wazua Fri, Jul 18, 2025

Corruption - An African Problem
#1 Posted : Saturday, October 30, 2010 2:10:49 AM

Wow... I thought Namibia was relatively corruption-free but not so...

http://allafrica.com/stories/201010270142.html

The only 3 countries I can think of as being relatively 'clean' are Mauritius, Botswana & Rwanda.

Kenya & Nigeria are by-words for corruption.

http://allafrica.com/vie...in/main/id/00011963.html
the deal
#2 Posted : Saturday, October 30, 2010 8:16:02 AM

@VVS corruption in Namibia has been a thing of isolated events and perpetrators have always been prosecuted...now the writers of that story is a Namibian newspaper called the Namibian now that newspaper never reports anything good about Namibia cos its run by a bunch of white racist minority Namibian's,at the same newspaper they have NO black Namibian in their management or editorial team,its at the same newspaper where a White clerk earns more than a senior black reporter...the same newspaper never reports anything good about Namibia follow the newspaper and see they rather discredit the goverment any day n night n praise their arpatheid goverment where black Namibians were called Kaffirs(slaves/niggas)
erifloss
#3 Posted : Saturday, October 30, 2010 9:34:56 AM

I don't believe as such that corruption is an African problem. Case in point when a businessman in Africa 'influences' some politician or government official so as to get a policy change so as to gain he's said to be CORRUPT but when an American or European businessman does the same, he's called a LOBBYIST. My point being corruption is relative depending on the LEGAL TERM it has been given in whichever country.
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
#4 Posted : Saturday, October 30, 2010 10:55:27 AM

@ vitu,

forget about Botswana...it is a gone case...

corruption is in every human being including mongoloids, saxons, caucasians and latin not just africans...only that in africa our judicial systems are not capable of efficiently dealing with the vice and there is simply too much political interference
redi
#5 Posted : Saturday, October 30, 2010 2:39:58 PM

Corruption is a problem for any syatem or country that does nt uphold the rules/laws.most developing countries fall under this category.the knowledge gap-public domain&officers confounds the situation.corruption s evil,small or grand.the perpetrators of grand corruption have a history of cases during their career which were nt addressed/ignored.lets remember 'the leopard cnnt change its spots'.
chapter 6 of the constitution must be applied for all public officers irrespective of rank-juniors all the way to the top.
#6 Posted : Sunday, October 31, 2010 2:58:27 AM

Jameni... As a percentage of the GDP... it seems corruption is rife in Africa [African countries].

On a recent trip as an investor to Ghana... I was shaken down! I was shocked! As an investor... I am now reconsidering my position there...

Being shaken down in Kenya is a given...

I have been the USA & I never saw the common guy being shaken down... nor in the UK... The cops never stopped you to hassle you...
#7 Posted : Tuesday, November 02, 2010 8:43:12 AM

I thought our 'peaceful' Tanzanian brothers were immune to demonstrations over elections. Turns out they like teargas as much (if not more) than us Kenyans. They have just been 'fasting' this whole time
#8 Posted : Tuesday, November 02, 2010 3:01:09 PM

LOL... Je, huu ni ungwana??? [The Tanzania brodas were shaking their heads at us... They are the same as us!]
#9 Posted : Tuesday, November 02, 2010 4:55:06 PM

LOL... Je, huu ni ungwana??? [The Tanzania brodas were shaking their heads at us... They are the same as us!]

La, hasha! Huu si ungwana. Eastern Africa is a politically unstable place. Bet you same stuff will happen in Uganda and Ethiopia. Kwanza these two practice state terrorism. There were bombs and assasinations during the Rwanda campaigns. Sudan nobody knows what will hapen to it during the referendum.
#10 Posted : Tuesday, November 02, 2010 4:58:31 PM

Rwanda will be OK... lakini Uganda is moto-moto coz museveni plans to be prez until he dies!

Sudan... unless bashir is bought off, those warabus will not let South Sudan go without a war!
young
#11 Posted : Wednesday, November 03, 2010 10:35:04 AM

On a recent trip as an investor to Ghana... I was shaken down! I was shocked! As an investor... I am now reconsidering my position there

VVS please substantiate with facts your Ghana experience as you are talking in parables which is not clear.
What part of Ghana did you go ?
What specific experience did you encounter ?
Which biz house did you visit ?

These questions are relevant as Akwaaba people (Ghananians) are the most hospitable country in West Africa to my knowledge. I am a frequent visitor there and I do not subscribe to your opinion. I visit there from Nigeria also on biz trips at least once in a quarter but I stay mainly in the capital city of Accra or the harbour city of Tema.

I hope you know I am not a Ghananian ?
Nonetheles Akwaaba (Karibu) Ghana

Best Regards
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
young
#12 Posted : Wednesday, November 03, 2010 5:03:34 PM

At times there may be isolated cases of being at the wrong spot in a good city.
It is a general problem.
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
wote
#13 Posted : Wednesday, November 03, 2010 5:33:47 PM

Basically, corruption is worst in people of afro decent. Take a look at some of the most corrupt people in Kenya today. They are least charitable in society and very greedy. Why should someone like Moi still earn a salary while he knows how much milked from us.
#14 Posted : Wednesday, November 03, 2010 5:55:07 PM

young wrote:

On a recent trip as an investor to Ghana... I was shaken down! I was shocked! As an investor... I am now reconsidering my position there

VVS please substantiate with facts your Ghana experience as you are talking in parables which is not clear.

1) I was asked for 'something' not by an employee of a private business [If that were the case, I would have run out there faster than Speedy Gonzalez]

2) Accra

3) This was a public officer. The less said the better. As an investor it was disconcerting. I hope it is a one-off. Talking to Ghanaians, they are not happy with the situation either though improved somewhat. As a foreigner, we have fewer interactions with Public Officers.

I like Ghana & Ghanaians in general. There are always a few bad apples. I wish to see more of the country but currently only visited Accra & Tema.

Tema is like the Thika of Kenya.
Nairobi-Thika = Accra-Tema
#15 Posted : Wednesday, November 03, 2010 6:16:52 PM

Corruption is/was practiced on a much much larger scale by imperialists. Invading/colonising countries under false pretences for their natural resources
Wa_ithaka
#16 Posted : Wednesday, November 03, 2010 6:24:51 PM

Its idiocy of the highest order to say Corruption is an African problem.
Who (companies) bribes most of the African governments to get investments okayed?
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
wote
#17 Posted : Wednesday, November 03, 2010 6:39:00 PM

African Governments are bribed coz those bribing know that is how they work. French companies even get a refund from their Government after bribing African Government officials to win any tenders.
the deal
#18 Posted : Wednesday, November 03, 2010 6:41:29 PM

I was once made to pay 10K by a Kenyan police officer cos i didnt carry my passport on me...Kenyan Police are the most corrupt of them all...
young
#19 Posted : Wednesday, November 03, 2010 7:13:08 PM

young wrote:

1) I was asked for 'something' not by an employee of a private business [If that were the case, I would have run out there faster than Speedy Gonzalez]

2) Accra

3) This was a public officer. The less said the better. As an investor it was disconcerting. I hope it is a one-off. Talking to Ghanaians, they are not happy with the situation either though improved somewhat. As a foreigner, we have fewer interactions with Public Officers.

I like Ghana & Ghanaians in general. There are always a few bad apples. I wish to see more of the country but currently only visited Accra & Tema.

Tema is like the Thika of Kenya.
Nairobi-Thika = Accra-Tema

On behalf of West Africans and Ghana in particular
apologies VVS for any inconvinience suffered from a bad apple.

It was nice of you to visit West Africa and your choice of Ghana is the best. My take is that East Africans are just scared for nothing in doiing business in West Africa. There are bad eggs here I agree but you have to separate the wheat from the chaff. You cant just generalize it is always nice to see things for yourself.
You cannot take strong business acumen of west africans. Ecobank is standing tall in Fedha house Nairobi, United Bank for Africa (UBA) is making exploits in Uganda and Kenya.
West Africans are playing into your field, but East Africans are just watching and entertaining founded and unfounded fears.
The first major breakthrough of MTN and their biggest market outside south Africa was in Nigeria. The international Hq of MTN is in Nigeria.
The question is who will be the lose on yje long term especially thinking of the future generation of black africans ?

On the contrary foreigners are taking calculated risks and venturing into biz activities in west Africa in real estate, in nstural resources,oil & gas,manufacturing . Name them Italians, Indians, Lebanese, British etc, and making a reasonable living and creating employment for their nationals.
#20 Posted : Wednesday, November 03, 2010 7:35:24 PM

wote wrote:
French companies even get a refund from their Government after bribing African Government officials to win any tenders.

So they encourage corruption