wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

'Irrelevant courses' at our universities
#1 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 8:41:07 AM

Ruto argues that if a course is not aligned to Vision 2030 goals, then its irrelevant. On saturday a columnist in the Standard held the view that there is no such thing as 'Irrelevant Course'. Lakini enyewe some of the courses......
the sage
#2 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 9:35:06 AM

My view, you have to talk about the forest not the tree.
#3 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 10:06:24 AM

can we be told which are these irrelevant courses? could someone be trying to remain relevant now that he has nothing irrelevant to talk about?
#4 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 10:21:29 AM

I agree that there are courses that are not market driven and most graduates of these courses end up doing jobs that are totally unrelated to the course. These needs to be addressed but obviously not by Ruto. He is not qualified to do so! An independent committee should be constituted to overhaul higher education in Kenya because even the teaching and examination of the 'relevant' courses is wanting in most universities!
mjuaji wa stocks
#5 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 12:22:51 PM

@ YW...Bachelor of Arts....hii mtu anafusu kua nini????
ama ili afanye kazi wapi?

Pitia prospectus za universities....look at the courses offered....then tell me how many you are sure of that when you graduate....your job description will be.....

Utashangaa sana.....that there are many courses that lead to nowhere....
God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

KenyanLyrics
#6 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 12:35:57 PM

Mjuaji are you sure it is the course that leads nowhere, or is it your kuandikwa mentality?
sheri
#7 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 12:49:32 PM

@ mujuaji
Bachelor of arts is another name for human sciences.
some of the courses includes:
1. Bachelor of arts in communication
2. Bachelor of arts in development studies
3. Bachelor of arts in English literature

most of the guys in Kenya holds a bachelor of arts degree but in different fields or specialization
#8 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 1:23:32 PM

A fundamental question that needs an answer is this: do people study so that they can get jobs?

The imam at my son's school once commented that we should never encourage children to go to school so that they get jobs. in his view, learning is an inherent characteristic put inside every human being by God. It is the desire to learn that set's us apart from other animals.

I agree with him.

Thus, I hold that there is no course offered at the university that is irrelevant, as long as there are students interested in studying it and there are people able to teach it.

When we talk about "marketable" courses, we are not referring to courses that can get graduands jobs: NO. We are talking about courses that have enough prospective students wishing to take them.

The next question then is: how do [or, should] students decide which courses to study? Should they be guided by job prospects after graduation? I don't think so.

Every time I get a chance to give a career talk, I tell the students to choose the course they find most interesting. Forget about jobs; kabisa! Just study you you find interesting!

After all, at the time I was applying for university, we were generally advised NOT to take course that had computer science or electronics. Reason? there were no jobs in Kenya for such courses... there were only 2 computers in the country and both had operators!!!! @Guka will bear me witness.

MORE ON THIS TO FOLLOW...I have to attend an important meeting....
#9 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 2:38:18 PM

mjuaji wa stocks wrote:
@ YW...Bachelor of Arts....hii mtu anafusu kua nini????
ama ili afanye kazi wapi?

Pitia prospectus za universities....look at the courses offered....then tell me how many you are sure of that when you graduate....your job description will be.....

Utashangaa sana.....that there are many courses that lead to nowhere....

lol!
but surely mjuaji, why do you say that? what did the arts do to you? you might say:
(a) bachelor of arts in fine arts is nothing but wait till you see the things they produce and wish to have them in your house
(b) bachelor of arts in music is nothing but wait till you hear the music they produce not these kupang'ang'a ati music

bachelors is not for employment only, its to show that you are 'teacheable' and then can think for yourself. as for whether that is achieved, is another story and is what should be examined. according to me.
mjuaji wa stocks
#10 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 2:55:06 PM

There was a B.A in athropology....Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Hii mtu atapata kazi wapi???

Sheri...the truth is most of us begin frm employment before going on our own....hapo ndio shida iko.....it is evident in the streets....the number of graduates tarmcing in nairobi streets might be big than those who never went to any campus....

Anyway;.....jokes aside will you encourage your son / daughter to pursue a B.A????

Be real..smile
God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

Wa_ithaka
#11 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 3:00:07 PM

Ruto is an idiot so we must learn to ignore him.
There is two themes:
1) For vision2030 to become reality, Kenya needs certain skills. GoK owns 5 universitiesin which it can actively push fund these courses and encourage youngsters to go into them. With clear pipeline of jobs or infrastructure to help these graduates to set up businesses.
2) We all have to the freedom to do nonsense. If I feel I want to do a course on how fly and make many landings, I should be able to do so bila shaka.
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
misdemeanour
#12 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 3:00:20 PM

i knu someone who has a bachelor of science - forestry majoring in wood, he's selling insurance :D
Am paid in Kshs.
#13 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 3:07:51 PM

i see your point that shida is we start from employment before venturing out on our own. that is the problem. that is the only problem.

why cant we be taught to venture out of our own besides getting employed. hapo ndipo shida kuu. is our training adequate?

but huyo mutu wa anthropology afanye kazi truth and reconciliation commission. kiplangat akwende!

or atafanya kazi kwa makavazi. ama akuwe counsellor - hii maneno ya marriages on the rocks, sijui prophets of marriages itatuliwe zikwishe....not bad choices....
karqui
#14 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 3:12:47 PM

sheri wrote:
@ mujuaji
Bachelor of arts is another name for human sciences.
3. Bachelor of arts in English literature

most of the guys in Kenya holds a bachelor of arts degree but in different fields or specialization

http://dn.nationmedia.co.../2010/09/20/INDEX.SHTML

the trainning so acquired helps one open their 'eyes' on what they are made of and where they can dare venture into whether as a hobby, calling or profession.
#15 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 3:28:09 PM

misdemeanour wrote:
i knu someone who has a bachelor of science - forestry majoring in wood, he's selling insurance :D

that guy is wasting himself. as an expert in forest things, he can be growing trees for a living.

i know someone who grows, or rather grew she passed away, trees for an upper class living. she had several thousand stems of eucalyptus on her private farm specifically to sell for poles etc.

she died filthy rich. insurance? the guy should open his eyes. Sad
mjuaji wa stocks
#16 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 3:34:34 PM

@YW......
Then kwani do you need a bachelors degree to plant and sell trees!!! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Accept the truth!

Some courses ni za middle ages!!

The Merchant
#17 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 4:13:37 PM

YesuWangu wrote:
misdemeanour wrote:

that guy is wasting himself. as an expert in forest things, he can be growing trees for a living.

i know someone who grows, or rather grew she passed away, trees for an upper class living. she had several thousand stems of eucalyptus on her private farm specifically to sell for poles etc.

she died filthy rich. insurance? the guy should open his eyes. Sad

You can still make lotsa money selling insurance. I think you did not get the point. Get with the program!
bird_man
#18 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 4:36:20 PM

I went to THE for a very "relevant course" at Chiromo.....2yrs later,I'm not doing so badly...some of my friends who did "irrelevant courses" hussled at first then decided to open their own businesses and they are doing quite well.I am also investing more on some irrelevant skills such as communication,marketing and other BA kinda stuff.

Truth is that our greatest problem is the employment mentality.....and it's difficult to get rid of.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#19 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 4:42:01 PM

mjuaji wa stocks wrote:
@YW......
Then kwani do you need a bachelors degree to plant and sell trees!!! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Accept the truth!

Some courses ni za middle ages!!

Laughing out loudly @ mjuaji wa stocks, manze stop miquoting me. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly you make it sound so easy. but not necessarily a bachelors, even a diploma or some training in that regard.

planting anything on the ground and having them grow for profit, as an investment, takes more than just will power. ask the agriculturalists who are the next best example. for trees just ask for the foresters.

but maybe for the odd stem or two, for any plant, will power will suffice....Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

but i am not opposed to change......just to clarify.....ndio usinimisquote tena.....Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

@ merchant, so because i said someone was filthy rich from selling trees you imagined in other fields there is no money? i know you should have not missed that point.

sorry if i touched your merchandise, o touchy merchant.
#20 Posted : Tuesday, September 21, 2010 4:43:55 PM

...i think its also wrong for employers to insist on degree education even when one has met the necessary professional qualifications...