Market
Pennywise
Shock Absorbers
Anyone knows where I could get shock absorbers for a Mazda Familia... Have searched Dar-es salaam road extensively but no chance... Calamities are of two kinds: misfortunes to ourselves,and good fortune to others
Try Oriel on Mombasa rd,next to the subaru place,opposite Panari/vitafoam.
I had a problem with shocks and found that they have a wider range of products than almost any other stockist in town,plus their prices were very good at the time,there was an xmas offer! I got the shocks at a quarter of the price of GM!!
Bidii yangu
advise also on Premio springs pipo...I'm finding Robs Magic one's too expensive.
In man prudence,in woman patience - Jacob Cats
Go try Oriel.
My friend recetly got toyota 110 monroe original shocks @4500 each,which is fair coz they can last mpaka 3 years - from experience....
If u dont get,post here,if I have time,I can help u search.
Bidii yangu
@ Sigirri where are these guys located (Oriel) i need to buy shocks for a Toyota NZE.
Your assistance will be highly appreciated.Thank you
'Just go out and make yourself useful.'
Peter Drucker (1909-2005) Austrian-American author and theorist
They are next to the Subaru showroom (for new cars) - On your left just after the Embakasi/nakumatt/cabanas junction as you make your way to the city centre.
Their numbers are 554186 or 534550.
I can vouch for them,I got Monroe shocks for my forester and the job was damn good.
On your way to town from GM or Cabanas,just past Bobmil and opposite vitafoam,the compound also has the subaru showroom,and some skodas and audis....but those guys look like the closed down.
Oriel is very busy and they sell Monroe shocks. These are good moreso if you get the gas types. I have used their shocks and recommended hundreds there and none is dissapointed by their shocks. So go there and try get them to fit also. They can offer a small discount if u bargain hard.
For anyone with bigger cars,maybe autoexpress with their Bilstein shocks might be a better option. Autoexpress are just ahead of the oriel place still on your way to town,opposite vision plaza,just after MPPS.
Best wishes!
Bidii yangu
please for toyota vitz!!!!!
life is an endless adventure
please for toyota vitz!!!!! and how much
life is an endless adventure
The number for Oriel is 8029442/3 the ones in the yellow pages do not work. I did not get for the shocks for the MAZDA GF-BJ5P....anyone with ideas? Regards, Calamities are of two kinds: misfortunes to ourselves,and good fortune to others
@reddevil: Mazda Familia,BJ5P parts are hard to get. First try the SIMCO,KAYABA dealers on Lusaka Road. If you don't get there,just go accross the road to CMC....budget about 15k each. That should make you drive drive more gently!! Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
Also shocks for Toyota gt carina,and how much would they go for?
@Mukiha, I tried SIMCO,no chance,the said they dont have...asked whether they will be bringing... Just looked at me like i dropped from mars... CMC...they gave me a long story why they cannot ship for me... then there is CMS,also deal Kayaba,they say the ship for me for like 8K each... Unless there is any better option I have no choice but to settle for them... As of driving gently,I now know... Calamities are of two kinds: misfortunes to ourselves,and good fortune to others
Mazda Man,you have worked hard enough finding the shocks,I hope you get something nice. If you intend to keep the car for long,buy two sets of front shocks and just keep them,but before you order the parts shipped,have the shock removed and go back to the suppliers you visited,it is not uncommon for these parts to look and be exactly the same. You might be pleasantly surprised.
Vitz man,am not sure they sell any spares fot Vitz,as far as I know,it's disposable - you use,you throw. Hehehe,kuku-enjoy tu,I dont honestly do anything to do with vitz and platz. Lakini watu kwa hii forum ni wengi,maybe someone knows.
Carina dude - your car is far too common,am sure ur local mech has the pricing of nearly every part ya hiyo gari,get off ur behind and shop around. But take some time to visit the suppliers mentioned here. Utapata something. Ukikosa,post here and I can help
Bidii yangu
Rank: Member Joined: 1/28/2009 Posts: 353 Location: Cloud
The Shocks for Platz/Vitz/ Probox /Starlet are interchangeable. Do NOT EVER buy shocks by car make. Get the sample whenever possible. Again compare as though interchangeable you may experience Mountings /Clearance challenges. No substitute for a good mechanic. 'I am the master of my fate; I am the captain of my soul.'-Invictus "For i am the master and the captain of my fate"
@reddevil; Did you get the shocks? if so; where? I have a similar car and would like buy and keep.... Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
@Mukiha, Go to CMS,its on the road leading to Mater hospital just before Dar- es Salaam Rd... The guys there can order for you... I havent ordered yet coz they told me to get the part number...so i havent gone there yet... But i have the part number with me my mech checked it out...so i just need to go back.. and place the order...If its the same car the i cud check out my part number and share... Let me know if you need it? Calamities are of two kinds: misfortunes to ourselves,and good fortune to others
Hi good people,
Came across this site while searching for a place to buy Monroe (or other good shocks). Mine's a Nissan B14 and need the shocks ASAP.
@Sigiriri You say a friend of yours got toyota 110 monroe original shocks @4500 each. I had also called a shop on Kirinyaga road and they told me to go to Oriel,that they are right now selling for my type of car at 6960 as a special offer. When I called Oriel,I was informed that one shock for my car (front) is going at 14,000!!
Question is,would the shocks for a 110 and a B14 be very different and have such a huge price difference? Ama these guys don't give these good prices to reja-reja people? Is there another reasonably priced shop that also does fitting that you guys know?
I'll appreciate any input...
The Matrix has you...
Guys,Im looking for front & rear shocks for TOYOTA MARK 2,GX110 YOM 2002. Iv tried Monroe,Kayaba & Robs,they all dont have them. Any idea where i can get?
Well,after asking around and hearing tall tales (I think so in retrospect) of how monroe ndiyo baba na mama of shocks,I did some checking online and came across stats such as these:
Among the drivers and experts have long known that the legislator of quality standards in the world of automotive industry is the Toyota company. The requirements for quality components for the Toyota far exceed the requirements of ISO 9000. That is why 52% of all Toyota models come with shock absorbers KYB. Such models as the Lexus 400,Lexus 200,Lexus Coupe,Camry,Corolla,Carina / Corona,Supra and many others.
Beside Toyota and Mazda there is still Nissan,Subaru,Suzuki,Honda,Daihatsu,where the proportion of KYB shock absorbers consistently ranged from 30% for the Subaru up to 48% for Suzuki. And of course the reliability of Mitsubishi Pajero is also provided with Kayaba shock absorbers. 90% of all models produced by Mitsubishi are equipped with Kayaba.
-http://www.pipstore.com/info/kayaba-shock-absorbers/
I'll be going for Kayaba now since they are reasonably priced from my enquiries and the above stats nullify the naysayers...
Ama what's the deal with the Kayaba bashing as inferior to Monroe?
The Matrix has you...
Market
Pennywise
Shock Absorbers