Culture
The Name of Jesus Christ
Rank: Member Joined: 5/26/2009 Posts: 326 Location: Nairobi
AKOWALLY,
Allow me to digress from the juicy post. My attention was drawn to your signature: Acts 2,38. Refer also to Acts 8:16 and Acts 10:48. Christ disciples baptized believers in 'The Name of Jesus Christ'.
Why do present day baptizers do it in the name of the father(whose father), the son (which son) and holy ghost????
Rank: Veteran Joined: 5/20/2008 Posts: 1,126 Location: Nairobi
@ Wa P
Thanks a lot for taking notice to my signature. That is why I put it there in the first place.
I take my convictions strictly from the Bible and not from church rituals. Thus (from the Bible) baptism should only be in the name of Jesus Christ, as you have seen from the two posts.
From Acts 2.38 you can see that emphasis is also put on repentance. Most people want to be baptized without undergoing true repentance. This is the tough bit because one needs to radically deal with sin and undergo ONE BAPTISM (Ephesians 4.3-6)not sijui infant baptism, baptism after classes, confirmation and then getting saved, backsliding and getting saved once again. Baptism should be strictly upon repentance and having a lifetime commitment to Jesus.
I like the fact that you have emphasized on the use of the name of Jesus Christ.
I recommend also the book The Name by Franklin Graham which has interesting insights on THE NAME.
God bless you abundantlyJOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
Wa P, Good observation! May i add that what Acts 2:38 records is a strong affirmation by Peter that “there is no other name under heaven given among men by which we must be saved” (Acts 4:12). Being baptized in the name of Jesus indicates an understanding by the person being baptized that Christ is the Savior. Christian baptism is also in the name of the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit (Matthew 28:19). Being baptized in this manner simply means we are identifying ourselves with the Trinity. We belong to the Father, are saved by the Son, and indwelt by the Spirit. This is similar to how we pray in Jesus’ name (John 14:13). If we pray in the name of Jesus, we are praying with His authority and asking God the Father to act upon our prayers because we come in the name of His Son, Jesus. Being baptized in the name of the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit is being baptized in identification with them and their power over and in our lives. Jesus Himself specifically tells us to baptize “in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit” (Matthew 28:19). Hope that helps ,God Bless. For just as through the disobedience of the one man the many were made sinners, so also through the obedience of the one man the many will be made righteous. Romans 5:19
Rank: Veteran Joined: 10/6/2007 Posts: 1,177 Location: Nairobi - Kenya
@Ja-kom thank you for the clarification... When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
http://www.carm.org/ques...ly-spirit-or-name-jesus
The proper form of baptism is in the name of the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit as Jesus designated in Matt. 28:19, "Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit." The clear command of Jesus is to baptize this way. But, if that is so, then why do we see so many instances in the New Testament where people were baptized "in Jesus' name"?
Acts 2:38, "And Peter said to them, 'Repent, and let each of you be baptized in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins; and you shall receive the gift of the Holy Spirit." Acts 10:48, "And he ordered them to be baptized in the name of Jesus Christ. Then they asked him to stay on for a few days." Acts 19:5, "And when they heard this, they were baptized in the name of the Lord Jesus." The reason they were baptizing "in the name of Jesus" is not because it was a formula, but because the phrase, "in the name of" means "in the authority of. We can see proof of this in Acts 4:7-10,
"And when they had placed them in the center, they began to inquire, 'By what power, or in what name, have you done this?' 8 Then Peter, filled with the Holy Spirit, said to them, 'Rulers and elders of the people, 9 if we are on trial today for a benefit done to a sick man, as to how this man has been made well, 10 let it be known to all of you, and to all the people of Israel, that by the name of Jesus Christ the Nazarene, whom you crucified, whom God raised from the dead, by this name this man stands here before you in good health.'"
The Jews asked "by what power, or in what name, have you done this?" Peter answers and says that it was in the name of Jesus that they had healed. In other words, "in the name of Jesus" means that it is by the power and authority found in Christ. We can see this usage many places in the New Testament.
Acts 3:6 "But Peter said, "I do not possess silver and gold, but what I do have I give to you: In the name of Jesus Christ the Nazarene - walk!" Acts 16:18, And she continued doing this for many days. But Paul was greatly annoyed, and turned and said to the spirit, "I command you in the name of Jesus Christ to come out of her!" And it came out at that very moment." 1 Cor. 5:4-5, "In the name of our Lord Jesus, when you are assembled, and I with you in spirit, with the power of our Lord Jesus, 5 I have decided to deliver such a one to Satan for the destruction of his flesh, that his spirit may be saved in the day of the Lord Jesus." 1 Cor. 6:11, "And such were some of you; but you were washed, but you were sanctified, but you were justified in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ, and in the Spirit of our God." Eph. 5:20, "always giving thanks for all things in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ to God, even the Father." 2 Thess. 3:6, "Now we command you, brethren, in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that you keep aloof from every brother who leads an unruly life and not according to the tradition which you received from us." As you can see, "in the name of the Lord Jesus" and "in the name of Jesus" speaks of "in the authority of Jesus." Therefore, when someone is properly baptized, they are baptized in the name of Jesus; that is, by the authority of Jesus. Therefore, when they are properly baptized in the name of Jesus, they should say, "I baptize you in the name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit," just as Jesus commanded us to do.Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
Good people, may i also chip in, firstly there is nothing like trinity, thats a false doctrine. 2nd, the father son or whatever is not a name, these are titles. The only true baptism is in the name of the lord jesus christ, other than that its a false baptism. LOVE WHAT YOU DO, DO WHAT YOU LOVE.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
Hello people! Some of these things are man made. Even Jesus himself warned people about it. In Mathew 15:8, Jesus says; "those people just respect me only in the mouth. They're worshipping for nothing. They teach the teachings of human beings". For example christmas, nowhere did God taught about it. Absolutely nowhere!
But the teacher of all this is Paul. See Acts of Apostles 26:26. Paul tells the people "...I will make you and those who are here Christians like me." He never said "I'll make you christians like jesus". You wnat to know when did Paul start preaching these things? Acts of Apostles 11:26.
Remember it's him who said "the laws that cam before him are old and useless". Phew, even Jesus himself said "I've come not to bring anything new but to fulfill the laws that came before me."
People you must wake up and seek the truth. God never does anything unless through his messengers, see Amos 3:7.
Nice topic.for even after being a born again christian for 10yrs, i havnt fully grasped the doctrine of the trinity.But i guess that's why we call it a mystery.it's not rationalisable or fathomable in human terms. @alphdot you're misleading us.Paul said 'follow me as I follow Christ'.that is what being xtian is all about What a wicked man I am!The things I want to do,I don't do.The things I don't want to do I find myself doing
Rank: Veteran Joined: 10/6/2007 Posts: 1,177 Location: Nairobi - Kenya
@ alpha which version of the bible have you quoted ACTS 26:26? mine reads: 'For the king knoweth of these things, before whom also I speak freely: for I am persuaded that none of these things are hidden from him; for this thing was not done in a corner.' When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
The Trinity is a concept that is impossible for any human being to fully understand, let alone explain. God is infinitely greater than we are; therefore, we should not expect to be able to fully understand Him. The Bible teaches that the Father is God, that Jesus is God, and that the Holy Spirit is God. The Bible also teaches that there is only one God. Though we can understand some facts about the relationship of the different Persons of the Trinity to one another, ultimately, it is a difficult concept to the human mind. However, this does not mean the Trinity is not true or that it is not based on the teachings of the Bible. The members of the Trinity are distinguished one from another in various passages. In the Old Testament, “LORD” is distinguished from “Lord” (Genesis 19:24; Hosea 1:4). The LORD has a Son (Psalm 2:7, 12; Proverbs 30:2-4). The Spirit is distinguished from the “LORD” (Numbers 27:18) and from “God” (Psalm 51:10-12). God the Son is distinguished from God the Father (Psalm 45:6-7; Hebrews 1:8-9). In the New Testament, Jesus speaks to the Father about sending a Helper, the Holy Spirit (John 14:16-17). This shows that Jesus did not consider Himself to be the Father or the Holy Spirit. Consider also all the other times in the Gospels where Jesus speaks to the Father.Was He speaking to Himself? No. He spoke to another person in the Trinity—the Father.Add also what happened when He was being baptised,He(the son) was acknowledged by the Father and Had the Holy Spirit descent upon Him. Rather than attempting to fully define the Trinity with human minds, we would rather focus on God's greatness and His infinitely higher nature. For just as through the disobedience of the one man the many were made sinners, so also through the obedience of the one man the many will be made righteous. Romans 5:19
Thank you all for the insight.Truly the kind of info one gets from sk (wazua) is amazing. These goes along way of showing that no other site can beat sk. Cheerz am more enlightened!And yes the trinity does exist the problem is when we use our simplistic mind to analyze God and expect to have a rational explanation for everything especially maters of faith. For example the Ja-Kom quote/tagline try explaining the logic behind that! and yet it is true One's first step in wisdom is to question everything - and one's last is to come to terms with everything
@Kadonyele I'm not misleading. Did Paul really follow Jesus?
What does Jesus say (Mathew 5:17): "Don't think I've come to oppose the laws or the prophets. But I've come to fulfill (continue) what came before me." Therefore, Jesus stood where the other messengers stood and practiced what others practiced.
I will give you another example. What did God say in Leviticus 10:8? "Do not drink wine nor strong drink, nor your sons with you... Put difference between holy and unholy, and between unclean and clean; ... teach the children of Israel all the statutes which the LORD hath spoken unto them by the hand of Moses."
Isaih 24:7 says the same. Even the music and dancing is forbidden by God during praying & worship.
Now came Paul. See how he formed a group (Acts of Apostles 11:26). Look at how he revokes what God had instructed (Timothy 1st 5:23). "From now on, don't drink water only, drink a litlle wine...". Everything that God has forbidden, Paul is opposing and allowing.
To say the Torah is old or outdated clearly is note like Jesus. Or is it?
The words of Saint Paul are held by most of Christianity in the highest regard, and this is understandable since he is the primary author of the majority of the books of the New Testament. However, no matter what role Paul played in the definition and spread of Christianity, when displaying respect for the teachings of Paul, it is necessary not to lose sight of the fact that he is in no way equal to Jesus, nor should his command be placed before the command of Jesus if we were to find them to differ from one another.
Once again I repeat that there should also be focus on repentance...anyway thank you Ja-Kom and Fundaah for the clarifications on the use of the Father, The Son and The Holy Spirit. In baptism we first repent, confess that Jesus is Lord and get baptised in the Name of The Father, Son and Holy Spirit and become disciples of Jesus Christ, otherwise known as Christians. (Ref. Acts 11.26).
Alph
I am glad that you try to derive your convictions from the Bible. I suggest you read the scriptures in context...like for Example if you read Lev 10.7-10 you will see that they were not to drink any wine before going to the tent of meeting which is the tabernacle...not totally forbidden from wine...also refer to the last supper, changing of water into wine e.t.c. Paul was a dedicated Christian who was very instrumental in the growth of the church. Ultimately he showed great obedience and dedication to the principles of Jesus Christ.JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
Paul never held himself in higher regard than Jesus. He himself said so. Read the WHOLE of 1 Corinthians 1. But in case you don't get time I have removed an excerpt from that:
1 Cor 10-17 Divisions in the Church 10I appeal to you, brothers, in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that all of you agree with one another so that there may be no divisions among you and that you may be perfectly united in mind and thought. 11My brothers, some from Chloe's household have informed me that there are quarrels among you. 12What I mean is this: One of you says, "I follow Paul"; another, "I follow Apollos"; another, "I follow Cephas[a]"; still another, "I follow Christ."
13Is Christ divided? Was Paul crucified for you? Were you baptized into[b] the name of Paul? 14I am thankful that I did not baptize any of you except Crispus and Gaius, 15so no one can say that you were baptized into my name. 16(Yes, I also baptized the household of Stephanas; beyond that, I don't remember if I baptized anyone else.) 17For Christ did not send me to baptize, but to preach the gospel—not with words of human wisdom, lest the cross of Christ be emptied of its power.JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
@Akowally,hapo sasa! Thats a good insight into this issue. @AlpDoti,…..i see you ascribe to‘pauline Christianity’-a term applied to what some perceive as the religious teaching unique to Paul’s writings and distinct from the gospel of Jesus. That is, Jesus taught one thing, and Paul taught something completely different. That the Christianity of today has little to do with Jesus’ teachings; rather, it is the product of Paul’s corruption of those teachings. I believe that the New Testament is a unified whole: the Gospels present the life and work of the Jesus the Messiah; the Epistles explain the meaning and scope of Jesus’ work and apply it to daily living. For example, Matthew 28 narrates the fact of Jesus’ resurrection, and 1 Corinthians 15 explains the significance of His resurrection. Mark 15:38 tells of the temple veil being torn in two when Jesus died; Hebrews 10:11-23 reveals the import of that event. The same Holy Spirit who inspired the Gospels also inspired the Epistles to give us a fuller understanding of God’s plan of salvation….So why the digration from what is inspired by the Holy Spirit? However, those who theorize about a separate pauline Christianity tend to believe that Paul was a charlatan, an evangelical copycat who succeeded in twisting Jesus’ message of love into something Jesus himself would never recognize. It was Paul, not Jesus, who originated the “Christianity” of today.That……. 1) Jesus was not divine. He never claimed to be God, and he never intended to start a new religion. 2) The Bible is not an inspired book and is riddled with contradictions. None of the Bible, (save possibly the book of James), was written by anyone who knew Jesus. There are fragments of Jesus’ teachings in the Gospels, but it is difficult to discern what he really said. 3) Paul was never a Pharisee and was not highly educated. His “conversion” was either a personal dream experience or an outright fraud. His claims to be an apostle were attempts to further his own authority in the church. 4) Pauline theological “inventions” include a) the deity of Jesus; b) salvation by grace through faith; c) salvation through the blood of Jesus; d) the sinless nature of Jesus; e) the concept of original sin; and f) the Holy Spirit. None of these “new doctrines” were accepted by Jesus’ true followers. 5) The Gnostic Gospels- (part of The New Testament apocrypha…. a number of writings by early Christians that give accounts of Jesus and his teachings, the nature of God, or the teachings of his apostles and of their lives) are closer to the truth about Jesus than are the traditional four Gospels of the Bible. The concept of “Pauline Christianity” represents an outright attack on the Bible as the Word of God. Adherents of the “Pauline Christianity” theory are truly misrepresenting Jesus’ teachings. They choose to believe His words on love but deny His teachings on judgment (such as Matthew 24). They insist on a human Jesus, denying His divinity, although Jesus plainly taught His equality with God in passages such as John 10:30. They want a “loving” Jesus without having to accept Him as Lord and Savior. Paul’s apostleship is attested by amongst other things,the testimony of the other apostles. Peter, far from being Paul’s enemy, wrote this about him: “Our dear brother Paul also wrote you with the wisdom that God gave him. He writes the same way in all his letters, speaking in them of these matters. His letters contain some things that are hard to understand, which ignorant and unstable people distort, as they do the other Scriptures, to their own destruction” (2 Peter 3:15-16).Paul in no way taught anything outside what the Lord Jesus Himself taught. For just as through the disobedience of the one man the many were made sinners, so also through the obedience of the one man the many will be made righteous. Romans 5:19
Deep stuff!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
@Mburuke,naona umesoma that one verse that really drives my Christian Life,its my personal verse. By sending Jesus to earth, God fulfilled His promise of a Savior from sin. Unlike us, Jesus never sinned. Thus, God sacrificed Jesus as our perfect Substitute. He took the punishment we deserve for sin: death. “God made Him [Jesus], who knew no sin, to be sin for us that we might become the righteousness of God in Him” (2 Corinthians 5:21). Thus, Jesus was more than a Prophet. God made Him Savior and Lord! (See Philippians 2:6-11.) Jesus had to die because we cannot reach paradise on our own merit. Remember, the holy God cannot let sin go unpunished. If we bore our own sins, we would suffer judgment in the flames of hell. Praise God, He kept His promise to send and sacrifice the Substitute (Jesus) who bore the sins of those who trust in Him. Going to ma signature,……just as through one man [Adam] sin entered into the world, and death through sin, and so death spread to all men, because all sinned. . . . So then as through one transgression there resulted condemnation to all men, even so through one act of righteousness there resulted justification of life to all men. For as through the one man's disobedience the many were made sinners, even so through the obedience of the One the many will be made righteous. The Law came in so that the transgression would increase; but where sin increased, grace abounded all the more, so that, as sin reigned in death, even so grace would reign through righteousness to eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord” This is where you say a Big Amen ! For just as through the disobedience of the one man the many were made sinners, so also through the obedience of the one man the many will be made righteous. Romans 5:19
Rank: New-farer Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 23 Location: Nairobi
I see that there is a bit of an issue here, where people try to discredit some parts of scripture so as to suit their own doctrine.
Some references: 2 Pet 1:20-21 Above all, you must understand that no prophecy of Scripture came about by the prophet's own interpretation. For prophecy never had its origin in the will of man, but men spoke from God as they were carried along by the Holy Spirit.
Rev 21:18-19 18 I testify to everyone who hears the words of the prophecy of this book: if anyone adds to them, God will add to him the plagues which are written in this book;
19 and if anyone takes away from the words of the book of this prophecy, God will take away his part from the tree of life and from the holy city, which are written in this book.
Therefore it's my submissions that if you believe that Paul's writings are not scriptural, it would be either because you dont like what they do for your doctrine, or because Paul's writings confirm that 2 Tim 3.16 is false.
We have many cults now masquarading as Christian churches that have founders who have seen "visions" that have changed the course of Christian faith. How do we know that the apparitions you have seen are the legit thing? These are the same people who question Paul's legitimacy.
Rank: Member Joined: 12/7/2009 Posts: 320 Location: nairobi
My child cannot be baptised in Church because we never wedded.
Culture
The Name of Jesus Christ