SME
Ideas
Possible or unrealistic?
Rank: New-farer Joined: 7/6/2016 Posts: 17 Location: Nairobi
Everyone starts somewhere right? Hello wazuans,I'm a 19 year old campus student,I'm currently running a viable farming project on leased and I would like to spread my risk on Some other doable investments. Doable in Reference of I being a student hence would venture into something that doesn't take much of my time. I have identified a bikes hiring business seeing it having boomed pretty much around campus,JKUAT juja. I'm one of the regular customers of these guys,they hire these bikes at 50/- an hour,leaving your school or national ID as assurance that you'll take the bike back. They operate from 8a.m. To 7p.m. daily meaning they are in operation for 11 hours. They hire the bikes overnight till 9a.m. from 7p.m. at 50/- only. Assuming the bikes operatess for 5 hours that day,that's 250/- per bike per day,And let's say I own 10 bikes that will cost me about 80k to purchase(must not be new) ,rent and kanji probably 20k,total 100k. With 10 bikes,that's about 2500/- a day,17500/- weekly,70k monthly. The deal I'd work with the employee,just like it in the matatu business,is a daily return of 2500/-,anything higher or less is onto him. Maintenance costs and rent,to the higher end might cost an average of 30k,40k profits On average? I plan doing it around some other campus not necessarily JKUAT. I have identified Embu/Kirinyaga/Karatina universities since I have friends around and would be easy to monitor. Visits,every weekend. Also,planning On adding more bikes with the profits. If I Start,planning on first operating the business for two weeks to know the market activity. Is this possible or does it sound unrealistic? Regards There's no WORSE enemy than a man with limited resources,he's got NOTHING to lose.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/18/2008 Posts: 3,434 Location: Kerugoya
I am impressed. Okay, I am jealous. Welcome to the Virtual Republic of Wazua. What are you studying if I may ask?
Its a new course, Bsc Innovation technology management. jealous? There's no WORSE enemy than a man with limited resources,he's got NOTHING to lose.
Yes. Of your entrepreneurial energy at such an interesting age. You are about to receive a lot of hot air and "analysis" from other citizens starting from Monday when they get to their offices. Do not be discouraged or waste time dancing with them. My only advice: Concentrate on two ventures you can manage alone, intricate book keeping and your academics. Consider no business operation as complete until each feature is entered into your books each day. Let these entries determine how your business is doing. Not your gut instinct. Entrusting anything to underlings is an invitation to losing your hard earned cash. Trust no one. No one. Also, put most of your profits into the Nairobi Securities Exchange shares. They are very cheap at the moment.
Go for it, sometimes you have to throw yourself in there to know if its possible or unrealistic. Am totally impressed with you, at 19 every coin i saved was used in a bash. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
@Karoki are you paying your own university fee? If you are, go ahead and do all kind of business that you wish. Are you being sponsored by your parents? If so just show them some respect, complete your studies then do whatever you want to afterwards. From my experience guys who take business or politics too seriously in campus end up as perpetual students or small time hustlers after campus. Life is short. Live passionately.
aemathenge wrote:Yes. Of your entrepreneurial energy at such an interesting age. You are about to receive a lot of hot air and "analysis" from other citizens starting from Monday when they get to their offices. Do not be discouraged or waste time dancing with them. My only advice: Concentrate on two ventures you can manage alone, intricate book keeping and your academics. Consider no business operation as complete until each feature is entered into your books each day. Let these entries determine how your business is doing. Not your gut instinct. Entrusting anything to underlings is an invitation to losing your hard earned cash. Trust no one. No one. Also, put most of your profits into the Nairobi Securities Exchange shares. They are very cheap at the moment. Thanks you so much for the advice,I am considering this as my second venture since the farming project rakes in cash after some few months thus the need Sth that gives cash daily or weekly. Also,on NSE,I'll sure need proper guidance on that,been following threads here on Wazua and I think I'll get there Soon. I don't pay my own school fees for now,but I pay my own rent(my parents know I Live in the school's hostels). The projects above aren't sponsored by my parents directly,my savings and also Started out with loans From friends and small partnerships with them. I am not up for white collar jobs tho I make sure that my grades are good every semester. Sadly,the old man is in HDU in Nairobi West Hosp,makes me scared and wanting to invest more. What motivates me is the thought of being independent,calling my parents every week for a small allowance is depressing. And again thanks ya'll for the kind words. There's no WORSE enemy than a man with limited resources,he's got NOTHING to lose.
interesting, my take might be the odd one here, but at 19 and in campus, don't load yourself with too much money making ventures, you only get to be young once. If you think the biashara has good chances of growing, then my take would be postpone the studies for like a year go full time into it and see how that works, but that is just me.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
My advice. Concentrate on your studies 100%. These short 4yrs can make a huge difference and determine whether you live the rest of your life as a top executive or as a "hustler". This is the time to unleash your maximum academic potential without any distractions. Do the best you can academically. And you will have all the time to engage in any business you so wish after graduation. There is a time for everything. A time to study, a time to trade.
As someone said up there, those who are always hustling in campus on side business mostly end up hustling after campo since their grades suffer.
Add Moi Uni main campus to your list.
natema2000 wrote:Add Moi Uni main campus to your list. File this one under "impressed" Not jealous, hot air or analysis.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
natema2000 wrote:Add Moi Uni main campus to your list. Jameni, when will the mwanafunzi study if you are advising him to run a business 400km away? Let him concentrate on his studies. A good education is the best investment.
aemathenge wrote:natema2000 wrote:Add Moi Uni main campus to your list. File this one under "impressed" Not jealous, hot air or analysis. Or under "stolen idea". That's on a light note. My advice to the student. Give it your all. You can't learn swimming without jumping right in. One thing though. Please please don't let your colleagues see you like that guy who only cares about money. Trust me you don't want to mess with the network of friends you made at campus. Soon you will be out of college and you can't imagine how powerful and influential some of your colleagues will become. Here is one example from me. Am visiting my hometown and I decide to drop by one of the best hotels. Who do I see seated around some ViPs ? My old buddy from college. He is a serious tenderpreneur. Wasn't sure he would recognise me but he did. After a few minutes he holds my hands and introduces me to the VIPs including my MP. I leave them and go back to my table. My MP walks over and wants my business card. Startled, I text the guy and ask him what he told my MP. He walks over, and informs me, while still laughing, that he had warned my MP, that am soo loaded, if I wanted his seat I would take it right away. Of course I can't even afford an MCA campaign. But now mhesh calls me twice per week.
True. Everyone starts somewhere. Good idea you have. I agree with Mahegoat, trust no one. Run what you can under your direct supervision. Once people learn of your idea, they will copy it in other campuses and if you are not there to supervise in your other 'branches', you will only get frustrated. Get a degree under your belt; it is always good to have an educational foundation that you can fall back on. All the best Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee. - Muhammad Ališ
hardwood wrote:My advice. Concentrate on your studies 100%. These short 4yrs can make a huge difference and determine whether you live the rest of your life as a top executive or as a "hustler". This is the time to unleash your maximum academic potential without any distractions. Do the best you can academically. And you will have all the time to engage in any business you so wish after graduation. There is a time for everything. A time to study, a time to trade.
As someone said up there, those who are always hustling in campus on side business mostly end up hustling after campo since their grades suffer. There's no WORSE enemy than a man with limited resources,he's got NOTHING to lose.
butterflyke wrote:True. Everyone starts somewhere.
Good idea you have. I agree with Mahegoat, trust no one. Run what you can under your direct supervision. Once people learn of your idea, they will copy it in other campuses and if you are not there to supervise in your other 'branches', you will only get frustrated.
Get a degree under your belt; it is always good to have an educational foundation that you can fall back on.
All the best There's no WORSE enemy than a man with limited resources,he's got NOTHING to lose.
Thanks ya'll for the good advice. On the other side,my course is more of a business course than technology as it states. All my lectures are into the idea of an entrepreneur spirit. One actually requires us to have a business running by our third year,furthermore,this is a HR course hence you'd really know how much i'll be earning after graduation versus running an own entity. Also,on distance and location,Moi is kind of very far,that's why I mentioned only Central based universities for convenience. And a question, does really everyone who hustles end up as a hustler? I have been on how I earned my first million section on wazua,and I've seen most people really started at this stage somewhere in campus. @FRM2011š
š
,quite an experience. If the area MP fears you,I think you'd do alot with that advantage. There's no WORSE enemy than a man with limited resources,he's got NOTHING to lose.
Good morning Tiger, how is business? You need three girlfriends. Correction, your business needs two girlfriends and your academics needs one too. Girlfriend 1, call her Beyoncé, will be your Business Unit One Accountant. She will also be your Business Unit Two Auditor. Girlfriend 2, call her Shakira, will be your Business Unit Two Accountant. She will also be your Business One Auditor. Both these girls will be students in your campus but both should be pursuing a bachelorās degree in commerce with accounting options. Girlfriend 3, call her Rihanna, will be a colleague student in your class. She will be a āswotā. She will make sure you study, pass your examinations, and get your degree. She will make sure you attend class, take your notes, and sit your continuous assessment tests. You will study together and keep up with her. She will be your partner in your academics. As part of your relationships, you will prepare each business unitās accounts, probably in an Excel worksheet, and give Beyoncé accounts for unit one. She will proceed to prepare these accounts in requisite formats and give them back to you. You will proceed to give this new version to Shakira and ask her to audit them and make any enhancements or corrections she deems due. Conversely, do the same for Business Unit 2 and give the raw worksheet to Shakira and her formatted worksheet to Beyoncé for auditing, corrections, and enhancements. This will go on for as long as you will be a student at your university. Your dates will consist of discussions about the respective business units and corrections the respective auditor will bring up. Whatever happens, do not let any of girls know she is auditing the otherās accounts. Pay particular and close attention when any of these girls catch feelings and start to ākį¹¹bogothaā about figures or any aspect of the accounting unit they are auditing. Their ākį¹¹bogotharingā will produce gems of business brilliance. You will pay for this through paying for these girlfriendsā upkeep. Pamper them. Let them wear the latest trends and have their hair done at least once a week. You will not be doing this for yourself. You will be doing this for your business. Okay. There will be eeeeee coitus but let us not take this thread to the Greens, shall we?
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
M Karoki wrote:Thanks ya'll for the good advice.
On the other side,my course is more of a business course than technology as it states. All my lectures are into the idea of an entrepreneur spirit. One actually requires us to have a business running by our third year,furthermore,this is a HR course hence you'd really know how much i'll be earning after graduation versus running an own entity.
Also,on distance and location,Moi is kind of very far,that's why I mentioned only Central based universities for convenience.
And a question, does really everyone who hustles end up as a hustler? I have been on how I earned my first million section on wazua,and I've seen most people really started at this stage somewhere in campus.
@FRM2011š
š
,quite an experience. If the area MP fears you,I think you'd do alot with that advantage. Take a moment to reflect why you started ... I'm a 19 year old campus student,I'm currently running a viable farming project... Why didn't you start ... I am a 19 year old farmer... Sort out the priorities, my 2 cents Life is short. Live passionately.
sparkly wrote:M Karoki wrote:Thanks ya'll for the good advice.
On the other side,my course is more of a business course than technology as it states. All my lectures are into the idea of an entrepreneur spirit. One actually requires us to have a business running by our third year,furthermore,this is a HR course hence you'd really know how much i'll be earning after graduation versus running an own entity.
Also,on distance and location,Moi is kind of very far,that's why I mentioned only Central based universities for convenience.
And a question, does really everyone who hustles end up as a hustler? I have been on how I earned my first million section on wazua,and I've seen most people really started at this stage somewhere in campus.
@FRM2011š
š
,quite an experience. If the area MP fears you,I think you'd do alot with that advantage. Take a moment to reflect why you started ... I'm a 19 year old campus student,I'm currently running a viable farming project... Why didn't you start ... I am a 19 year old farmer... Sort out the priorities, my 2 cents Basically that's "basic formalities". If I met an investor today. That's what I would introduce myself as. And since i'm addressing professionals as well,might be important to state that. Thanks tho. There's no WORSE enemy than a man with limited resources,he's got NOTHING to lose.
SME
Ideas
Possible or unrealistic?