wazua Wed, Jan 8, 2025

Grameen vs Equity
#1 Posted : Wednesday, February 10, 2010 7:44:49 AM

http://blogs.cgdev.org/o...it-a-repayment-snag.php

There are significant differences between Grameen Bank (the original micro-lender that went big) and Equity Bank...

BUT... it makes me wonder what would happen if entire chamas/groups decided (or could not) pay back their loans to Equity...
VituVingiSana attached the following image(s):
grameenimagesrv.jpg (5kb) downloaded 8 time(s).
Kamzee
#2 Posted : Wednesday, February 10, 2010 8:11:24 AM

These chamas are well spread across the Banks e.g Chama account in standard chartered,Co-op etc.Their exodus therefore would not significantly affect Equity.
Equity is the Bank of the mwananchi who goes to the Bank in slippers!
It's only and I dare say major threat is that it appears to be a one man show.When you think Equity you see only one face.Even the founder who is alive and kicking is not visible.
#3 Posted : Wednesday, February 10, 2010 8:20:20 AM

You mean equity has a founder other than "man jamo"? Nkt. On the other hand if kcb did not go down in the triton debacle, then equity is "default proof" as it were. from those chamas. Its a solid bank.
#4 Posted : Wednesday, February 10, 2010 8:32:19 AM

Please read the entire article.

It is a long article but essentially it talks about lower levels of repayments & entire groups defaulting.

There are many similarities & differences between Grameen & Equity so not apples to apples.

I respect Equity for what it has done but I wonder if the controls are sufficient as the bank grew/grows larger?
the deal
#5 Posted : Wednesday, February 10, 2010 9:07:31 AM

Equity bank today supply:754000000 vs demand of 500k...???
#6 Posted : Wednesday, February 10, 2010 9:13:06 AM

@the deal:

The supply/demand seems closely matched at 12.11 pm

D 577k
S 736k
Wa_ithaka
#7 Posted : Wednesday, February 10, 2010 10:10:41 AM

I think the issue of loans to the bottom of the pyramid is not Equity specific at all. Infact, I'd add Family Bank, Co-op (a lot of saccos having huge issues) and K-Rep to the list that would be affected by any percieved increase in default rates among this class.
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#8 Posted : Wednesday, February 10, 2010 10:46:24 AM

Wa_ithaka wrote:
I think the issue of loans to the bottom of the pyramid is not Equity specific at all. Infact, I'd add Family Bank, Co-op (a lot of saccos having huge issues) and K-Rep to the list that would be affected by any percieved increase in default rates among this class.

True but only Co-op & equity are listed. I am looking at Co-op as an investment but I might dump my EB as well...

I have no Family or K-Rep...
cnn
#9 Posted : Wednesday, February 10, 2010 11:04:45 AM

Is it an error? Rich is showing supply for equity at 784 million shares! That will be significant if it is executed.
#10 Posted : Wednesday, February 10, 2010 12:53:41 PM

Oooh is that what @the deal's post was about; definitely an error.

the deal wrote:
Equity bank today supply:754000000 vs demand of 500k...???

#11 Posted : Wednesday, February 10, 2010 2:27:51 PM

Ayaaaya, growing levels of loan arrears portend serious trouble for any financial institution, esp. the high delinquency rates for Grameen manifest in Q4 2009. They paint a bleak picture of a rapidly deteriorating asset quality - the same well-trodden path that has led countless banks globally down the road to a hardcore non-performing lending portfolio and eventual collapse.

Grameen is too important as it is both the cradle and epitome of microfinance lending for the developing world - anything happening to this institution will reverberate across the microfinance world in emerging economies with far-reaching and grave implications, affecting access to credit and thereby stifling national soci-economic devleopment of poor nations. That is how vital Grameen is, and its invicibility must be protected.

I like Grameen's dynamism (read Grameen 11)and they look quick to adapt to changing circumstances. My quick two cents to Yunus to explore...

- Improve credit monitoring immediately; pursue loan delinquents
from day one of the repayment instalment being missed,
- Start adequate provisioning of bad debts after say 90 days so
that by the time its declared bad, it is fully provided for and
can be written off,
- Introduce a system of branch assessment with national rankings
where managers of Grameen Bank Branches with lowest default rates
are given generous bonuses,and poor performing ones penalized,
- Grameen hones its predatory instincts and makes a hostile
takeover of its 2 leading microfinance rivals to maintain its
market share and stranglehold on the industry in Bangladesh!

- The 3 major players push for legislation establishing a national
credit reference system. That way even if a group defaults, its
individual members will still be unable able to access credit
anywhere in Bangladesh if theu have ever defaulted. Changing
groups won't help so long as their names are on this national
black list of shame,
- Bangladesh (its new name is Myanmar)is always being hit by
cyclones all the time the way Kenya is being hit with scandals.
Liaise with insur. companies to insure the debts and load the
very small premium on the loan amt. but handle this in a better
fashion than they did with their ill-fated 'group fund.'

Internal controls and strong Internal Audit, Compliance and Risk Depts are a must and I hope to dear God Equity here at home has all these in place.

Militant borrowers? That's a new one for me!

#12 Posted : Thursday, February 11, 2010 5:49:22 AM

Burma = Myanmar...
#13 Posted : Thursday, February 11, 2010 6:04:01 AM

@VVS, you are right, asantefor the correction - pewa tusker blackcurrant!
#14 Posted : Thursday, February 11, 2010 6:08:55 AM

Intelligentsia wrote:
@VVS, you are right, asantefor the correction - pewa tusker blackcurrant!

Went for a drink with friends in London... Ordered a Guinness... with blackcurrant!
#15 Posted : Thursday, February 11, 2010 6:58:06 AM

The biggest problem equity and other MFIs are facing is high default rate caused by failure to adhere to KYC procedures at the individual level.

My wife is in one of these chamas she was given 100,000/= without even the institution verifying whether she has a business or not even they dont know her current residence address.They based their lending on the strength of the groups savings which I think is inadequate.as we are speaking 1/4 of the group has failed to service their loans.the good thing is part of it will be recovered from the savings but if it continues like this the institution will face a massive debt burden that might cripple its operations.

The most sure way of limitting this risks is have a great referencing bureau as well as adhere to the KYC at individual level.

#16 Posted : Thursday, February 11, 2010 7:06:47 AM

@selah - Not just KYC but collateral...

When you base lending on a chama... chances are the chama has members of the same profession, etc...

So a crisis of employment or biashara can hit all of them at the same time...
#17 Posted : Thursday, February 11, 2010 9:22:01 AM

@vvs
Most MFI would collapse if they pegged their lending to collateral this is because most of their clients dont have any .The best thing is to understand the nature and form of business these individuals in the chamas operate Train them on book keeping and employ enough officer to oversee their businesses from time to time.

Furthermore If you look at the interest rate of this MFIs you will realise its about 20-22%p.a Which is way above the prevailing bank rates.If this MFIs were to reduce the interest rates alittle bit and concentrate in understanding the needs as well as the risks faced by their clients they would achieve more growth than its the case.
#18 Posted : Thursday, February 11, 2010 10:21:51 AM

@selah those are good points.
Any responsible lender understands that credit appraisal/ vetting (ni thorough due diligence including KYC procedures) is a major sine qua non before any disbursement of funds can take place. Banks have to understand a client's business kabisaa and in place like India where banking is older they have Relationship Managers (RMs) for each major industry. This means if Total Oil wants to borrow from the bank, the bank will allocate that account to its RM who knows the oil industry intimately. This trend is catching up in Kenya and Equity for instance, now has RMs for diff. agro sectors kama za avocado, tea growing,etc.

One major diff. between mainstream bank lending and MFI lending is that the latter is cash-flow based where collateral, if any, is not a major factor in the lending decision. However, in mainstream banking esp. in Kenya collateral is a huge, and in some cases even the exclusive, factor in the lending decision.

Because of lack of a fallback option (collateral)in MFIs, their loans are riskier which is why they charge a higher premium and hence a higher lending rate than banks.

Banks and MFIs recognise that a good loan made is a half-collected loan.
#19 Posted : Thursday, February 11, 2010 3:50:01 PM

Based on what @intelligentsia is saying:
- Has Equity (or other MFIs) taken adequate steps to verify the cashflow of most of it loanees (loans)...
- What is the fallback or safety if the loanees' cashflow stumbles due to outliers like PEV?
- How does a MFI deal with fraud?
#20 Posted : Friday, February 12, 2010 1:52:11 PM

@VVS, I will attempt 2 answer u seriatim:

- Only Equity or someone who works there or a loan beneficiary can confirm if cashflow is verified as part of credit pre-screening, Any wazuan?
- there's no fallback for unforessen contingencies like PEV. If possible they would have to restructure the facility after examining any remaining income sources that may exist; likely provide for it with write off as ultimate goal for an MFI,

-An MFI should have an Internal Audit Dept who would investigate the fraud, involving law enorcement agencies if external players are involved,as necessary