wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

#1 Posted : Tuesday, December 29, 2009 12:22:28 PM

anyone seen this flick? me thinks its not as highly rated as being touted.
Zakumi
#2 Posted : Tuesday, December 29, 2009 1:09:48 PM

@masukuma,what do u mean!4rm the reviews it seems to b a gr8 flick,,i mean the creator(also of the titanic fame) had 2wait all those years until thea ws commensurate technology..kumbe its all hype!
The Strong Do What They Want,The Weak Do What They Must!
#3 Posted : Tuesday, December 29, 2009 3:47:44 PM

Any 2009 movie that beat 'Law abiding citizen' and '2012'? Anyway, 2009 wasn't a great movies year......maybe due to the recession. The storylines are mostly too predictable!
genius32
#4 Posted : Tuesday, December 29, 2009 8:21:13 PM

@simo.. totally agree with you on both counts.. I also found Transformers 2 quite interesting.
Wakanyugi
#5 Posted : Tuesday, December 29, 2009 9:32:27 PM

Avatar is not hype. It is very well done. But you need to see it in 3D to really appreciate the special effects.
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
sheep
#6 Posted : Wednesday, December 30, 2009 5:55:40 AM

you need 3D glasses and a 3D movie compatibl screen.I dont know whether we have one in kenya.But the movie is not as original as the Matrix or Transformers
The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
#7 Posted : Wednesday, December 30, 2009 7:18:50 AM

@sheep, Nyali Cinemax is 3D
#8 Posted : Wednesday, December 30, 2009 7:36:23 AM

Is there 3D in Nairobi?
#9 Posted : Wednesday, December 30, 2009 7:42:38 AM

I saw it at sarit center, it wasnt all its touted to be but its a great watch - nice graphics and visual effects but the storyline in Avartar is borrowed from Pocahontas but redone in a Star-wars manner. But great watchy.
I agree that 2009 was not a great movie year but I think my 2009 movie is Star Trek.
ispoa
#10 Posted : Saturday, January 02, 2010 6:38:14 PM

for me that was the best flick i watched in 2009. The technology involved was great. Cameron did a great job. How does one create a totally new language for a movie??? That creativity borders on madness.

Still hard to believe that we don't have 3d in Nai yet it's there in coastoo!

Happy new year to all, n make sure to join ur hairs Laughing out loudly this year
#11 Posted : Saturday, January 02, 2010 6:56:57 PM

fake language for movies are not a new thing...George Lucas has done that for over 30 years e.g. Huttese that even has a writing system. But the best example is Klingon it is a full fictional language with a dictionary (some nut jobs have even translated the Bible and other books into Klingon) and the Vulcan languages in the Star trek universe.
I hope to see it in 3D to understand the awe people have for it but until then the redone star trek remains top of my list.
Greenhorn
#12 Posted : Saturday, January 02, 2010 7:06:06 PM

Would love to see it for myself
kizee
#13 Posted : Monday, January 04, 2010 7:35:27 AM

i watched universal soldier regeneration jana..didnt xpect much but ended up liking it...mob action with zero CGI and fake stunts..jcvd has grown old lakini he can still kickass...
Djinn
#14 Posted : Monday, January 04, 2010 8:56:38 AM

@SimonKabz - I had some idle time between 26th and 30th and caught up with some movies ...."Law Abiding Citizen" started good then tapered off into mediocrity - it was good up until the point the judge's cellphone exploded - then what started off as a father playing with his kid - was transformed into a VERY MUCH LARGER than life character with FBI/CIA/Military ties - hmmmm......then they unraveled the plot so quickly when they could have drawn it our a little longer....

Perhaps the poor script explains why Jamie Fox was the main star (and not heavyweights like Will Smith or Denzel Washington, etc) smile

How did Jamie Fox outrun the guy to his prison cell? This is a guy who was monitoring the town hall meeting even as he drove into his hideout next to the prison - and as the meeting was going on - Jamie Fox was with the others in the floor below (recall they looked up to the ceiling because of the sound of the people gathering)Shame on you

FOr the first half I give it abt 8/10 Applause and the second half abt 4/10 d'oh!

You asked which movies in 2009 were good? Have you watched Enemy at the Gates (abt a Russian Sniper - has Ed Harris, Jude Law, Rachel Weisz)....
anasazi
#15 Posted : Monday, January 04, 2010 1:05:36 PM

Owww... thought there was a 3D hall in Nairobi? How not? Then is it worth doing avatar on big screen if not 3D? Yeah, Klingon made quite some progress in the sci fi world. I knew a few words here and there myself, being a star trek buff. infact my username comes from yet another great sci fi series called Andromeda..
Form is temporary, class is permanent
#16 Posted : Monday, January 04, 2010 2:45:50 PM

!
#17 Posted : Monday, January 04, 2010 6:45:52 PM

I like star trek, star wars ,stargate and any other space opera.
iKenya
#18 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2010 1:04:48 PM

Happy New Year guys,
I think you first need to step back and appreciate or rather evaluate how you appreciate a movie before you start judging any movie. I judge a movie based on first, the amount of innovativeness that has gone to the production of the movie, hence the quality of the sound, picture, etc. 3D is new (at least to me in a movie theatre) so, Avatar ranks very highly on that, just to give you insight, the first script for this movie was written in 1999! Yes and when the producer was asked about the delay, he stated that he 'Was waiting for technology to catch up "with his thoughts/script. Sony, had to go and design a new camera just for this movie, it literally has broken technology with its debut. To me the $250 million used to produce the movie was well spent.

Another way I judge a movie is by the technology it displays, forget the nifty product placement, I am talking about the guns, the tablet computers, virtual interfaces (minority report anyone?), the machines (transformers?) and wholly, the how realistic are they. Generally, it lacks the outrageousness of a bond film, but packs enough realism to be believed, and I am not talking about 3D yet!
This in my qualified opinion is a movie to beat, the iPhone of the mobile industry, or the Obama of politics if you want.

My opinion, as I wait to go back and re-watch it tonight.

P/s
Funny thing is the fact that almost 30% of the revenue (over $1 Billion, yes Billion dollars) it has brought in was from re- watchers!
Buy when there's blood in the streets, even if the blood is your own...
#19 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2010 1:17:47 PM

Agreed, It may be a good movie but it is not the best movie. I saw it and liked it but i don't think it will be a classic like Titanic (where chicks keep on re-watching and re-watching as if its storyline will change)or Matrix. I think Hype is carrying this thing. Its like pirates of the Caribbean - Dead Man's chest it grossed highly but...
#20 Posted : Wednesday, January 06, 2010 9:02:47 AM

some movies are truly moving...one moment u r in your seat, the next u r moving...out of the theater in boredom.

Others are so moving, some people in the theater actually cry and that's the highest irony of it: the guy on the screen is busy earning millions and you...well, u r crying.

But 2009 was not such a great movie year bt still had good ones:Taking of Pelham, Transformers (how do they change into trucks and watever so effortlessly?, Terminator Salvation, 2012 had great visual effects. But my favorite was the Echelon Conspiracy.

I really need to watch Avatar.