wazua Wed, Aug 6, 2025

Form 1 Drop Out as Your ICT Boss
#1 Posted : Friday, June 16, 2017 9:20:25 AM

Just read this story

Some Ugandan guy has worked since 1992 in various organisation's ICT depts, eventually becoming head of ICT. He was at UN,Stanchart, Siemens, Deloitte, Standard Group, Nzoia,Kenya Seed and PSC

You have to have lots of confidence to be a con

http://www.nation.co.ke/...72550-2k50otz/index.html
#2 Posted : Friday, June 16, 2017 10:14:24 AM

Obiero has overtaken Waiganjo on this one! Even Deloitte could not smoke him out.
#3 Posted : Friday, June 16, 2017 11:03:59 AM

Why arrest Obiero when the master forger Joho is enjoying our billions with impunity.
#4 Posted : Friday, June 16, 2017 11:50:32 AM

Just read this story

Some Ugandan guy has worked since 1992 in various organisation's ICT depts, eventually becoming head of ICT. He was at UN,Stanchart, Siemens, Deloitte, Standard Group, Nzoia,Kenya Seed and PSC

You have to have lots of confidence to be a con

http://www.nation.co.ke/...2550-2k50otz/index.html

That is some indepth digging.
I wonder the circumstances that led to it ...some dubious people are going to be governors soon, to be in charge of billions and yet the provenance of their qualifications we can't fathom
wazuaguest
#5 Posted : Friday, June 16, 2017 2:13:46 PM

Some jobs i would understand but ICT field which is a very technical field and then survive all those years?something doesn't add up
Africa belongs to Africans.
#6 Posted : Friday, June 16, 2017 2:15:41 PM

I can bet you will not be hearing this story in one month's time. All governments have undercover operatives in neighboring countries. Ugandans in Kenya, Kenyans in Uganda, Tanzanians in Kenya, Kenyans in Tanzania etc. It is the way governments work. Sometimes a cover is blown as in this case but it is quietly sorted out at higher levels.
#7 Posted : Friday, June 16, 2017 2:21:52 PM

I can bet you will not be hearing this story in one month's time. All governments have undercover operatives in neighboring countries. Ugandans in Kenya, Kenyans in Uganda, Tanzanians in Kenya, Kenyans in Tanzania etc. It is the way governments work. Sometimes a cover is blown as in this case but it is quietly sorted out at higher levels.

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

I had completely missed that angle and now that you have brought it up, it seems the most plausible explanation. Good thinking right there.
#8 Posted : Friday, June 16, 2017 2:26:21 PM

wazuaguest wrote:
Some jobs i would understand but ICT field which is a very technical field and then survive all those years?something doesn't add up

Actually if there is one field where academic qualifications mean nothing it is ICT. Things in ICT are ever evolving and what is more important is an ability to learn and adapt as opposed to a degree qualification.

One of the most brilliant programmers I have ever known was a guy who was unteachable after high school. He could only learn by teaching himself. There are guys at Safcom who knew him because they would contract him to complete complex projects. He now works outside the country where is very highly regarded.
#9 Posted : Friday, June 16, 2017 2:58:42 PM

wazuaguest wrote:

Actually if there is one field where academic qualifications mean nothing it is ICT. Things in ICT are ever evolving and what is more important is an ability to learn and adapt as opposed to a degree qualification.

One of the most brilliant programmers I have ever known was a guy who was unteachable after high school. He could only learn by teaching himself. There are guys at Safcom who knew him because they would contract him to complete complex projects. He now works outside the country where is very highly regarded.

Fair argument @Kusadikika. As a young man, I did come across this Nobert and he was fairly competent (plus somewhat modest). Then he disagreed with someone and was outed.

Perhaps that's why Adam Smith once opined '..a criminal is a person with predatory instincts who has not sufficient capital to form a corporation.'
Mike Ock
#10 Posted : Friday, June 16, 2017 3:24:22 PM

wazuaguest wrote:

Technical fields are the easiest to bamboozle your way past HR. His first job being at the U.N must have been what he used to appease HR managers.
suwan
#11 Posted : Friday, June 16, 2017 3:45:05 PM

he must be a genius...if not the other angle ---undercover
#12 Posted : Friday, June 16, 2017 4:22:42 PM

This goes to show that you do not need academic qualification in Kenya. It's just a requirement but they are useless papers. I wonder what that says of the quality of education in this region. The guy was not discovered because he was incompetent.

#13 Posted : Friday, June 16, 2017 4:31:29 PM

muganda wrote:
wazuaguest wrote:

Fair argument @Kusadikika. As a young man, I did come across this Nobert and he was fairly competent (plus somewhat modest). Then he disagreed with someone and was outed.

Perhaps that's why Adam Smith once opined '..a criminal is a person with predatory instincts who has not sufficient capital to form a corporation.'

Wonder where you met him, I did work with him in one of the orgs mentioned above, (different depts offcourse). He was a lazy skirt chasing guy whose best skill was manufacturing excuses for not doing his job and blaming other people, mostly service providers.
#14 Posted : Friday, June 16, 2017 5:06:39 PM

Only took a 10 minute conversation for me to realize that some so called ICT gurus are just dumb...Kumbe.

I wonder who's dumber...The ICT fella who worked for years under this fella or the HR who he actually conned...I can't see how anyone did not know that he did not know jack from jill...Eishhh...How now? The HR managers should be investigated for hongo...There's no way you could sit down with this guy and not know he's spewing poppy cock.

In my view, he should get a job as a politician not be arrested.

#15 Posted : Friday, June 16, 2017 5:28:37 PM

wazuaguest wrote:

I disagree.

Things keep advancing not entirely changing. Your degree may not be enough but certifications should do. Was this dude a certified IT developer? If not, it goes to show the hiring processes are the problem
#16 Posted : Friday, June 16, 2017 5:36:46 PM

wazuaguest wrote:

I disagree.

Things keep advancing not entirely changing. Your degree may not be enough but certifications should do. Was this dude a certified IT developer? If not, it goes to show the hiring processes are the problem

Looking at the list of the companies, can this be true? ............... asking for a friend. smile . If true then we have a big problem in this country!!!!
#17 Posted : Friday, June 16, 2017 5:44:07 PM

wazuaguest wrote:

I disagree.

I totally agree with murchr...I don't know where Kenyans got this idea that people in ICT don't have to read...

My fren, this is the only career where reading is mandatory...Don't believe those lies from wallstreet sijui fb boss and Bill gates did not read...If they don't they die.

Things change so quickly that these companies have to find new talent every day. Each and every day they are hiring and firing. Coz sio mchezo.

So anyone pretending that they know ICT and don't read are just lying to you. And if you hire them coz you were soooo excited about his code, shauri yako. I can write for you a book about the sweet words in interviews and the total calamity once you give these fellas a computer.

I have a story to tell of a very senior ICT guru in this country...Very senior. Who could not use google effectively...Man was using Bing to search for stuff and was telling us how it's the new "dark web". Didn't bother meeting the fella again...And I say very very senior guru...I'm sure he got a certificate in computer studies at computer pride or graffins college. How this fella became so senior should be something the HR department should explain. But he did say he did an MBA at a college I shall not name here.

The HR managers in real life should be in jail for gross negligence. But Kenya is not real life, is it?

#18 Posted : Friday, June 16, 2017 5:56:12 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
muganda wrote:
wazuaguest wrote:

Wonder where you met him, I did work with him in one of the orgs mentioned above, (different depts offcourse). He was a lazy skirt chasing guy whose best skill was manufacturing excuses for not doing his job and blaming other people, mostly service providers.

Laughing out loudly Shame on you @Obi 1 Kanobi, I'll give you benefit of doubt.

It was quite early in the chap's career, but only from afar, he was dabbling in IT support/admin (not rocket-science), never knew the guy personally. Heard of the saga (plus positive work review) from his co-workers when he was dismissed.

#19 Posted : Friday, June 16, 2017 6:15:43 PM

wazuaguest wrote:

I disagree.

Looking at the list of the companies, can this be true? ............... asking for a friend. smile . If true then we have a big problem in this country!!!!

You just need to say "I once worked at the UN" and quote some strange terminologies and the panel gets interested in you. If your papers "look good" your in.

In 1991/92 IT assistant at UN must have been printing papers and connecting cables as directed. The UN must have been relying on an outsourcing company so it may have taken some time to get noticed. Then at Stanchart he must have relied on interns and existing employees. Kitumbua huwa kinaingia mchanga when there's a system upgrade and you cant do nada... his jobs have been mainly support, those are easy to joyride directing juniors and running to management with their ideas.
#20 Posted : Friday, June 16, 2017 8:59:19 PM

wazuaguest wrote:

I disagree.

You just need to say "I once worked at the UN" and quote some strange terminologies and the panel gets interested in you. If your papers "look good" your in.

In 1991/92 IT assistant at UN must have been printing papers and connecting cables as directed. The UN must have been relying on an outsourcing company so it may have taken some time to get noticed. Then at Stanchart he must have relied on interns and existing employees. Kitumbua huwa kinaingia mchanga when there's a system upgrade and you cant do nada... his jobs have been mainly support, those are easy to joyride directing juniors and running to management with their ideas.

#ThosePeople #Obiero #KQ?