wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Private Medical Insurance Claim
#1 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2014 1:43:11 PM

Wazua lawyers and medical doctors, saidieni hapa.

Can a friend of mine have two separate medical insurance at the same time and claim independently from each of them?

For instance if she have an APA cover of max. 1.5 million and Equihealth cover of 2.2 million and she have a medical cost of say 4.1 million can she get (1.5+2.2) = 3.7 million to help her offset her bill?

d'oh! d'oh!

#2 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2014 1:55:26 PM

Can a friend of mine have two separate medical insurance at the same time and claim independently from each of them?

For instance if she have an APA cover of max. 1.5 million and Equihealth cover of 2.2 million and she have a medical cost of say 4.1 million can she get (1.5+2.2) = 3.7 million to help her offset her bill?

d'oh! d'oh!

Am not a lawyer or a doctor but from my laymans understanding of insurance, it is possible.This only applies to health insurance and not property,car,etc where you can access the value of the insured

It is not possible though to make a same claim to both insurance e.g if You have two covers with a limit of 1.5M each and you incur medical bill of 900K, you can only claim from one insurance cover.
#3 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2014 2:09:39 PM

d'oh! d'oh!

Yes she can, happens every other day.
Bykhovets
#4 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2014 2:24:01 PM

It's possible. As long as terms and conditions are met and there are no exclusions. And premiums are paid.

e.g. NHIF covers some amount and another private medical company covers some other amount. I've seen another where local expenses are paid by company A and international expenses by company B.
"Occasionally I drop a tea cup to shatter on the floor. On purpose. I am not satisfied when it does not gather itself up again. Someday perhaps that cup will come together."
#5 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2014 2:47:03 PM

d'oh! d'oh!

Sound great, do you know a friend who has done the same successfully?

Imagine paying premium of say 50K per year each for three insurance companies then you can claim maximum inpatient in the region of 6 million!

150K translates to 6 million...sounds too good to be true.

d'oh! d'oh!

#6 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2014 3:04:03 PM

d'oh! d'oh!

Imagine paying premium of say 50K per year each for three insurance companies then you can claim maximum inpatient in the region of 6 million!

d'oh! d'oh!

Fill the forms for Insurance A and then simply monitor the costs and know when to fill forms for Insurance B, there is no problem so long as you don't claim the same cost from both insurances!!!
#7 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2014 3:18:42 PM

d'oh! d'oh!

d'oh! d'oh!

Fill the forms for Insurance A and then simply monitor the costs and know when to fill forms for Insurance B, there is no problem so long as you don't claim the same cost from both insurances!!!

Suppose they discover its a claim for the same patient and same sickness?
Si watacollude and quote some references in terms and condition?

#8 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2014 3:24:04 PM

d'oh! d'oh!

d'oh! d'oh!

They can't so long as premiums are being promptly paid for all the covers, nakuambia this happens all the time, hapa hamna shida!!!
#9 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2014 3:38:07 PM

d'oh! d'oh!

d'oh! d'oh!

They can't so long as premiums are being promptly paid for all the covers, nakuambia this happens all the time, hapa hamna shida!!!

A part from AON minet insurance company ya Man-U which other 4 companies do you think are recognized globally and will not bring machida-chida na payment while someone is stuck huko kwa kina @kiash?

#10 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2014 3:50:14 PM

d'oh! d'oh!

d'oh! d'oh!

A part from AON minet insurance company ya Man-U which other 4 companies do you think are recognized globally and will not bring machida-chida na payment while someone is stuck huko kwa kina @kiash?

Boss kwani unapanga fraud? Heritage is all over Africa and they also support treatment abroad!!!
#11 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2014 4:01:44 PM

d'oh! d'oh!

d'oh! d'oh!

Boss kwani unapanga fraud? Heritage is all over Africa and they also support treatment abroad!!!

Your insurer is heritage? Have you heard about UAP? Can it be accepted mayuu?

#siofraud!.

#12 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2014 4:18:33 PM

d'oh! d'oh!

d'oh! d'oh!

#siofraud!.

Very few local companies if any cover treatment when you go to kwa kina Kiash.However my boss is covered by BUPA INTERNATIONAL CORE COVER Worldwide Medical Cover as he travels frequently and I hear it is one of the good international covers.
Bykhovets
#13 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2014 4:47:41 PM

d'oh! d'oh!

d'oh! d'oh!

#siofraud!.

Very few local companies if any cover treatment when you go to kwa kina Kiash.However my boss is covered by BUPA INTERNATIONAL CORE COVER Worldwide Medical Cover as he travels frequently and I hear it is one of the good international covers.

BUPA and VANBREDA operate internationally. You can be treated at any hospital in the world.
"Occasionally I drop a tea cup to shatter on the floor. On purpose. I am not satisfied when it does not gather itself up again. Someday perhaps that cup will come together."
#14 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2014 5:00:48 PM

Bykhovets wrote:

d'oh! d'oh!

d'oh! d'oh!

#siofraud!.

BUPA and VANBREDA operate internationally. You can be treated at any hospital in the world.

Annual premiums for these Bupa and Vanbreda please?

#15 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2014 5:10:22 PM

d'oh! d'oh!

d'oh! d'oh!

#siofraud!.

Its depends with your package.Get in contact with their local agents here in Nairobi on the contact details below

Goldstar Healthcare Limited
5th Floor, Mayfair Suites, Parklands Road, Nairobi
Tel: 3754770, 3754779
GoldstarHealthcare@goldstarhealthcare.com.

Note that In Kenya,vanbreda mainly operates on reimbursment basis and many hospitals too dont give credit when you accessthe services with a vanbreda card
#16 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2014 5:12:06 PM

Bykhovets wrote:

d'oh! d'oh!

d'oh! d'oh!

#siofraud!.

On cash basis.In Kenya i think its only Nairobi hosp which accepts credit from Vanbreda for UN staff.The rest,lipa cash and get reimbursed from Vanbreda
#17 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2014 5:27:53 PM

@fishmonger, how long does the reimbursement take?

So hawa kina APA sijui UAP cannot lipa nikikwama huko kwa kina @kiash? How sad!
:(

#18 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2014 5:27:54 PM

Are you sure you guys have given the right advice?
#19 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2014 5:29:37 PM

Are you sure you guys have given the right advice?

Please do kindly advice, thats why I first said wazua lawyers (@maka smile ) and doctors (@mukiri Liar )

#20 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2014 5:57:36 PM

d'oh! d'oh!

d'oh! d'oh!

#siofraud!.

bupa is tops. but very expensive. premiums of thousands of usd.