4. Waceera/Njeri, Aceera
5. Wangari, Angari/Aithekahuno
6. Wakiuru/Wambura, Akiuru/Ambura/Ethaga
7. Wangeci/Waithira, Angeci/Aithirandu
8. Wairimu/Gathigia, Airimu/Agathigia
9. Wangui/Waithiegeni, Angui/Aithiegeni
10. Wamuyu/Warigia/Wanjugu, Aicakamuyu

NOTE:Wamuyu never got married.
Next time we discuss their character; some were lovers of witchcraft, others couldn't last a marriage, etc

#2 Posted : Thursday, March 03, 2016 8:52:27 PM

Cornelius Vanderbilt wrote:
Gikuyu Daughters and Clans
1. Wanjiru, Anjiru
2. Wambui, Ambui
3. Wanjiku, Agaciku
4. Waceera/Njeri, Aceera

Next time we discuss their character; some were lovers of witchcraft, others couldn't last a marriage, etc

which ones were good in landing matters?
#3 Posted : Thursday, March 03, 2016 9:08:29 PM

Ethaga=Arogi
#4 Posted : Thursday, March 03, 2016 10:16:39 PM

Ethaga=Arogi

#5 Posted : Saturday, March 05, 2016 12:04:27 PM

@swenani, I hear the wairimus were good in 'donations'

#6 Posted : Saturday, March 05, 2016 12:29:28 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:
@swenani, I hear the wairimus were good in 'donations'

Then what happened?
#7 Posted : Saturday, March 05, 2016 3:22:32 PM

1. Wanjiru, Anjiru
2. Wambui, Ambui
3. Wanjiku, Agaciku
4. Waceera/Njeri, Aceera

I personally don't think anything good or bad comes from names themselves but rather the whole psychology of names! if you name your child Hitler - they will get traumatised and my go looking up why people hated Hitler. that is why I guess people don't name their kids Judas (even though Judases were many but one spoilt the name for all others). A good name should place an aspiration before the kid! remind them why you called them that name and let them identify with it. Most of the people calling themselves Wa* don't think twice about their names. We as observers sometimes draw parallels between character and names but it's a form of pareidolia! We tend to see the world not as it is but rather as we are! So there are no "characters" in names... just a couple of observations. Do you know the 1.3 billion chinese have a very limited set of names. 70% of the Chinese population uses the same 45 surnames! and thus if names had an innate power you would expect almost 1 billion people to have 45 characteristics - but they don't!
#8 Posted : Saturday, March 05, 2016 4:02:49 PM

1. Wanjiru, Anjiru
2. Wambui, Ambui
3. Wanjiku, Agaciku
4. Waceera/Njeri, Aceera

I personally don't think anything good or bad comes from names themselves but rather the whole psychology of names! if you name your child Hitler - they will get traumatised and my go looking up why people hated Hitler. that is why I guess people don't name their kids Judas (even though Judases were many but one spoilt the name for all others). A good name should place an aspiration before the kid! remind them why you called them that name and let them identify with it. Most of the people calling themselves Wa* don't think twice about their names. We as observers sometimes draw parallels between character and names but it's a form of pareidolia! We tend to see the world not as it is but rather as we are! So there are no "characters" in names... just a couple of observations. Do you know the 1.3 billion chinese have a very limited set of names. 70% of the Chinese population uses the same 45 surnames! and thus if names had an innate power you would expect almost 1 billion people to have 45 characteristics - but they don't!

Also the Agikuyu system of name children isn't very good. Depending on the order of birth you are named eirher on your father's or mother's side. This can leads to favoritism or resentment by either parent. Then I don't understand why the man is not supposed to give his child his mother in law's name. Instead the child isnamed Gathoni or Muthoni as if her name is something to be ashamed of. I stand to be corrected.

#9 Posted : Saturday, March 05, 2016 4:28:51 PM

The naming system is intended to immortalise the ancestors and doesn't determine the clan. All children (including those named on the mother's side )utomatically assume the clan of the father and the mother remains a lone ranger.
#10 Posted : Saturday, March 05, 2016 4:30:48 PM

Shak wrote:
1. Wanjiru, Anjiru
2. Wambui, Ambui
3. Wanjiku, Agaciku
4. Waceera/Njeri, Aceera

Also the Agikuyu system of name children isn't very good. Depending on the order of birth you are named eirher on your father's or mother's side. This can leads to favoritism or resentment by either parent. Then I don't understand why the man is not supposed to give his child his mother in law's name. Instead the child isnamed Gathoni or Muthoni as if her name is something to be ashamed of. I stand to be corrected.

Here is the deal... there was the traditional way of naming kids - when names had meanings and what we do today. We name our parents. technically it's the algorithm that has not changed but the deep inner meanings are lost (good riddance).
#11 Posted : Saturday, March 05, 2016 4:37:33 PM

Do people still name children named after the deceased "Kariuki"?
gk
#12 Posted : Saturday, March 05, 2016 4:51:19 PM

In the early days child mortality was quite high and superstition rampant hence the use of such names,methinks. Today child mortality is not only very low but its also unlikely a couple will seek to replace a lost child with a new born.
#13 Posted : Saturday, March 05, 2016 6:02:28 PM

gk wrote:

In the early days child mortality was quite high and superstition rampant hence the use of such names,methinks. Today child mortality is not only very low but its also unlikely a couple will seek to replace a lost child with a new born.

Exactly my point.... times and circumstances have changed.
gk
#14 Posted : Saturday, March 05, 2016 7:39:44 PM

gk wrote:

Exactly my point.... times and circumstances have changed.

But even in those days it the use of such names was optional.... One was free to use the original name or forgo "replacement"

Wamunyota
#15 Posted : Sunday, March 06, 2016 12:10:54 PM

The mido crass is ashamed to name their kids after the 9 daughters.It is considered backward and ushamba.Why use these names when we have so many names on our soap operas?
Hutia Mundu!!
Wa_ithaka
#16 Posted : Sunday, March 06, 2016 12:15:50 PM

The thing that bothers is that most of us prefer ozungu names to our tribal names. Ephantus sasa ni jina ya aina gani...
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
#17 Posted : Sunday, March 06, 2016 1:47:03 PM

Wamunyota wrote:
The mido crass is ashamed to name their kids after the 9 daughters.It is considered backward and ushamba.Why use these names when we have so many names on our soap operas?

How many daughters did Gikuyu have? Was it 9 or 10?
#18 Posted : Sunday, March 06, 2016 2:50:47 PM

Wamunyota wrote:

Wewe fanya hivi... zaa ndio uName watu ukiona kuna gap mahali... sisi tutaitana shanikwa na Tanya e.t.c.
#19 Posted : Sunday, March 06, 2016 3:27:24 PM

Wa_ithaka wrote:
The thing that bothers is that most of us prefer ozungu names to our tribal names. Ephantus sasa ni jina ya aina gani...

What about Thadeus? Third years.

#20 Posted : Sunday, March 06, 2016 3:36:02 PM

While us Kisiis,our names mostly have no real meaning ,for instance Oigara (sigara),Emamba (mamba),Omoro (omollo),Getoi (toy),Esese (dog),Egesa (saa),Ondieki (fisi)...no meaning at all.