuiko na chida!
Tokyo wrote:Sounds funny " people keep on talking about poverty in US and they haven't been there" ouch...... The same way u've never been there right? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Veteran Joined: 7/5/2010 Posts: 2,061 Location: Nairobi
@kiash, I hope you are not an illegal... this fear of going back to your less than advanced home country makes people stay in places they are no longer welcome. Living on the fringes, on the lam in the west is worse than living free even in our broken ecosystem.
poundfoolish wrote:Still too much noise here.. some of us have never been to the USA..Think we complain because we live in some ghetto in new orleans.. Kiash are you inn the States.. Ive spent some time in Norway.. and Belgium.. and Austria.. this poverty they talk about i havent seen there.. Maybe its pure retaliation for cousin Barry's visits. All said.. even citizens in the countries ive mentioned.. do admire the land of opportunities.. forgeting their arrogance and capitalis greed..
Yap! Yap! Yap!!! "Nobody outside should point out our flaws.. we can insult ourselves just fine" (read cops turn pickpockets thread or any other political thread) This doesn't make you any bit cleverer. It's not like we are denying we have our own problems, but im telling u today Kenya is not what that immigrant wants to potray. Kenya is very much "livable", good life happens here actually. Kiash is just a cerelac cowardly fellow. Mnaogopa tushida kidogo kidogo. At least 20m Kenyans are happy. The rest are almost there. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
The way I see it is that you people have two choices. 1. Come home and like it 2. Stay there What we don't want is attitude. Oh this oh that. Nyamaza ama urudi Kule unaona kukiwa kuzuri. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
masukuma wrote:The way I see it is that you people have two choices. 1. Come home and like it 2. Stay there
What we don't want is attitude. Oh this oh that. Nyamaza ama urudi Kule unaona kukiwa kuzuri. ....and those who are here and complaining can also ship out!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
please don't fear, come back home. mahegoat and mawinder and mawinder's boys will be your welcoming committee...truly... Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee. - Muhammad Aliđ
McReggae wrote:masukuma wrote:The way I see it is that you people have two choices. 1. Come home and like it 2. Stay there
What we don't want is attitude. Oh this oh that. Nyamaza ama urudi Kule unaona kukiwa kuzuri. ....and those who are here and complaining can also ship out!!!! Full Stop. This Should Have Been Post No 2.
McReggae wrote:[quote=masukuma]The way I see it is that you people have two choices. 1. Come home and like it 2. Stay there
....and those who are here and complaining can also ship out!!!! For the first time toothcomb and tick-tock have united against a common enemy !!!!! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Impunity wrote:McReggae wrote:[quote=masukuma]The way I see it is that you people have two choices. 1. Come home and like it 2. Stay there
....and those who are here and complaining can also ship out!!!! For the first time toothcomb and tick-tock have united against a common enemy !!!!! we actually see eye to eye on many things. he is a reasonable chap! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
masukuma wrote:Impunity wrote:McReggae wrote:[quote=masukuma]The way I see it is that you people have two choices. 1. Come home and like it 2. Stay there
....and those who are here and complaining can also ship out!!!! For the first time toothcomb and tick-tock have united against a common enemy !!!!! we actually see eye to eye on many things. he is a reasonable chap! I dont think he thinks likewise about you!!! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Impunity wrote:masukuma wrote:Impunity wrote:McReggae wrote:[quote=masukuma]The way I see it is that you people have two choices. 1. Come home and like it 2. Stay there
....and those who are here and complaining can also ship out!!!! For the first time toothcomb and tick-tock have united against a common enemy !!!!! we actually see eye to eye on many things. he is a reasonable chap! I dont think he thinks likewise about you!!! It's never personal man, I respect @masukuma a lot. ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
kiash wrote:Wacha niende kazi but before I go kuosha wazee , I plan to be your next nightmare , the next time you go drinking and get home @ the gate the watchie delays opening the gate itakuwa , haiya carjacker unakumbuka haiya@kiash. Even before the topic is swallowed there is another one on police pickpockets haiya @kiash.Ukienda upcountry overspeeding cars haiya@kiash. Ukidrive kwa jam unaona jamaa akinyemelea side mirror you pay attention with haiya @kiash. When engineer Gichuki announces water rationing haiya@kiash .EPL ikianza haiya@kiash. Ukishikwa na kahoma kidogo haiya@kiash and more fears not mentioned kama yule house help guarding you kid and if your wife or husband is cheating on you.Well kumbuka haiya@kiash kajasho kembaba kakitoka. haiya@Kiash http://www.nation.co.ke/...58/-/uwk8av/-/index.htmli.am.back!!!!
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/18/2008 Posts: 3,434 Location: Kerugoya
Rink: http://www.nation.co.ke/...0/-/uwg451/-/index.html
EXTRACTSWe are a mediocre country, and we know it. We should stop being so sensitive, and acting like silly brats.
We are malignant, uncouth, corrupt, and â get this â cursed with an evil eye. But we werenât always so little, small, and spiteful. We used to dream big. But our dreams died. Now we have nightmares â and night sweats.
Weâve become a defensive, easily slighted nation.We are an epithet-riddled people. Our mouths need to be washed with soap.
Our hate-dripping fingers shouldnât be allowed near a keyboard, or keypad.
Which begs the question â why have our brains shrunk? Are we âdevolvingâ instead of âevolving?â
What, as a country, can we do to accept that we are below average? For one, we can start by stopping hating everyone who tells us the bitter truth.On very rare occasions do I agree with Makau Mutua but on going through this thread, I have to but agree with his sentiments herein above. He had to go and hit the bloody nail on the freaking head so to speak. Dwell on it.
aemathenge wrote:Rink: http://www.nation.co.ke/...0/-/uwg451/-/index.html
EXTRACTSWe are a mediocre country, and we know it. We should stop being so sensitive, and acting like silly brats.
We are malignant, uncouth, corrupt, and â get this â cursed with an evil eye. But we werenât always so little, small, and spiteful. We used to dream big. But our dreams died. Now we have nightmares â and night sweats.
Weâve become a defensive, easily slighted nation.We are an epithet-riddled people. Our mouths need to be washed with soap.
Our hate-dripping fingers shouldnât be allowed near a keyboard, or keypad.
Which begs the question â why have our brains shrunk? Are we âdevolvingâ instead of âevolving?â
What, as a country, can we do to accept that we are below average? For one, we can start by stopping hating everyone who tells us the bitter truth.On very rare occasions do I agree with Makau Mutua but on going through this thread, I have to but agree with his sentiments herein above. He had to go and hit the bloody nail on the freaking head so to speak. Dwell on it. I would have agreed with him had he removed the goggles evident in the post. He can't hoodwink me. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
My crystal ball tells me that @kiash=MakauMutua. You can take that to the bank.
Culture
Why I fear / "hate" Going Home