wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Confirming Mileage of a Newly Imported Vehicle
Spitze
#1 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 8:32:45 AM

Hi Wazuans,
I am looking for a site where I can authenticate the mileage of a newly imported car. The website of JEVIC ( http://www.jevic.com/jev...iatives/e-certificates/ ) no longer provides this information. It just gives a statement:
"Vehicle Inspected and Certified to the Kenya Standard by JEVIC." The sticker does not also indicate the mileage.

With the current manipulation of odometers, I would like to be sure before I buy the car. Kindly assist. Cheers
sizzla
#2 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 8:59:38 AM

Sorry dude, no such facility is available.
#3 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 11:34:52 AM

a normal diagnosis machine "digi" should sort you..unless the seller goes to the extent of replacing the instrument.
Spitze
#4 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 2:45:54 PM

mlefu wrote:
a normal diagnosis machine "digi" should sort you..unless the seller goes to the extent of replacing the instrument.

Thanks @mlefu. Where in Nairobi is such a machine available?
XSK
#5 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 3:03:20 PM

mlefu wrote:

@Mlefu

Out of curiousity, which instrument do you mean hapo juu?
You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
#6 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 6:52:34 PM

XSK wrote:
mlefu wrote:

@Mlefu

Out of curiousity, which instrument do you mean hapo juu?

The timing belt

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#7 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 7:12:19 PM

try Total Parklands..

Instrument :

Timing belt is Mechanical..I have no idea how it can distort mileage.. challenge me
Ilikeyou
#8 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 7:20:08 PM

In some instances, around the timing belt there could be indicated readings probably at what mileage and date a change of time belt was done.
You could compare the reading to the mileage odometer reading if the ‘crooks’ forget to be though in erasing all memory of mileage tampering.
innovator
#9 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 8:12:10 PM

@mlefu. The instrument is a metre that reads the no. of revolutions your wheel has done, a calculation by the diameter of your wheel gives you the mileage on odometer.

I have not heard of a machine that can read a reversed odometer.
#10 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 8:49:35 PM

Spitze wrote:

Hi Wazuans,
I am looking for a site where I can authenticate the mileage of a newly imported car. The website of JEVIC ( http://www.jevic.com/jev...iatives/e-certificates/ ) no longer provides this information. It just gives a statement:
"Vehicle Inspected and Certified to the Kenya Standard by JEVIC." The sticker does not also indicate the mileage.

With the current manipulation of odometers, I would like to be sure before I buy the car. Kindly assist. Cheers

You are only sure if it is a new car, mileage close to 0 plus some test drive. Everything else is like trying to test how "used" an airport is.
#11 Posted : Tuesday, October 28, 2014 9:03:30 AM

Ilikeyou wrote:
In some instances, around the timing belt there could be indicated readings probably at what mileage and date a change of time belt was done.
You could compare the reading to the mileage odometer reading if the ‘crooks’ forget to be though in erasing all memory of mileage tampering.

Does this works for the digital display odometers or the analogue ones only?
Um Sayala
#12 Posted : Tuesday, October 28, 2014 9:51:10 AM

There is no need trying to know REAL odometer reading of your 'new' car. Its the market that demands that these 'crooks' alter the mileage. A vehicle used for 8 yrs in Japan cannot have 32000km odo reading. But if I gave you two similar cars, one with 97k odo reading and with 32k reading, you will rush for the new one. So i am forced to keep the veh 'new' before selling it to you.

Its like asking a lady how many landings(Boyfriends) she has had. You will always be the 2nd boyfriend, kumbe wewe ni number 100.
"Peace is our profession, War is our business" ...Unknown
Tokyo
#13 Posted : Tuesday, October 28, 2014 10:08:26 AM

Odometer manipulation is common. Best authentication way is either
- agree with the seller to send you a copy of shaken/車検[ japanese equivalent to log book) or
- car auction report/description.
Both in japanese but atleast you can read numbers. Real Mileage is indicated there.
work to prosper
#14 Posted : Tuesday, October 28, 2014 11:04:08 AM

now you know mileage can be manipulated...

@Tokyo..I need the entire W221 body..ie everything apart from engine,gearbox and the tyres ...Kkibugi@yahoo.com kindly lets talk.
#15 Posted : Tuesday, October 28, 2014 7:47:23 PM

mlefu wrote:

@Tokyo..I need the entire W221 body..ie everything apart from engine,gearbox and the tyres ...Kkibugi@yahoo.com kindly lets talk.

so you want to put the engine and gearbox of a toyota onto the body of an s class and sell the car to a parastatal?
bird_man
#16 Posted : Tuesday, October 28, 2014 10:57:01 PM

So now....even if you found out your cars real mileage was 100k Kms & its being sold at 32k Kms...then?
Id rather one focusses on the mechanical condition of the car by inspection.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
Boris Boyka
#17 Posted : Tuesday, October 28, 2014 11:20:44 PM

mkenyan wrote:
mlefu wrote:

so you want to put the engine and gearbox of a toyota onto the body of an s class and sell the car to a parastatal?

Haha hehe umepatikana!
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
Tokyo
#18 Posted : Wednesday, October 29, 2014 5:32:05 AM

mlefu wrote:

Sent.
work to prosper
#19 Posted : Wednesday, October 29, 2014 9:51:19 AM

Boris Boyka wrote:
mkenyan wrote:
mlefu wrote:

Haha hehe umepatikana!

Bure kabisa...updating @Spitze... there`s more to watch out for when buying a used vehicle

@Tokyo..thanks.
Chaka
#20 Posted : Wednesday, October 29, 2014 10:06:57 AM

@Tokyo,
So the mileage as indicated on the original inspection cert. is not necessarily true?