wazua Wed, Jan 8, 2025

UAE VISA = degree NOW required!
Injere
#1 Posted : Monday, April 19, 2010 4:28:04 AM

Not sure if guys have see this....

http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/o1ni8yz/-/index.html

but if its true, i don't think UAE is really serious. There are lots of Asians, Filipinos and Arabs in the UAE who can't even utter a word in English....let alone have any papers on them. Why is Kenya being singled out? Why doesnt this affect the other migrant groups as well?
bird_man
#2 Posted : Monday, April 19, 2010 6:33:19 AM

Eish!They cannot be serious.There are so so so many Kenyans doing menial jobs there not to mention flight attendants and ground crew, drivers, mechanics etc.....90% do not have degrees. And worse of all, the Phillipinos,Indians and UAE citizens themselves don't know much English leave alone attending "higher" education institutions. Wacha tuone lakini.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#3 Posted : Monday, April 19, 2010 6:51:32 AM

the report says its in retaliation to Kenya's deportation of UAE nationals who were touring the country. So its selective. Last time I heard of deportations it was that of an Eritrean diplomat.Hii sikusikia.
Yaani there are 369 kenyans working in Irag! And 36 in Afghanistan!
We are becoming like India who are sending expats all over the world. Clearly, the kenyan expats will need good representation lets hope the new crop of our diplommatic staff will be upto the task
Injere
#4 Posted : Monday, April 19, 2010 7:08:34 AM

i have frequented UAE severally in the last two years for long stays and i know Kenyans have a reputation (read booze parties which are 'illegal' in the UAE, drunken brawls, pinching stuff- one was caught with approx 400 ladies underwears pinched from a mall!) but this has nothing to do with that! Other migrant populations and the locals have shady reputations too.... and it does seem unfair that we are targeted to be honest. Its a crude diplomatic weapon if this is retaliation.

How about KQ brisk biz on Dubai Aiport enroute to China - will all the West African passengers require Visas too?

BTW, the issue has no airtime in the UAE press this morning!
#5 Posted : Monday, April 19, 2010 8:02:49 AM

this is a disgusting move by UAE... i dont think a bachelors degree tells how much integrity one has or neither does a bachelors degree prevent one from stealing.. i mean just look at GOK i think many of those guys have Phd's...

total total crap!!
Wa_ithaka
#6 Posted : Monday, April 19, 2010 8:17:46 AM

Wetangula sleeping on the job as usual
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
wote
#7 Posted : Monday, April 19, 2010 9:15:02 AM

I do not think, and i highly doubt that the writer of the article got it right, this is so usual with our copycat journalists. The proper status probably says for Kenyans to work and reside in UAE one must be a holder of a university degree which to me is a reasonable request.Common sense dictates that an academic qualification has no relation to travelling or any visa regime.
Seeders
#8 Posted : Monday, April 19, 2010 9:32:25 AM

good for business on river road. since when have kenyans been put down by such minor hurdles? hata wakitaka ya harvard...iko!
mtaalamu
#9 Posted : Monday, April 19, 2010 9:35:30 AM

The most ridiculous part of this news is the part where even the people in transit need to get VISA, otherwise they cannot leave UAE..the last time I checked,no VISA is needed to wait for your connecting flight@the airport.Sth has definitely been lost in translation hereShame on you
#10 Posted : Monday, April 19, 2010 10:01:45 AM

Seeders wrote:
good for business on river road. since when have kenyans been put down by such minor hurdles? hata wakitaka ya harvard...iko!

My sentiments too!!! Who will be the validating authority? Let's say Njung'e has a BSc in Pothole Avoidance and Matatu coordination from Thika Rd. University or Traffic Jam and By Pass Technology and VituVingiSana has a masters degree in Projectile technology and Teargas management from University of Nairobi not to mention Wendz who is doing her Phd. in Consesus Building, Coalition Management and equitable distribution of corruption among coalition partners at Kenyatta University etc. etc... I mean, who will counter check this? At what cost? How fast can this be done?

This is just posturing. We'll be back to normal before you know it.
Injere
#11 Posted : Monday, April 19, 2010 10:03:21 AM

You could be right Mtaalamu - this simply doesn't make sense! let's wait - the devils is usually in the details!

They need labour for sure... and this is like shooting yourself in the foot!
Amir
#12 Posted : Monday, April 19, 2010 10:54:05 AM

@MaichBlack
You have made my athawise bogus monday hehehehehe

The Brave may not live forever - but the cautious do not live at all: Richard Branson
tonicasert
#13 Posted : Monday, April 19, 2010 2:52:33 PM

The degree is not really the issue, the spirit is retaliation for the way immigration treated their nationals. I'm sure even if you have the degree paper they can still freeze you. Already Abu Dhabi has been freezing Kenyan visas for some years now - nobody seems to know what happened on that end. Someone at the diplomatic level is in deep slumber. Kenya may have more to lose (travel, jobs, businessmen, exports) than UAE (I think we only import oil from them), if its not sorted.
tonicasert
#14 Posted : Monday, April 19, 2010 3:06:54 PM

on a lighter note: In Today's paper - wamekasirika n decided to build north kenya in Al Ain, UAE

http://www.thenational.a...BUSINESS/704189880/1005
Injere
#15 Posted : Monday, April 19, 2010 4:00:13 PM

wow....and this marketing line is real crappy!

“In this plot, you can visit several desert worlds in one day. When you are visiting the north Kenyan safari, you will feel you’re in north Kenya. When you are visiting the Sonoran Desert, you will feel that you’re in North America.” ....some one should tell them there are NO wildlife in NOTHERN KENYA...basic geography!
blackcobra
#16 Posted : Tuesday, April 20, 2010 8:29:52 AM

Na bado,on top of degree certs as a requirement 2 travel 2 UAE,more harsh conditions r on the way from UAE authorities!that only virgins will b allowed to travel to UAE from 1st July 2010.Do you qualify?
#17 Posted : Tuesday, April 20, 2010 8:50:59 AM

So I hear that some members of the Dubai royal family were here for holiday, but were handled badly at the airport by our own dearest immigration officers. Apparently one officer asked for chai, they refused, and thus got send back to Dubs.

Once they landed back home, full backlash!!

(pls I cannot authenticate this story, but it sounds so plausible, given our corrupt civil masters ooops servants).
kizee
#18 Posted : Tuesday, April 20, 2010 9:12:17 AM

blackcobra wrote:
Na bado,on top of degree certs as a requirement 2 travel 2 UAE,more harsh conditions r on the way from UAE authorities!that only virgins will b allowed to travel to UAE from 1st July 2010.Do you qualify?

male or female virgins?
blackcobra
#19 Posted : Tuesday, April 20, 2010 9:26:47 AM

@Kizee.... both sexes...
kizee
#20 Posted : Tuesday, April 20, 2010 9:33:02 AM

blackcobra wrote:
@Kizee.... both sexes...

how will this be verified..is theyr a card oen wud need to have akin to the one for yellow fever?