wazua Mon, Apr 27, 2026

33m facelift to pm's homes
#1 Posted : Tuesday, July 14, 2009 6:43:00 PM

eti this will go towards improving facilities so that he can receive state guests. why are we the taxpayers paying for somene's personal expenses? apparently this does not include the cost of food for the guests. unbelievable. in the same breath,the PM supports Obama in chastising bad leaders.

kishindo
#2 Posted : Tuesday, July 14, 2009 7:00:00 PM

absolute nonesense and yet IDP's are till in camps and kibera in continous sprawl....
true colours are now emerging...

less is more for Architects only!!
Less is more....for Architects only!!
itz
#3 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2009 12:41:00 AM

I am suprised that the sk community is not outraged by this story.
Mr.Tea
#4 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2009 4:35:00 AM

Unfortunately,most have become cynical and jaded thanks to a never changing environment.But to add a voice-Its morally reprehensible even to think about.

Patience Pays in Guaranteed Checks
Patience Pays In Guaranteed Checks.
#5 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2009 4:39:00 AM

SK is a group of people who look at things from an intelligent point of view. What is 33million? To me that's so little for a premier's housing. Compare it with the typing error or the devani deal or uchumi recovery plan or ... The media just wants to irritate the commö mwananchi who is strugling to make ends meet.

A likely impossibility is always preferable to an unconvincing posibility.
brightstar
#6 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2009 5:32:00 AM

At the end of the day the rich get richer and the poor get poorer even the Bible says so. So if the PM feels sufficiently philanthropic and decides to forego the renovations,the 33M can be used to construct 330 mabati hses each at 100K and accomodate 3300 people at 10 IDPs per hse. But lets keep dreaming!
#7 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2009 5:34:00 AM

Folks like @sober are justifying the 33mn. Ati,it is peanuts when compared to other scams. Well,who said we like the other scams? A small leak will destroy the dam. And after 'change orders' the 33mn will balloon into 300mn. And Kenyans are building that msaliti (kaloser) a 1,000,000,000 house?

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
mali ya nguvu
#8 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2009 5:43:00 AM

@ VVS

stop pulling our legs....where did you get the info that we are building 1b house for Kalonzo?

The only official reports available is the stalled project was for Kenya's VP and not Kalonzo's and it actually started in Kib's first term @ a projected cost of 200m.....

If your facts are okay....in my next life i want to be Kenyan VP.

Peace to all men of Goodwill
zamali
#9 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2009 5:49:00 AM

@ Mali ya Nguvu,you dont get what VVS is trying to point out...

33M premier's renovation may baloon to 300M...

VP's projected 200M residence may 'spiral' to 1B on completion

Zama za Kengen IPO.... zama za mali
mtaalam
#10 Posted : Wednesday, July 15, 2009 6:13:00 AM

Was it factored in in the budget?
I honestly see nothing wrong with it I'm sure a lot more has been spend in the former president homes plus hotels take advantage and make a killing from these simple functions/meetings.

Speaking of homes,what's cutting with that palace we were constructing for our VP?

ili iwe funzo...