SME
Ideas
Heavy commercial transport
Looking to offer transport services especially on contractual basis using my 2 Mercedes Benz Actros trucks. Have been doing the Mombasa to Kampala trips but have proved not viable owing to the delayed payments and spread out jobs.
Any Skerian with leads here?
Biggest man you'll ever see was once a baby.
Rank: Member Joined: 9/7/2007 Posts: 168 Location: Nairobi
what is meaning of spread out jobs? kindly
the voice of reason
Hi Mkristu,
By spread-out jobs,i mean inconsistent or it takes a while before you could get another job.
Biggest man you'll ever see was once a baby.
I asked because am in transport too,but mine isnt anything compared to yours. I own a Fuso Fighter,slightly larger than a canter.
Hata mimi am faced with te same challenge of spread-out jobs. I've been looking for these contractual jobs like the ones from DHL but seems hard to get. I have now resulted to farming,hopefully it will be the core business,then the truck shall be used to deliver to the markets. When the truck is not being used by me,it will be the doing the on-off jobs for survival.
If things become too tough,i would suggest: dont quit,but redifine your business.
the voice of reason
JumpSteady - have you tried hauling goods (foodstuffs,hardware,etc) to Rumbek/Juba from Rift Valley or even starting from Kampala - I hear there is some demand for that - From Kla it is a 14 hour haul or so.
Off topic a bit,and also to Mkristo,what is the road like now,between Nakuru and Malaba (or between Nakuru and Busia). In August they had not yet opened the badly damaged section (abt 60kms) between Nakuru-Eldoret.
The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
It is a while since I went to Busia and I made serious losses on that trip,broken srings,etc. Dont know the condition of the road now,though that road was going to take a while before they fix it. It under construction that is why it is bad with too many diversions
the voice of reason
i dont know much about this sector,just wondering from an academic perspective... does one not get atleast 75% downpayment upfront
To Whom Much is Given,Much is Required
@ 1/2 empty that sounds good on paper,as on Quotations,LPOs and Invoices,but in reality it does not happen for one simple reason. Alot of business,nearly 80% is done on 100% credit terms. Competition is high and the only way to attract business is sometimes to be flexible and offer credit to clients. Of course credit is not given to every Tom,Dick and Mustafa,we also have to gauge who is the right client to offer credit to.
the voice of reason
Am in this Biz and i know how hectic it is.i've friends who have contracts with bamburi,unga ltd,EABL Etc.but they lack trucks 4 hire.if any one is interested,i can hook u up.
@Mkristo,I'm in matatu biz and would like to change to cargo transport. Kindly indicate to me how I can acquire a 'FIGHTER' incl the estimated price/cost. Ecs 11.2 Give portions to seven,yes to eight,for you do not know what disaster may come upon the land. The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
@ Litoro,thanks for the info. Please,please hook me up. If I am fortunate to get the contract with any of those,say for a lengthened period of time (say more than 3 months),I will give you 10% of my first week's earnings. i am serious,and that for me will just be to say thank you. Please write to me on kilawiki@gmail.com and we can get talking. Thanks @ jerry i know someone who is selling some,ie the one I got mine from. if you give the green light i can call him and find out from you. you can also write to me on the email address above the voice of reason
hv you tried contractual arrangements with the likes new kcc,portland cement,dhl. they are in constant need of transport services due to their growing levels of activities with matching demands for their goods. they are good in honouring their obligations,but their rates could be alittle disgusting. give a trial anyway.
mwana wa kahii
@ mkristo sorry 4 not replying to ua mail coz i was out of tao kidogo. u will find a reply in ua mail today.
do we have any other skerian with trucks,FHs,FVz etc who has spread out jobs? My buddy ako na contracts enough lakini hana trucks. i ll hook u up to him.
@jerry ill get the estmated cost of the fighter and the institution that can give u the best finance on monday.sawa
Jump Steady- i got a contract with Portland cement for transport/distributor......can i have you contacts,eager to engage for up to 3 years.
I can also supply any sk with cement on extremly competitive prices!
@ simiti,
if you had written to me on kilawiki,please check your email cos I have replied.
regards
the voice of reason
Jump Steady.... weka email.... haraka...... iko kazi..... mingi..... I'm the real maza.....shut your mouth I'm the real Massey Fergu...... Shut your mouth....
Niko na contract ya butimen(mombasa-kampala) 280k per trip. its a permanent contract and i need 2 hire at least 5 trucks.Anyone willing to do business?
Hi everyone, Been away out of town and i am just seeing some promising feedback here. My e-mail is jaketransporters@yahoo.comThanks. Biggest man you'll ever see was once a baby.
Hi good people.......... I need transport for foodstuff to mombasa once every week on a fighter or an equivalent 10T lorry. Delivery to MSA will be expected between wednesday and thursday mornings. Cargo is between 6-7T but requires a 10T capacity lorry coz of bulkness. Anyone able to offer that without fail on a weekly basis and competitively we can talk. When I have money, I get rid of it quickly, lest it find a way into my heart.
SME
Ideas
Heavy commercial transport