wazua Fri, Jan 3, 2025

Kenya's economy creating more wealth
MugundaMan
#1 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2018 3:00:58 PM

https://mobile.nation.co...91234-bri96f/index.html

But why is it 'puzzling'to this journalist. That's what economies growing at 5%+ for the past 16 years do 😎
#2 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2018 3:51:46 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
https://mobile.nation.co.ke/news/More-Kenyans-get-super-rich/1950946-4791234-bri96f/index.html

But why is it 'puzzling'to this journalist. That's what economies growing at 5%+ for the past 16 years do 😎

Kindly move this to the jokes section.
MugundaMan
#3 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2018 4:13:15 PM

Kindly move this to the jokes section.

Why? Because you hate economic growth?
#4 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2018 4:15:13 PM

Shots fired.

Things are about to get hot in here.
radiomast
#5 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2018 4:27:15 PM

That article is true but its not good news for Kenya. I took 5 points out of it:

1. Politicians are the biggest beneficiaries of our flawed system. Aside from massive salaries, they can also loot public coffers then when accused, they will simply remind their people that the other tribe is the real enemy.

2. Politically connected people aka tenderprenaurs benefit by getting massive government contracts. They are the fastest growing group of billionaires. Some are here on wazua actively defending their patrons.

3. Real estate billionaires are old money types who were given valuable tracts of land in and around big towns. Or were able to simply grab this land.

4. Politically connected people can grab land even from primary schools that have no way to defend themselves against political power.

5. The vast income inequality gap is a driver for crime. When the top people are stealing, then common thugs have no qualms about carjacking, robbing and maiming.

Here are some key points from the article:

Investment analyst Aly-Khan Satchu said Kenya’s economic performance in recent years only points to the fact that its list of the newly super-rich is likely to be dominated by politicians and the few investors in fast-growing fields such as ICT.

β€œWhat these reports tell me is, first that there has been a massive skew of wealth accumulation in favour of those at the top of the pyramid, a reverse Robin Hood as it were,” he said, adding that politically exposed persons, investors in ICT and PEs, fintech as well as growth in monopolistic businesses explain the outcome.

β€œReal estate in particular stands out as a sector that has given handsome returns to anyone who had large cache of land in cities like Nairobi,” he said.

β€œA clear trend emerging from this report is also the sad reality of increasing gap between those who have it all and those who have nothing. Income inequality in Kenya is surely worsening as is evident in our Gini co-efficient, which currently stands at 48.5 per cent ( a Gini index of zero means perfect equality) and has been worsening in last 15 years or so.”
MugundaMan
#6 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2018 5:28:02 PM

radiomast wrote:

3. Real estate billionaires are old money types who were given valuable tracts of land in and around big towns. Or were able to simply grab this land.

Did you read this part of the article?

Realtor Knight Frank has, for instance, published a report showing that Kenya created 180 new dollar millionaires in 2017, increasing the number of persons with net-worths of more than Sh500 million to 1,290.

Knight Frank said that out of the 1,290 dollar millionaires, less than 10 had a net-worth of over Sh50 billion, while 90 were worth Sh5 billion and above.

Insights:

1. A meagre 100 of dollar millionaires in Kenya are worth more than 5 billion. My guess is half are political dynasty types we all know who may fit your category, the other half are the Manu Chandarias, the Kirubis and the like.

2. To be a dollar millionaire in Kenya means you only have to own about 100 million kshs in assets. A house in Lavington alone will do the trick twice over. Or a few apartments in Kilimani. Or a few maisonettes in dustbowl. Are you saying all those with such assets are politican looters or tenderpreneurs? Of course not. You build one high rise apartment complex on your plot after decades of sweat and you are easily in the 500m category. Does that make you a looter-politician too?

3. Majuu Kenyans and majuu returnees aplenty own assets sweated over for many years that can comfortably put them in category number 2 above. Are they also looter-politicians? Aly-khan Satchu himself is in that category. He minted big in London and came back with it. Strange he thinks these millionaires are looters yet does not see the irony that he too is a dollar millionaire who made his money cleanly (we hope!) and is thus part of the growing list that Kenya's red hot economy is churning out - or attracting from abroad - each passing year.

The huge increase by the way is NOT the top 100 group. Those top 100 guys are old money and have been on that list for decades. It is the NEW 180 dollar millionaires created in 2017 that one should pay close attention to.

Again I repeat, with an economy growing at 5%+ it is INEVITABLE that new wealth will be created; legitimately and legally. Think of someone owning a small business whose income is growing at 5% per year for 16 years. There is no way they will stay poor unless they are blowing all their money on useless things.

The funniest of funnies: those always complaining that the "economy is tough" and that only "looters" are moving ahead...when you offer them opportunity to buy a ka plot here and a ka plot there so that they can join in the wealth creating game..they cry you are a conman Laughing out loudly and mark time gnashing teeth bitterly in the same spot.

Ya Kiinya kweli si chache!
#7 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2018 6:37:32 PM

.... and right there lies the sick joke.....

... an economy capable of creating tens of dollar millionaires among tens of millions of kenians languishing in abject poverty...
#8 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2018 6:44:43 PM

aemathenge wrote:

... an economy capable of creating tens of dollar millionaires among tens of millions of kenians languishing in abject poverty...

The economy didn't create the so called honchos.. Most simply pilfered our own sweat. You shelve out PAYE each month, then someone becomes Governor and uses the tax to build personal flats and office complexes. Kenyans aren't serious people. We let people get away with way too much

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
MugundaMan
#9 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2018 7:07:18 PM

aemathenge wrote:

But who says the lower economic rungs are not benefitting from the growth, my broda Laughing out loudly

https://af.reuters.com/a...ews/idAFKBN1GZ0TK-OZATP

Or would you rather jail all the millionaires so that everybody can be "equal" and the economy can drop down into airtight and permanent abject poverty for everybody? Do not forget that this middle to upperclass is the real engine of the economy that are creating the jobs for the average mwananchi and pulling them out of poverty.
radiomast
#10 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2018 7:15:12 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
radiomast wrote:

Realtor Knight Frank has, for instance, published a report showing that Kenya created 180 new dollar millionaires in 2017, increasing the number of persons with net-worths of more than Sh500 million to 1,290.

Knight Frank said that out of the 1,290 dollar millionaires, less than 10 had a net-worth of over Sh50 billion, while 90 were worth Sh5 billion and above.

How does this negate anything I said?
#11 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2018 7:18:19 PM

radiomast wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:
radiomast wrote:

Kidero & William must be on the above 50B

MugundaMan
#12 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2018 7:25:12 PM

radiomast wrote:

There are a few real estate billionaires who are NOT old money types and did not grab vast tracts of lands. I posted one story of the kamzee prof who bought hundreds of acres of barren land in Western that is now worth over a billion. He is by no means corrupt nor an old money type who stole vast tracts of land as far as we know.
#13 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2018 9:06:17 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
But who says the lower economic rungs are not benefitting from the growth, my broda Laughing out loudly

I DO.

I live among them here in the pishori rice fields of Mwea.

It is so bad that when our Women Representative Member of Parliament dishes out plastic "shoes" to school going children in public primary schools, she is viewed as a goddess.

So spare me the nauseatingly condescending attitude and smug smirk.
#14 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2018 9:20:28 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
Or would you rather jail all the millionaires so that everybody can be "equal" and the economy can drop down into airtight and permanent abject poverty for everybody?

Another irritatingly condescending and smug remark.

I acknowledge that we live in a "capitalistic" society and not a communist or socialist state.

The current and immediate occupants on the House on the Hill have a background in Public Economics from prominent alma maters.

As such, this economy fails miserably when it fails to uplift every citizen equally.

Let the multi-millionaire become a billionaire. Let the millionaire become a multi-millionaire, and may those in the middle income ascend into the upper-middle-income range.

Conversely, let the poor join the middle income, et al.

His Excellency Kibutha Kibwana and his mango factory come to mind.

In a nutshell, The Title "Kenya's Economy Creating More Wealth" is an obscene insult to the many languashing in abject poverty while mere speculation on land makes a few billionaires.

I rest.
jamplu
#15 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2018 9:38:14 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
https://mobile.nation.co.ke/news/More-Kenyans-get-super-rich/1950946-4791234-bri96f/index.html

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Joke of the century. Mugundaman seems you in business with them.
Mike Ock
#16 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2018 9:39:04 PM

@MugundaMan I hope you are talking recklessly while you are part of the "connected economy." Kama wewe ni hustler hapa just being a psychofant, I feel sorry for you
MugundaMan
#17 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2018 10:08:25 PM

aemathenge wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:

I DO.

I live among them here in the pishori rice fields of Mwea.

It is so bad that when our Women Representative Member of Parliament dishes out plastic "shoes" to school going children in public primary schools, she is viewed as a goddess.

So spare me the nauseatingly condescending attitude and smug smirk.

Speak for yourself my broda! The statistics are quite clear:

https://borgenproject.or...verty-decline-in-kenya/

If you are lazy there in the rice fields of Mwea hating money, crying sirikari saidia from dusk to dawn and refusing to invest in something within your price range shauri yako! Do not blame anyone but yourself for your woes.
MugundaMan
#18 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2018 10:11:03 PM

Mike Ock wrote:
@MugundaMan I hope you are talking recklessly while you are part of the "connected economy." Kama wewe ni hustler hapa just being a psychofant, I feel sorry for you

I am busy taking advantage of the vast opportunities in our red hot economy, baba. These opportunities are available to anyone who is not lazy, is willing to work hard and invest wisely. Not sitting idly in Mwea while my rice rots on the field then blame serikali for my poverty jameni. So many farmers have pulled themselves out of poverty farming rice!
MugundaMan
#19 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2018 10:13:43 PM

jamplu wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Joke of the century. Mugundaman seems you in business with them.

Economic growth is not a joke at all my broda Laughing out loudly
Corruption is bad and we all condemn it, but on a personal level, I have never worked for gava nor benefitted from a single tender my whole life. So it amuses me royally when those who have worked hard to achieve a modest level of success in Kenya are broad brushed as " corrupt/looter/politican crooks!" yet I have not seen a coin of NYS or Goldenberg money since I was born! The opportunities a growing economy provided are what have been my meal ticket.
#20 Posted : Thursday, October 04, 2018 10:43:10 PM

MugundaMan wrote:
jamplu wrote:
MugundaMan wrote:

Economic growth is not a joke at all my broda Laughing out loudly
Corruption is bad and we all condemn it, but on a personal level, I have never worked for gava nor benefitted from a single tender my whole life. So it amuses me royally when those who have worked hard to achieve a modest level of success in Kenya are broad brushed as " corrupt/looter/politican crooks!" yet I have not seen a coin of NYS or Goldenberg money since I was born! The opportunities a growing economy provided are what have been my meal ticket.

We are not talking about middle class socialites.. Here we are referring to people like this guy https://www.businessdail...791814-bsx341/index.html