wazua Sat, Dec 28, 2024

Matiba sells 2m Carbacid Shares to Centum
Pretty
#1 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 9:02:00 AM

v You may have missed the advert in Wed May 13,09 Daily Nation.

v It said 'Notice is here by given that Alliance Nominees Ltd and Centum have applied to the CMA for approval of a transfer of 2,561,481 ordinary shares in Carbacid pursuant to section 31 of the Capital Markets Act. Over 3000 of my Carbacid shares are still suspended.

v Do I gain now or we are doomed.

v Will the merger with Boc be fast tracked? Tell me guyz!

Stay young,keep your wheels in motion.
>>>>>>
A thing of beauty is a joy for ever:
Its loveliness increases;
It will never pass into nothingness;
But still will keep a bower quiet for us,
and a sleep full of sweet dreams,
and health, and quiet breathing. - Keats

>>>>>>>In life,there are three classes of people,
1. Those who make things happen,
2. Those who watch things happen
3. And those who ask what happened.

Where do you fall?
Lyanne
#2 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 9:32:00 AM

@ Pretty,i was told that the reason the merger was tied is that the Matiba's were not going to approve the transaction since they are the majority holders with Maina Wanjigi and some Wahindi's.

I hope this will catalyse the meger to enable some of us unlock our value,though i dont think i will sell immediately.

@ Mainat,what is your recommendation on this one ?

The Hedonist
Pretty
#3 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 10:35:00 AM

@ Lyanne.

It seems MainaT is out pursuing a tender with some big company. Ati he refused to add 20% for a tender to KQ,is this man telling the truth?

Stay young,keep your wheels in motion.
>>>>>>
A thing of beauty is a joy for ever:
Its loveliness increases;
It will never pass into nothingness;
But still will keep a bower quiet for us,
and a sleep full of sweet dreams,
and health, and quiet breathing. - Keats

>>>>>>>In life,there are three classes of people,
1. Those who make things happen,
2. Those who watch things happen
3. And those who ask what happened.

Where do you fall?
Eddiemundu
#4 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 10:41:00 AM

@ Concerned Investor

You can Downgrade your Carbacid Investment so as to reflect at Least 6% Annual Return on yyour Initial Investment from Dividends coz Capital Gains are currently Naught..Why because this saga can Take 40 Yrs to settle and by then yu will be long gone..Matiba knows what such Cases mean coz he has been into such Contests in Land Deals etc.

Alternatively,Get a Private Buyer and do a Private Transfer the way Matiba has sold to Centum..In the meantime,Buy more Centum instead and yu will still enjoy some Goodness from Carbacid indirectly.

M'c Kende Siafu !
Chaka
#5 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 10:44:00 AM

@eddy,

Was the 20% a bribe?
Mainat
#6 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2009 11:11:00 AM

Two positives is my take assuming CMA approves Matiba's application:

Maina Wanjigi says the deal no longer has the rationale it had when BOC applied. In layman terms,I think the Carbacid Board will tell BoC to go back to their office and either re-submit a new deal or let it go. So CMA will have no choice but to bring the two counters back into NSE circulation. Timeline-next 12 months.
Even if BOC insists on the deal (and has some support from some of the big shareholders),an OTC can be opened for private investors to exit their positions.

Price-wise,just increase the price by a multiple equivalent to % growth in PAT since the suspension.

@pretty-I think you've got me confused with somebody else re KQ.

www.mjengakenya.blogspot.com
Sehemu ndio nyumba
jammo
#7 Posted : Friday, May 15, 2009 7:40:00 AM

...at what price per share is the transfer?

BOC will probably have to make a new offer to buy..variables affecting the industry and business are so different now.

With very few shares.. 11.3million to be precise...lift of the suspension implies a demand of the carbacid share that way way way outweighs supply..
Bytheway..r carbacid shares immobilized?
Dash for price to catch up with value is likely to be swift..plus institutions must be looking for ways to get the stock. 11.3million shares are too freakin few!!
Dilution is more than likely..split share or do a bonus issue in lieu of dividend pay out!
I'm thinking...no way greed is goin to be kept off this one.
Centum wameangukia but the probable benefits r likely to be weighed down by negatives on centum's other investments
. This news might be fun!

DISCLAIMER: This is the opinion of one Jammo,CFA,CPA,Opinionated and Loud,based in nairobi. Whilst care has been taken in compiling the data to be as most factual n logical,he doesn't accept any responsibility of accuracy or completeness of info contained herein..neither does he purport to be a genius!
#8 Posted : Friday, May 15, 2009 5:06:00 PM

@lyanne,it's mukiha who was following the KQ bribe-laced deal.
jammo
#9 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 5:44:00 AM

Increased attention on centum..on perception that benefits probably accruing to centum upon lift of carbacid's suspension on NSE in terms of unlockin value will 'somehow' trickle down to centum's shareholder..is abit misplaced.

It would be wise to kno what percentage the carbacid stake is in relation to entire centum investment portfolio....becoz at the end of the day..you hold a centum share..not carbacid.

DISCLAIMER: This is the opinion of one Jammo,CFA,CPA,Opinionated and Loud,based in nairobi. Whilst care has been taken in compiling the data to be as most factual n logical,he doesn't accept any responsibility of accuracy or completeness of info contained herein..neither does he purport to be a genius!
slykat
#10 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 6:08:00 AM

@Jammo
Welcome back. Most of the time ur judgment is savvy. That is why am wondering whether u r the one who has penned this meaningless statement. Have some coffee bwana. Asi.

Obviously an investment company is judged on the investments it makes! Or were u were trying to say 2.5m shares is insignificant relative to the overall invs by centum? If so,haba na haba hujaza kibaba... a few more deals like that and... I guess thats why mworia is looking for 2b in 2 months. there must be another deal coming soon.

When buying shares,ask yourself,would you buy the whole company?
jammo
#11 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 6:15:00 AM

@slykat... True..but is carbacid deal enough to offset the dwindlin fortunes of centum..? What alternatives r u foregoin by buyin into centum?..as far as investment practices goes..growth investors go for a counter whose year on year earnings grow on average by 15% over immediate past 3 years.. One deal is not enough. But hey! It's just me.

The General
#12 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 6:19:00 AM

@jammo,i greatly agree with you,Centum wameangukia big time...But some of their other investments..

The thicker the thigh the sweeter the pie.
slykat
#13 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 6:23:00 AM

Well I cant explain why others are buying - for sure. But I guess its got more to do with confidence in their new CEOs outlined strategy of investing aggresively in undervalued companies during the slump to reap seriously during the recovery,than it has to do with carbacid. The latter seems to be like the beginning of his strategy. This is long-term jammo; the deal is yet to be approved by cma + no one knows how long twill b b4 the value of the shares can be realized owing to the freeze.

Look at it this way,if am not a savvy investor myself or may not benefit from asymetrical info or that am not good at trading,i might as well bank a little in mworia who is showing he can find bargains. all with a longer-term view. of course it can go wrong,like with rvr
Mainat
#14 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 7:25:00 AM

Its a good deal for Centum as it now holds 20% of Carbacid. Off course,one deal can't undo some of the mess that P Mwangi left behind like RVR and some dodgy NSE holdings.

www.mjengakenya.blogspot.com
Sehemu ndio nyumba
jammo
#15 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 7:46:00 AM

@slykat...the only certain thing about an uncertain future is uncertainty. Centum is one of the biggest casualties of the market slump!...talk of buyin undervalued stocks now isn't goin to translate to growth but 'indemnifyin' it's financials. Eg.

If u own a stake of cables bought at 43.... that u still r holdin...does buyin more now at 21 become a bargain? How much cash do u think u'l need to spend on cables now breakeven on entire stake of cables?..such that should market stagnate throughout reportin period u atleast report a breakeven? ...if instead they sat out..and cables went back up to 43..current buyers..who never hav bought in will be reportin over 100% return..yet buyers of 43 hav just got back to 0%return!!

Centum is bankin on a future that we all kno is uncertain.!!

slykat
#16 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 8:11:00 AM

@ Jammo ; progression is a certainty (hehehe,except in Kenyan tribal politics)

U forget that some will be buying first time now when generally prices r 40-60% down having cashed in during the boom. Centum is near 60% down in a yr,if u bought now u r sawa. the universal law of progress presupposes that either the mkt will regress or progress - but it cannot stagnate. the stocks that have not dropped like equity can still do a free fall but their way up is likely flatter. In sum,over time the universe progresses. Thats what we bank on. There will be a few victims that regress to their primive beginning or to extinction eg. northern rock,lehman bros etc. But thats a chance investors take. I will say those buying centum now will be very content in 3-5 yrs time or counting their losses. If the latter,then everybody else at NSE will probably be counting losses.

#17 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 8:15:00 AM

@jammo,look at it ths way,centum's holdings slumped in value,but so did centum's share price,albeit by a bigger margin from highs of 30s to just 10bob. Cant see the reason to avoid the counter.

Murenj's lover!
#18 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 8:24:00 AM

@jammo,look at it ths way,centum's holdings slumped in value,but so did centum's share price,albeit by a bigger margin from highs of 30s to just 10bob. Cant see the reason to avoid the counter.

Murenj's lover!
slykat
#19 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 8:26:00 AM

@Jammo - just re-read ur post. must say u r an incurable trader. Just remember not all of us can do that.

Lyanne
#20 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 8:37:00 AM

@ Jammo,i must salute you on your knowledge of stocks,but on your latest post i beg to differ. If one bought KCB at Ksh 30 say mid-last year,does that mean that if i bought more KCB at Ksh 15 i wont be acquiring at half my previous buying price.

In addittion,if KCB was to creep slowly to Ksh 25,dont you think i will have a gain than not buying during the slump?

The Hedonist