wazua Sat, Jan 11, 2025

Williamson Tea HY15 EPS balloons 126%
Pesa Nane
#1 Posted : Tuesday, November 17, 2015 10:03:02 AM

Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
Pesa Nane
#2 Posted : Tuesday, November 17, 2015 10:16:15 AM

COMMENTARY ON THE RESULTS:
Crop levels were slow to come back after a very dry start of the year.
Turnover and profit from operations went up by 22% and 93% respectively due to higher sales volumes, improved net realisations which were boosted by a weakening Shilling against the trading currencies and implementation of rigorous cost control measures.

Prospects:
The arrival of the short rains, with or without El Nino will result in favourable crops over the coming months and there is bound to be a decline in current price levels which could negatively impact the second half of the financial period.
#3 Posted : Tuesday, November 17, 2015 11:23:07 AM

This looks like an agriculturals year or what?
Arconnrk
#4 Posted : Tuesday, November 17, 2015 11:25:29 AM

Hallo Wazuans,

Thanks for the timely info @pesanane. Any news on books closure for the bonus? according to last tuesday's nation the shares were still cum bonus.
Even the birds can testify...but you forget the chief has his son as the judge and his son-in-law as interpreter- Oumar Ba
#5 Posted : Tuesday, November 17, 2015 7:16:41 PM

2H could be even better!

Fuel prices are lower. They use diesel to run the machinery in their factories.
Tea prices are holding up despite the higher crop levels. The prices may reduce with El Nino but crop levels will increase.
I hope Williamson has locked in high rates on funds with banks/GoK.
#6 Posted : Tuesday, November 17, 2015 10:13:55 PM

Good set of results!
Pesa Nane
#7 Posted : Monday, December 21, 2015 11:13:02 AM

Arconnrk wrote:
Hallo Wazuans,

Thanks for the timely info @pesanane. Any news on books closure for the bonus? according to last tuesday's nation the shares were still cum bonus.

Arconnrk
#8 Posted : Monday, December 21, 2015 11:16:08 AM

Pesa Nane wrote:
Arconnrk wrote:
Hallo Wazuans,

Thanks @pesanane smile
Even the birds can testify...but you forget the chief has his son as the judge and his son-in-law as interpreter- Oumar Ba
kayhara
#9 Posted : Thursday, December 24, 2015 9:33:16 AM

To Each His Own
Arconnrk
#10 Posted : Thursday, January 28, 2016 1:53:03 PM

The court battle between Del Monte, Murang'a County and Kiambu County is definitely one to watch keenly for williamson fans. (link)

Del Monte's leases expire in 5-6 years. Looking through wazuans' thoughts on this, it seems Williamson is in the same boat.

If Murang'a succeeds in tying lease renewals to giving up 6,000 acres (or almost a quarter of Del Monte's 22,000 acre Murang'a holdings) then it will surely encourage other counties- including those in Rift Valley region. Some companies might deem 25% surrender as the painful price of staying in business but since there's unlikely to be compensation, then that's a serious loss to shareholders- not just of the book value of the land but of space for future production expansion.

The counties and the National Land Commission seem to be reading from different scripts- some like Nandi and Kericho have said that there will be no renewal (link), others like Murang'a claim that they will renew multinational leases but on their own terms (i.e. surrender some land), while the NLC chairman was assuring investors 2 years ago that lease renewal is based on assessment how the land was used over the 99 years (link).

All this would make any multinational jumpy since there's no consistent nationwide policy on renewals and you are at the whim of politicians and their cronies. Hapo ndio ufisadi huanza.
#11 Posted : Thursday, January 28, 2016 3:01:32 PM

And there is information that some of the land will be shared by some of the County officials. Hii inaitwa Land Grabbing through the front door.

If and when it succeeds, hyenas all over the country will want to replicate this in their counties.

I never liked this devil-ution business and I have said that over and over! When people were campaigning for the new constitution (After it was read on their behalf by some individuals) I told them the government will be top heavy, the wage bill will balloon, taxes will inevitably be hiked, tribalism will be institutionalised etc. etc. Here we are!!! How I wish I was wrong!!!
Arconnrk
#12 Posted : Thursday, January 28, 2016 3:30:46 PM

And there is information that some of the land will be shared by some of the County officials. Hii inaitwa Land Grabbing through the front door.

If and when it succeeds, hyenas all over the country will want to replicate this in their counties.

I never liked this devil-ution business and I have said that over and over! When people were campaigning for the new constitution (After it was read on their behalf by some individuals) I told them the government will be top heavy, the wage bill will balloon, taxes will inevitably be hiked, tribalism will be institutionalised etc. etc. Here we are!!! How I wish I was wrong!!!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Full disclosure- I voted for the constitution, but it's painful to watch some of what is happening under the name of devolution. There I can say I underestimated the challenge. It's like a case study of what can happen if you change a constitution without changing the underlying culture of 'kwani hio mali ni ya mamako?'
Ericsson
#13 Posted : Thursday, January 28, 2016 4:13:19 PM

That is a useless and populist decision by the governor to satisfy the masses and in return grab some of the prime land.
Private investors doing productive business that helps develops the economy being harassed
EACC should again raid wa Iria's house.
Land matters should be left to NLC and GOK not these greedy governors
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
CASHFLOW202
#14 Posted : Thursday, January 28, 2016 4:18:51 PM

Arconnrk wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Full disclosure- I voted for the constitution, but it's painful to watch some of what is happening under the name of devolution. There I can say I underestimated the challenge. It's like a case study of what can happen if you change a constitution without changing the underlying culture of 'kwani hio mali ni ya mamako?'

Since the land was leased land value does not affect the accounts, what is lethal is if the tea plants are uprooted. If they take the land and continue farming tea and sell the leaves to the company, then all is well. That's what the companies should negotiate to keep the production on course and let go the soil.
Monopoly was the industrial age money game and the name of the new game of money today in the information age is CASHFLOW
#15 Posted : Thursday, January 28, 2016 8:45:35 PM

CASHFLOW202 wrote:
Arconnrk wrote:

Since the land was leased land value does not affect the accounts, what is lethal is if the tea plants are uprooted. If they take the land and continue farming tea and sell the leaves to the company, then all is well. That's what the companies should negotiate to keep the production on course and let go the soil.

The land may have been leased but there is 'value' to the lease. Let's say the original lease was 999 years or Freehold then there was value for the 'productive' life of the lease.

The primary argument by the leaseholders is that the constitutional [useless buggers who interfered with the final draft of the constitution left so many ambiguities] change takes effect from 2010 i.e. 99 year lease from 2010 whereas the Counties [politicians] say it is from the grant of the original lease. I believe unless the law specifically says it takes place retrospectively, the Tea Firms are in the clear.

The PROBLEM is that when the blood is boiling logic is thrown out the window. Furthermore, [yes, there were historical colonial injustices] the population 100 years ago was minuscule vs the population today. Ironically, 'western' medicine reduced the mortality rate but the rate of breeding continued unabated. The current population is 44mn from 6mn in 1963.
enyands
#16 Posted : Thursday, January 28, 2016 8:59:02 PM

CASHFLOW202 wrote:
Arconnrk wrote:

Mugabe here we come in style
#17 Posted : Thursday, January 28, 2016 9:03:38 PM

Prophets are never acknowledged in their own villages. You remind me of KQ when I lost faith in the management when they launched Project Mawingu and the disastrous Right Issue.
New planes.
Debt, debt and more debt.
Training pilots.
Hiring more pilots.
Hiring more crew.
All in anticipation of growth that never came.
muandiwambeu
#18 Posted : Friday, January 29, 2016 8:28:26 AM

enyands wrote:
CASHFLOW202 wrote:
Arconnrk wrote:

Mugabe here we come in style

And once the camps are done negotiations,they will tells us how the retreat was fruitful.this will really hurt. In Kenya everything must be vague,so wazee ndio watadecide. I wish that day I become mzee niwe na meno ya kutandika hii wazee wenye awang'oki meno.
,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
#19 Posted : Wednesday, February 03, 2016 12:56:43 AM

Huge volumes at the last auction. The rains have boosted tea production but prices are falling. Overall, I expect another bumper year for Williamson.

No (significant) debt.
Tea, tea, tea everywhere as the rains have been good.
Decent [not high but not low] prices.
KES stable at 102-ish.
High interest rates on the cash/deposits.

Let the good times roll!
Spikes
#20 Posted : Wednesday, February 03, 2016 9:00:56 AM

Huge volumes at the last auction. The rains have boosted tea production but prices are falling. Overall, I expect another bumper year for Williamson.

No (significant) debt.
Tea, tea, tea everywhere as the rains have been good.
Decent [not high but not low] prices.
KES stable at 102-ish.
High interest rates on the cash/deposits.

Let the good times roll!

How many Williamson shares did you load when it bottomed out last month ex bonus?
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”