wazua Tue, Dec 24, 2024

East African Community
es espanol
#1 Posted : Wednesday, July 14, 2010 6:13:09 PM

Kudos to the 5 gentlemen for the great talks they've had in the recent past.
There's alot of optimism in the region as far as trade is concerned. This is encouraging, especially when it is being said that kenyans are the one to benefit alot from this due to their 'aggressiveness'.
Whatever the term in quotes means, thats ok...but i know kenyans have alot of money texture in their blood.

But my concern is on the stock markets in the countries involved.

We have the Ugandan and Tanzanian stock exchanges...
...can someone shed some light into these stock markets; and, do investors stand a chance to gain from these stock markets...?

Being Informed Is The Best Defence An Investor Can Carry.
#2 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 7:59:38 AM

@espanol - USE is open to Kenyans while DSE is not 'fully' open to Kenyans. Too many restrictions. I see NOTHING to change that for at least 2 years...
the deal
#3 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 10:44:26 AM

StatMeister
#4 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 11:03:37 AM

@es, look up the two exchanges, as well as the Rwanda OTC aand you'll notice 2 things:

1. The total trades on them are something like 1 average counter on the NSE

2. Many of the counters listed there are NSE x-listed. You can just trade them here.

BTW, I assume you'll kenyan. If so, trading on DSE/USE means currency risk, i.e. you be watching both closing prices AND forex rates. Too much trouble for most retail investors
A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work
#5 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 11:40:00 AM

@espanol - USE is open to Kenyans while DSE is not 'fully' open to Kenyans. Too many restrictions. I see NOTHING to change that for at least 2 years...

Kwani the'yll never finish this 'ujamaa' foolishness even after the EAC union?
tkzee
#6 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 12:17:14 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

And am sure especially TZ won't be in a hurry.These brothers see Kenyans as nothing but trouble.Did you see the cartoon Gado drew after the EAC showing some kenyans on the TZ border carrying pluck cards and shouting ''haki yetu''.
''i can calculate the motion of heavenly bodies,but not the madness of people''-Isaac Newton
StatMeister
#7 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 12:30:25 PM

tkzee wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

And am sure especially TZ won't be in a hurry.These brothers see Kenyans as nothing but trouble.Did you see the cartoon Gado drew after the EAC showing some kenyans on the TZ border carrying pluck cards and shouting ''haki yetu''.

Not without justification.

When EA Airlines was split between K, U & T, the spin-offs went into competition with one another.

End result, KQ has a very large fleet and is almost the national carrier for TZ. Its choking AT at the very least
#8 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 12:43:26 PM

@statmeister - KQ went public (thank you IFC)... thus it had to make a profit... See how we savage the airline + management when there are losses like in 2009?

ATC is 100% GoT... what do you expect?
StatMeister
#9 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 1:33:36 PM

@statmeister - KQ went public (thank you IFC)... thus it had to make a profit... See how we savage the airline + management when there are losses like in 2009?

ATC is 100% GoT... what do you expect?

KQ also got it right by parnering KLM (and the Sky Team Alliance)
young
#10 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 3:58:14 PM

For Kenyans
Ug & TZ now is what Kenya was ten years ago.
If there were business ideas or opportunities you missed in Kenya, when EAC charter is fine tuned and formalized, go for them .

For Non Kenyans but East Africans (Tz,Ug,Rw,Brd)

Tap from experience of Kenya and apply same to make progress.

Non East Africans Like Me

Time to position (stock market wise) on both Kenya and indegenous companies. Uganda is more ideal than Tanzania as they (Ug) are more foreigner's friendly,Irrespective of the recent bomb blast. Kenya has also faced bomb blast some years back.

The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
young
#11 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 4:15:12 PM

As a west African and from Nigeria with almost a saturated economy, I am making good use of emerging opportunities in Ghana, a smaller west African country with good potentials in terms of economic growth. As a retail investor my area of interest includes stock market, fund management expertise, and even real estate.

It is always worthwhile to look for opportunities in your neigbouring contries.
The world now is a global village and you start from your home country, the neighbourhood countries and then the rest of the world.
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
StatMeister
#12 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 5:45:46 PM

BTW, how is Rwanda compared to Tanzania? I find them more open-minded.

If am not mistaken, they will be giving sizeable public offerings (e.g. Brasseries et Limonaderies du Rwanda) and will most definitely be welcoming to kenyans (they literally begged KCB to list on their OTC).

The below link is old (April 2010), but may be good:

http://uk.reuters.com/ar...le/idUKLDE63J18420100421
#13 Posted : Thursday, July 15, 2010 8:25:42 PM

StatMeister wrote:
BTW, how is Rwanda compared to Tanzania? I find them more open-minded
Rwnada is way more open-mided than Tanzania! They jamaa who heads Rwanda's fledgling Stock Exchange is a Kenyan who used to be at NSE
the deal
#14 Posted : Friday, July 16, 2010 5:13:45 PM

The role Tanzania played in the fight against arpatheid will never be forgotten...during the late Mzee Julius Nyerere's time many Namibian and SA freedom fighters were trained and educated in Tanzania while Kenya closed it's borders...Tanzania is like China a sleeping giant...contrary to what most of you people say Tanzanians are more friendly to foreigners than Kenyans...
winston
#15 Posted : Friday, July 16, 2010 5:51:44 PM

Once heard that the resentment towards Kenyans by Tanzanians was best illustrated by the story of Nyerere refusing to shake Njonjo's hand at the airport (where he was accompanying Mzee Jomo)after the break up of the original EAC. It's said that on the eve of the breakup, Njonjo ordered all aircraft and trains to return to Kenya for routine servicing. And once safely in Kenya, there was a declaration of the ceasation of the Community. Some hold the view that Kenya kind of swindled the other countries (out of aircraft and trains)and ended up with a big-head start.

I dont know whether this story is true.
StatMeister
#16 Posted : Friday, July 16, 2010 6:33:40 PM

i still think rwanda is the best. you can register a new business in a few days whereas in kenya, it takes slightly longer than eternity
#17 Posted : Friday, July 16, 2010 7:22:26 PM

StatMeister wrote:
i still think rwanda is the best. you can register a new business in a few days whereas in kenya, it takes slightly longer than eternity

hehe!
#18 Posted : Wednesday, April 24, 2019 9:32:52 AM

East African Federation: A New African Superpower?

Is this what handshake is about?
A New Kenya
Ericsson
#19 Posted : Wednesday, April 24, 2019 9:38:31 AM

Still far away.
Rwanda and Uganda not on speaking terms
Tanzania and Kenya have differences.
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#20 Posted : Wednesday, April 24, 2019 9:47:52 AM

Ericsson wrote:

Still far away.
Rwanda and Uganda not on speaking terms
Tanzania and Kenya have differences.

Mostly due to selfishness of our "Congo Dandies" for Presidents (they all want to be "Commander in Chiefs" of rag tag "gumboot" armies like Rwanda/Uganda), motorcades, palaces, useless lust for power and it's trappings rather than the people e.t.c we need change and fresh thinking.
A New Kenya