Investor
Stocks
Icelandic volcanic clouds and KQ and passengers
What will happen to KQ and .....other airlines if Icelandic volcanic clouds lasts 2 years as it happened in 1823?..... http://news.gather.com/v...ticleId=281474978181994
What will happen to immigrants who are on transit ? will they be given temporary work permits ......so that they can work and provide for themselves over there Nikubaya .... and God must be angry at humanity.... we need to repent ....seriously Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
Iam optimistic this will be short term. All the same the most serious concern is not about the Immigrants but us - the investors. I am not worried though. Alternative routes can be developed. Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,120 Location: Nairobi
The engine & airplane manufacturers will find new materials as well as new way to overcome the problem... It might take more than 2 years but unlike Africans... the Europeans, Americans & Asians are in the fore-front of new technologies! Let's face it... hardly any new technologies come out of Africa... but the Europeans, Americans & Asians come out with new stuff all the time! Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
@VVS as you can see @Fundaah, Africans ascribe disasters to God and the need for repentance, so instead of finding ways to solve the problems, they disappear into the churches and mosques hoping for God's intervention. Africans need to learn the simple theory of CAUSE and EFFECT.
@vvs, you will be surprised at the number of Africans who work for those other continents developing the new technologies.....
GG tel'm Like like this one working at NASA http://www.ghanacommunit...index.php?showtopic=9927Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/4/2008 Posts: 1,289 Location: Nairobi
@vvs,
I beg to differ. What about mpesa? Do you now the name Tangi, kahawa and piri piri are originally swahili before travelling round the world and coming back as tank, coffee and pepper. Anyone can solve any problem
an another one,Dr Cheick Diarra.met him in person. Awesome personality. Kwani they are all Ghanaians like Annan? http://www.microsoft.com...phies/cheickDiarra.mspx
African scientists contribute more out there in the diaspora than locally largely because abroad there are higher R&D budgets. but we know some miros esp. at the Coast areas give a 100 % at work: 13% Monday, 22% Tuesday,, 26% Wednesday 35% Thursday and 4% Friday!
Yes ....Race is just skin deep...the rest ...blood is red...Heart is one ...eyes,legs hands 2...digestive system the same....for all normal human beings ....Fearfully and wonderfully made.... Psalms 139:13-14 13.For You formed my inward parts; You wove me in my mother’s womb. 14 I will give thanks to You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Wonderful are Your works, And my soul knows it very well. Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
@fundaah human beings are wonderfully and fearfully made lakini some of us the wonderful part iko missing sura ni mbaya. Lakini roho ni safi.
Sura (beauty) is also a skin deep....rest ni sawa ....only size and shape differs .... Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
By tha way we did not have planes in 1823. Good news though, some players like KLM have done tests and seems we might have resumption very soon. Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
@GG @fundaah - 1) Jameni... you guys are equating 'African' with ethnicity... I am talking of 'nationality'... These chaps working for NASA are not 'African' except in name & their research is not stand-alone i.e. they are part of larger groups... It's like saying Obama is 'African'... lakini he is really an American... 2) @fundaali - Wacha uwongo... Chili peppers are from Central America (to the best of my knowledge)... Apparently, the Indians got the hang of it from the Portuguese!!! As for the kahawa & piri piri... these are nature's gifts to Africa not inventions... As for the tangi... I have no idea lakini please send me more info... And if Africans had/invented tanks, why did the Wazungu kick the shit out of us? 3) @intelligentsia - LOL... at the coasta jamaas lakini that is very, very true! You guys seem to be missing the plot (or maybe I did not phrase it well)... I am sure the Europeans (incl Russians), Americans, Asians (Japs, Chinese & Indians) & Brazilians are already trying to figure out how to improve the engines & planes to withstand such natural disasters... while in Kenya we are still bitching about amendments, kadhis courts & such non-economic nonsense! Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
On matters flying does anyone know if KQ is seeking compensation from European governments. The carriers here are doing so and arguing it was the governments decision to halt flying and not them and as 9/11 where the US government compensated the carriers i am afraid the government is bound by precedence!! The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
Rank: New-farer Joined: 4/20/2010 Posts: 2 Location: Nairobi
@vvs
buda it aint bitching is called revolution. Most of the so called developed countries passed through such stages ages ago. it only means we are on the right track and only need to iron out the rough edges. kwani you did not attend the tech compe that went down at KICC? who knew wakenya especially polytechnic students could design real working robots? ama according to you lazima zi "perform", its all about the steps we take that enables us complete the journey
“The key is not to prioritize what's on your schedule, but to schedule your priorities.” -- Stephen Covey
@nyakure - I compare Kenya to Singapore (independence in 1957 or so), India (1947) S.Korea among other countries... yet these countries are way ahead of us... Singapore is a financial center, clean city/state & almost corruption-free... India - Well, what can I say? Will be be at their current level in tech in 15 years? Apparently, a lot of it is homegrown tech as well... BUT we have to understand that akina S.Korea, India, Singapore, China even Mauritius, will NOT wait for us to catch up!!! They will forge ahead... Dubai has started a Tea Exchange yet they grow ZERO tea... Mombasa might lose the auction dominance to Dubai! Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
“ Give me a dozen healthy infants, well-formed, and my own specified world to bring them up in and I'll guarantee to take any one at random and train him to become any type of specialist I might select – doctor, lawyer, artist, merchant-chief and, yes, even beggar-man and thief, regardless of his talents, penchants, tendencies, abilities, vocations, and race of his ancestors. I am going beyond my facts and I admit it, but so have the advocates of the contrary and they have been doing it for many thousands of years. [Behaviorism (1930), p. 82 John Broadus Watson (January 9, 1878 – September 25, 1958) Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
@fundaah - Exactly what the USA or UK or Canada & now India/China/Australia are doing... They are taking the smartest folks from all over the world... Giving them a conducive environment... and voila... Sergey Brin (Google founder): Russian Andy Grove (Intel): Hungarian Vinod Khosla (Sun): Indian Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
...I am sure the Europeans (incl Russians), Americans, Asians (Japs, Chinese & Indians) & Brazilians are already trying to figure out how to improve the engines & planes to withstand such natural disasters... while in Kenya we are still bitching about amendments, kadhis courts & such non-economic nonsense!
You are right because currently there is no scientific approach to testing of volcano ash. I read somewhere that a cloud of volcanic ash is indistinguishable from a normal one until its too late! This is why while Nato was saying there will be damage to engines civilian airlines were actually saying they had not had any problems! Only one German aircraft (Dornier 288)has ability to do so but still in a very limited way. So an authoritative someone to do an independent assessment would be needed. Now that more eruptions are expected in Iceland as the heavy weight of the glaciers is being lifted off as they melt due to global warming, hapo iko kazi. So there is a statement of the problem, are African scientists listening?
VituVingiSana wrote:......Dubai has started a Tea Exchange yet they grow ZERO tea... Mombasa might lose the auction dominance to Dubai! Speaking of tea, did you here this? " The Kenyan Embassy is set to promote one of its biggest exports and mock the tea party movement at the same time.
According to Talking Points Memo, the embassy has sent out invitations to a tea party next week, inviting attendees to "Find out what a real tea party is like."
The event, to be held at the U.S. Capitol, will feature tea tastings, food pairings and tea leaf readings, according to the invite. Kenya's deputy prime minister is also scheduled to attend...." I thought is was ingenious!!! Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
Investor
Stocks
Icelandic volcanic clouds and KQ and passengers