wazua Thu, Jan 2, 2025

SK-to-Wazua... a case of "New Coke" fiasco
#1 Posted : Tuesday, December 01, 2009 4:40:07 AM

Mid 1980s....Coca Cola Company did extensive research on taste preference and eventually settled on new formula.

When they introduced it as a replacement for the old one, the public rejected it big-time. Sales dropped by 70%. Some guys formed some Coca Cola lovers club and sued the company for changing the formula without notice!!!

Few months later, Coca Cola threw in the towel and returned the old formula under the brand name "Classic Coke".

Could this happen to Wazua? SKerians are not and cannot be "Wazurians" or whatever.

Djagame
#2 Posted : Tuesday, December 01, 2009 5:10:43 AM

@ Wazua

Methinks you will need to trim this thing down kidogo after going through it there seems to be too much happening.

Can you put up a vote section for Wazualendo to poll on what works and what doesn't
"We do not inherit the earth from our ancestors, we borrow it from our children" Native American Proverb
veteran
#3 Posted : Tuesday, December 01, 2009 5:51:20 AM

...stocks kenya was a community site ...how do u make changes that are contrary to the community ... even after asking for our suggestions this is what you got us? if it was to increase ad space by having hundred of pages ... i'd rather pay something small for bandwidth...e.g wikipedia has no ads but still runs through the support of the community, if only i had resources ... i would copy and paste the old stockskenya and we judge wazua and old stockskenya from traffic data ... someone please tell this guys even big companies like facebook, google, donot make such drastic changes ... our opinions matter guys ...
veteran
#4 Posted : Tuesday, December 01, 2009 5:52:18 AM

...and what's with the rating ... will pple listen to newbie or will they believe veteran ... i wouldn't would u?
#5 Posted : Tuesday, December 01, 2009 6:17:24 AM

I love change, and am usually a proponent of it in most situations.

But this Wazua, I dont know, its hard to navigate, I cant read latest threads at a glance...its lost its charm.

I suppsoe we may get used to it, or just migrate elsewhere...
#6 Posted : Tuesday, December 01, 2009 6:21:59 AM

Wazua wauza SK
A New Kenya
brav
#7 Posted : Tuesday, December 01, 2009 6:48:00 AM

I think things to consider before you change your web design are namely:

1. Consider the Impact of a new Web design: I believe in simple solution to complex problem aka scenarios.

2. Don’t change the website URL’s You can even Google that.

3.Don’t Make Changes Just For Change

Being a SKerian brought some pride, it was a lifestyle.
brav
#8 Posted : Tuesday, December 01, 2009 6:50:18 AM

okay i got it if wazua is here to stay then skerian is to stockskenya wazuzu is for wazua
Seles83
#9 Posted : Tuesday, December 01, 2009 7:04:54 AM

SK to Wazua is drastic change i agree, but guys remember we cant hold on to the past forever, personally i like wazua coz of so many options it does have. But they need to optimise the forum section make all options to be available at a glance.As with changes comes adaptations and modifications. Guys i suggest that we give all proposals that will help make wazua better for us...

Kudos Sk Team, sorry Wazua team...the real job now begins..optimising..like now i can continue typing because my space is kwisha and i can't scroll down...help me i cant see what i am typing...may be i shud say it is a typo ERROR...thanks.

Upon editing my text i now a bigger space...
More monies, more problems...
Litro
#10 Posted : Tuesday, December 01, 2009 7:48:36 AM

Now i know and believe that you dont know waht you got untill you lose it. Some of us were peepers in SK, didnt take our time to contribute but we were stakeholders in another way. I register my disappointment.
Starlight
#11 Posted : Tuesday, December 01, 2009 8:26:45 AM

Sad Some of us had to register afresh! Struggled with the password the whole day, lol!
Kamaa
#12 Posted : Tuesday, December 01, 2009 9:00:01 AM

ati veteran ni newbie..

When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
mdosi
#13 Posted : Tuesday, December 01, 2009 9:00:29 AM

First, i've been on stockskenya from feb 2007 and my not having tonnes of posts do not warrant my ranking as a newbie. I logged on stockskenya on a daily basis and i am sure though i didn't blog much, i surely did create traffic for you guys.

Second, i don't like this name wazua irrespective of its supposedly indigenous meaning and all. We asked for improvement not complete change over. What are we now? Wazurians, wazuarians, what??

Third, my watch list is all messed up. It indicates stocks i don't have, wrong acquisition dates, wrong prices, wrong everything. Whats happening?

Generally, my experience so far has not been the best. I do not resist change but your change was not systematic and it seems our suggestions didn't matter.
It's amazing what you can achieve when you get rid of fear.
Waria
#14 Posted : Tuesday, December 01, 2009 9:55:13 AM

First of all i could not sign on on OPERA, wasted half a day to figure that out, then on mozilla i still couldnt log in coz my passwords too short. Finally i made it but i can still see numerous peepers. If wazua was KQ, or Safcom.......But since you are more like KPLC..then its grin and bear with it.

That said, since i discovered sk in 2006 i have been hooked and lets just say youve just unplugged me from the MATRIX, where the reality was all illusory, this site will get a lot of getting used to since its impersonal and not even stock friendly. You should have stuck to your core biz of stocks and not tried to ape Haiya/mashada...bear or no bear
Tycoon!
#15 Posted : Tuesday, December 01, 2009 10:29:13 AM

now seriously this passowrd thing...
while i am not against change it will take time to get used to.
lets see mayb this new look is good. However the name stockskenya shud remain...
seriously please remove this member ranking thing...some equality wudnt hurt at all
mburuke
#16 Posted : Tuesday, December 01, 2009 11:33:25 AM

like most members this wazua thing is yet to jazz to me. I wish admin could realise how checking for recent post or replies is becoming a hustle unlike in sk.
Plus my watch list ...... it has disapeared aiko and the portifolio that wazua imenipea in bure kabisa, Shame on you i dont know where they have taken my share aaaaaaaigh. leteni mali yangu.
One's first step in wisdom is to question everything - and one's last is to come to terms with everything
Ja-Kom
#17 Posted : Tuesday, December 01, 2009 11:37:56 AM

ROFL,@Brav,sasa nikikuuliza kama wewe ni memba,ntauliza ati"wewe ni zuzu?" ama?
For just as through the disobedience of the one man the many were made sinners, so also through the obedience of the one man the many will be made righteous. Romans 5:19
#18 Posted : Wednesday, December 02, 2009 12:29:59 AM

That Coca-Cola story... Actually the firm has introduced 'sweeter' coke but just didn't change the name to 'New Coke' the 2nd time around...

Wazua will dominate in substance - far more superior - even if we revert to the 'old' name...

I for one prefer the new Wazua...
Tokyo
#19 Posted : Wednesday, December 02, 2009 1:32:33 AM

The New idea great.But forum at a glance.no to categolies.
Should have retained the name SK. green colour.
work to prosper
Karzai
#20 Posted : Wednesday, December 02, 2009 4:26:35 AM

@wazua, seriously, even glancing at the site is migraine-inducing. My eyes are just dancing this way, that way, like i'm in a Samburu wilderness. The old SK or I'm outta here