wazua Mon, Jan 27, 2025

Ushago has changed greatly
#1 Posted : Tuesday, December 29, 2015 8:51:26 AM

I am in shags for the holidays. Years back spending xmas in ushago used to be an unique experience where village life was very far removed from city life. There was no electricity, no running water, no phones, no TV, no internet, no banks, no rural transport etc.

But things have changed so much nowadays. People in ushago now have electricity, running water, flush toilets, 3G internet (thanks to safaricom/airtel/orange), smartphones, flat screen TVs, dstv/zuku, and boda boda motorbikes everywhere making rural transport so easy. Even the local shopping centre has a giant "mulika mwizi" street light and the local pub has a mega 50inch HD screen where wenyeji can watch arsenal and Man U. There are banking agents and mpesa shops making accessing money so easy.

In my opinion people in rural areas are enjoying a higher quality of life than city dwellers in that they have all the city conveniences in a clean, pollution free and very spacious environment.
#2 Posted : Tuesday, December 29, 2015 9:26:45 AM

I am in shags for the holidays. Years back spending xmas in ushago used to be an unique experience where village life was very far removed from city life. There was no electricity, no running water, no phones, no TV, no internet, no banks, no rural transport etc.

But things have changed so much nowadays. People in ushago now have electricity, running water, flush toilets, 3G internet (thanks to safaricom/airtel/orange), smartphones, flat screen TVs, dstv/zuku, and boda boda motorbikes everywhere making rural transport so easy. Even the local shopping centre has a giant "mulika mwizi" street light and the local pub has a mega 50inch HD screen where wenyeji can watch arsenal and Man U. There are banking agents and mpesa shops making accessing money so easy.

In my opinion people in rural areas are enjoying a higher quality of life than city dwellers in that they have all the city conveniences in a clean, pollution free and very spacious environment.

was thinking about that the other day... the shags people were what they were not by choice but by circumstance and now slowly getting these things.
these seats are also going!!
#3 Posted : Tuesday, December 29, 2015 9:43:13 AM

Some wazuan has been telling us this all along
#4 Posted : Tuesday, December 29, 2015 10:11:30 AM

I left the big cities/towns and their lights way back in 1987. It's beautiful out here i can assure. Minimal stress.
Julie
#5 Posted : Tuesday, December 29, 2015 10:24:51 AM

@ Guka
When are you going coast....
Remember you promised to take this gal for a holiday...
Ama bonus bado haijafika?
#6 Posted : Tuesday, December 29, 2015 10:27:16 AM

I understand KTDA had 2.5B in Imperial, wonder which bonus was eaten.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, December 29, 2015 10:34:02 AM

Julie wrote:
@ Guka
When are you going coast....
Remember you promised to take this gal for a holiday...
Ama bonus bado haijafika?

Rwanda by road. Aprilsmile

@Chair,
Laughing out loudly .
Julie
#8 Posted : Tuesday, December 29, 2015 10:36:37 AM

Cool.
Weka reminder on Valentines day
Iganamagana
#9 Posted : Tuesday, December 29, 2015 12:08:04 PM

The title of the thread Boss should be to the effect how Ushago has gained a lot of shine. The Ushago quality of life has improved a lot unlike our Cities and Towns which are worsening by the day.
#10 Posted : Tuesday, December 29, 2015 12:18:49 PM

Roads too, that used to ensure you are sure you are in shags due to the mateso they will make you go through especially when it rains, are being fixed. Time to start looking for that huge retirement farm in shags
kayhara
#11 Posted : Tuesday, December 29, 2015 2:06:27 PM

The quiet, you can sit on the grass watching youtube on your iPad, while taking a walk you can stop and take water at the clear stream (yes rivers in our shags are still drinkable) then in the evening grab a cold beer with the old man as we prepare to harvest wheat the next morning. With all this who would want to stay in Nairobi breathing car smoke in Uhuru highway traffic on a very hot afternoon
To Each His Own
Muheani
#12 Posted : Tuesday, December 29, 2015 3:06:54 PM

Our Ushago is still Ushago, especially in terms of Roads

but stima, Telecoms ziko sawa.

streetwise
#13 Posted : Tuesday, December 29, 2015 5:02:41 PM

What is the price of land there like ?
#14 Posted : Tuesday, December 29, 2015 5:10:06 PM

streetwise wrote:
What is the price of land there like ?

Depends but general land in rural Kenya is not as overpriced as in towns. I gasp each time i see a plot going for 7 0r 8 digit figures. With 100M, you can get over 350 acres of land in Nyandarua. What can't you do with that?
Iganamagana
#15 Posted : Tuesday, December 29, 2015 7:16:15 PM

kayhara wrote:
The quiet, you can sit on the grass watching youtube on your iPad, while taking a walk you can stop and take water at the clear stream (yes rivers in our shags are still drinkable) then in the evening grab a cold beer with the old man as we prepare to harvest wheat the next morning. With all this who would want to stay in Nairobi breathing car smoke in Uhuru highway traffic on a very hot afternoon

I wish I could take early retirement in a farm or ranch far away from Nairobi. I envy the guys in places like Lessos, Mioro, Kiarutara and such other rural hamlets leading better quality life than the urban pretenders we are.
Anti_Burglar
#16 Posted : Tuesday, December 29, 2015 7:35:08 PM

I agree.
streetwise
#17 Posted : Wednesday, December 30, 2015 8:56:38 AM

I am heading there, start planning early for every 100 shillings you invest in the city invest 1 shilling in rural and when the time comes you can settle down to a quiet life where you do not even need a gate and labour is almost free
mthaka
#18 Posted : Wednesday, December 30, 2015 9:22:30 AM

am tempted to buy land being sold at 500k an acre in oljororok ,Nyahururu,i buy five acres and retire
#19 Posted : Wednesday, December 30, 2015 9:35:22 AM

I love the Kenyan countryside....can't wait to retire in the bush somewhere.
#20 Posted : Wednesday, December 30, 2015 9:37:19 AM

Is it true that there'll always be an 'ushago' or is it something that can/will come to an end?