Investor
Stocks
Right time to buy shares
Rank: Member Joined: 7/6/2010 Posts: 170 Location: Kenya Tukufu
Hi guys....need some advice on buying shares. 1. is this the right time to buy shares in the NSE keeping in mind many companies have just announced their financial making some shares go up...which will most likely come done after all the excitement.... 2. If it's the right time, would go wrong with equity,eabl or CFC....or what are the best options Hardwork, Smartness & Humility = Successful and Happy life...Jipange sasa hivi
Hi @raszag. Welcome to Wazua. First I would advise you to do a search in wazua [from the search facility on the top right of this page]. For example you can search "equity" - the same applies to the other stocks you are interested. You will see numerous discussions on those stocks. After reading them, you can then ask specific questions on the appropriate threads and someone will come to your aid. Happy investing. Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
@ras is there a right to buy a plot, a house, a matatu? It all depends on your assessment of your particular purchase, right? Similarly there is no "right" time to buy shares. On that short note, welcome to wazua and learn how to pick good stock investments. Life is short. Live passionately.
@ ras. Well come to Comedy Central a.k.a wazua . Where people like @ vvs and co. Buy a dieing donkey Olympia holdings , and speculate that it'll run as fast as a cheetah. I hope u hav tha best sit in the house coz u'll c more of this . Ehehe Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,107 Location: Nairobi
On Olympia, I have no excuse... I bought to SPECULATE... which I do not normally do... and see where it got me... Lakini, @qw... u keep on avoiding the specifics on your picks... You sound like khalwale... oiii, eiii BUT I want you to show us specifics like @stocksmaster... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
VituVingiSana wrote:On Olympia, I have no excuse... I bought to SPECULATE... which I do not normally do... and see where it got me...
Lakini, @qw... u keep on avoiding the specifics on your picks... You sound like khalwale... oiii, eiii BUT I want you to show us specifics like @stocksmaster... @vvs i have a feeling that @qw is an armchair investor, investing in a virtual stock exchange that only exists in his mind. And everyday is a buy buy buy day, of course with virtual manoti. Life is short. Live passionately.
Thanks guys...I've gone thro the different chats and what am seeing is equity, kplc, kenol, co-op, eabl, Arm as the places to put money. I've like 250k i want to weka in shares. What the advice on what i can put where.. cheers Hardwork, Smartness & Humility = Successful and Happy life...Jipange sasa hivi
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,107 Location: Nairobi
raszag wrote:Thanks guys...I've gone thro the different chats and what am seeing is equity, kplc, kenol, co-op, eabl, Arm as the places to put money. I've like 250k i want to weka in shares. What the advice on what i can put where.. cheers Nothing wrong in being a contrarian... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/25/2009 Posts: 4,534 Location: Windhoek/Nairobbery
@Raszag follow people like @mukiha he has this cool approach to stocks...he is 10% short of a genious...but his only weakness is he is not a good stock picker i.e OCH,CMC...but he is great...then we have our resident stock picking supremos like madam Guru from Uganda...@VVS,Pkoli,Wathaika when this guys say buy...you buy...then our resident fundamental analyst @Proverb,@Muchknow and @youcant...young supremos like @Sparkly...@Qw is suppose to be our resident TA but with screams of buy buy buy has made @sparkly to believe he is an ARMCHAIR INVESTOR...LOL...then me,@sheep,2012...@Horton and Gordon Gecko(they went AWOL after the KEnol Split)...and then YOU we are here to provide the NEWS and put a spanner in the work of this Wazua Greats...Remember we make a lot of money for ourselves in the process...although speculators dont get RICH...then theres Pierce and Govmusvli just like me we dont sleep because of KQ...LOL..happy hunting...
Rank: Veteran Joined: 3/12/2010 Posts: 1,199 Location: Eastlander
raszag wrote: Hi guys....need some advice on buying shares.
1. is this the right time to buy shares in the NSE keeping in mind many companies have just announced their financial making some shares go up...which will most likely come done after all the excitement....
2. If it's the right time, would go wrong with equity,eabl or CFC....or what are the best options
1. The biggest threat to your investing is yourself. How much do you know? especially the boring and tedious financial reports and statements? 2. who is advising you? ..if you need to get somewhere fast..go alone..follow qw's calls of buy or dump.. ..but if you need to get somewhere far..get "educated"..and a list of investment analysts to bounce your thoughts and ideas off...better still..get yourself investing skills first ..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16 - 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
@the deal, thanks! @raszag other than reading some good books on investing in stocks, as for now (starters) dive in slowly (maybe bits of 5k or 10K spread in 5 to 8 counters receiving good reviews here from the aforementioned (in @the deal post) commissions are standard 2.1% sell and same for buy (if you jump in big time +100K pieces you save kitu .7% either way so?), if that money means too much to you, put a little in the market and learn, take the rest elsewhere. Following "valued" advice from this site will help (you will learn as you read the posts), avoid stocks you hear bad vibes about from here unless you have very solid info. Am talking about years of experience not months and don't expect quick cash. Market doesn't seem too risky at the moment, its not the best neither the worst of times. But you might get lucky and don't fear burning too much either.Once your a pro, you will know what to do, sio? A New Kenya
Rank: Member Joined: 4/14/2010 Posts: 806 Location: Nairobi
raszag wrote:Thanks guys...I've gone thro the different chats and what am seeing is equity, kplc, kenol, co-op, eabl, Arm as the places to put money. I've like 250k i want to weka in shares. What the advice on what i can put where.. cheers @RASZAG - It is unlikely that the professionals on this site will tell you EXACTLY which stocks buy and EXACTLY how much to put into them. The decision is ultimately yours...and so will be the rewards (or pain)
Rank: New-farer Joined: 6/17/2010 Posts: 71 Location: Kenya
@ raszag karibu and joins the class. When we wake up in the morning, we have two simple choices. Go back to sleep and dream, or wake up and chase those dreams. The choice is yours! .
Rank: New-farer Joined: 6/29/2010 Posts: 56 Location: Nairobi
i second everyone that has said this is the best place for advice and getting info bout our local market, i have been following the threads from a distance as a guest then reg recently.
am also like ras, very new in the nse, still gathering info and education on stock trading. i know i will lose in some counters but my target is to gain more than i lose.
raszag wrote:Thanks guys...I've gone thro the different chats and what am seeing is equity, kplc, kenol, co-op, eabl, Arm as the places to put money. I've like 250k i want to weka in shares. What the advice on what i can put where.. cheers Start with at most 3 counters with low P/E [you do know what that is, don't you? if not buy " Business Daily" and check the stock tables] and average to high daily volumes; divide your money equally amongst them - 80k each Spread your buys over two months (8 weeks). Buy a tranche of worth 10k of each counter weekly. Usibabaike hat kama zinashuka....it's good when you are on a buying spree [I was both happy and unhappy when CFC started climbing above 50 -> happy because my wealth was increasing; unhappy because I still buying] Once you have completed they buying Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
...once you complete buying, watch you wealth grow. When one share climbs, sell a small portion and put the money in the one that is lagging behind. Oh; BTW, it helps to keep track of you portfolio with any of the available online services. Its free. There is one right here on wazua but I use www.mystocks.co.keNothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
asanteni.....u guys have been in this game and u really know ur stuff...will make my first step this week... Hardwork, Smartness & Humility = Successful and Happy life...Jipange sasa hivi
Do your own research or use a broker
Make a note of the 100units buy sell rule as you plan, kes10k will not buy 100 wtk per order or eabl but will buy a lot of scom or unga, so with your buys distribution 'equitable' or balance means much more than it does in the constitution. A New Kenya
komera wrote: ... i know i will lose in some counters but my target is to gain more than i lose. @komera wrong attitude to approach investments with. You invest to WIN never to lose. If you are ready to lose, then you take your money to the casino. Life is short. Live passionately.
Investor
Stocks
Right time to buy shares