wazua Fri, Dec 27, 2024

Before you buy land, kindly have a look at this!!
propertyvaluer
#1 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 4:13:10 PM

Stories are told of many people who have lost money to fake brokers or conmen. You know how painful being conned of thousands or even millions of money can be. You can avoid being a con victim by carrying out due diligence on the ownership of the land before transacting any business on it. Its a good advice to involve other experts apart from relying heavily and solely on lawyers, who could also be preyed upon.

So if you want to buy land, request the seller to give you a copy of the title and then look for a valuer, am not marketing myself, look for any valuer that you know, and tell him or her to prepare for you a Site Search and Identification Report. This should be able to tell you everything that you will need to know about the land in question.

I don't know how to insert an attachment, I would surely love to show you a sample of the report for free. However, if you are interested, I could send it to you for free. Just hit my inbox on

mdswissholdings@gmail.com
Chaka
#2 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 5:48:10 PM

What is the cost of the site search and the report and is this search different from the one done at the lands registry?
sorovi
#3 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 6:03:08 PM

hi send the sample to wazua@googlegroups.com

Would love to see smile
propertyvaluer
#4 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 7:26:29 PM

@Sorovi, I have sent a sample to that email adress

@Chaka, this will depend with the size and value of land in question. You cannot charge a person planning to buy 10 acres in Syokimau the same with a person struggling to acquire an eighth in the same area.
MjasriaMali
#5 Posted : Saturday, May 31, 2014 9:57:32 AM

@propertyvaluer, plse drop the sample at oloo@msn.com
Omena
#6 Posted : Saturday, May 31, 2014 11:31:09 AM

Pls send a copy to freshomena@gmail.com
 It’s what you learn after you think you know it all that counts.
#7 Posted : Saturday, May 31, 2014 7:28:02 PM

Applause Another Mwalimu. Marty is/was a good educator.

1. I want to know, what happens when a SACCO official takes off with cash, that was meant for land purchase. What recourse do the SACCO/Investment group members have?

2. Do you have sample agreements for leasing out land? Do they have to be registered etc etc?

Afroblk
#8 Posted : Sunday, June 01, 2014 12:23:23 AM

Thank you for the info. Could you please forward a copy to sijachill@gmail.com
Thanks
Knowledge is contagious...Infect truth!
#9 Posted : Sunday, June 01, 2014 3:00:42 AM

I don't know what supernatural powers the office of a private valuer possesses in order to determine the status of a property.
Apart from a lawyer the only other private office to visit is a land surveyor office. That office is very important in order to get the complete history of the property.
Property transactions in Kenya are based on a willing seller willing buyer basis. Only the government, banks and insurance people conduct valuation processes mainly because it adds un necessary costs to a transaction .
Mucene
#10 Posted : Monday, June 02, 2014 7:31:34 PM

mpobiz wrote:
I don't know what supernatural powers the office of a private valuer possesses in order to determine the status of a property.
Apart from a lawyer the only other private office to visit is a land surveyor office. That office is very important in order to get the complete history of the property.
Property transactions in Kenya are based on a willing seller willing buyer basis. Only the government, banks and insurance people conduct valuation processes mainly because it adds un necessary costs to a transaction .

If you don't want to go to plan B have a good plan A.
propertyvaluer
#11 Posted : Monday, June 02, 2014 10:43:09 PM

@Mucene,
its nothing to do with supernatural powers man. The seller can easily collude with the lands guyz so that when you go there, you are given a search document that is fake or forged. Since the lands guyz are people we have worked with for ages, they would not want to put valuers in such a mess, and hence, to valuers, they will give results of the search as it is. Let no one ever lie to you that valuation just ''adds unnecessary costs to land transactions'' its actually more than that. Wait till the day, you will be conned, yet you have what exactly looks like an original Title
#12 Posted : Tuesday, June 03, 2014 12:22:39 AM

propertyvaluer wrote:
@Mucene,
its nothing to do with supernatural powers man. The seller can easily collude with the lands guyz so that when you go there, you are given a search document that is fake or forged. Since the lands guyz are people we have worked with for ages, they would not want to put valuers in such a mess, and hence, to valuers, they will give results of the search as it is. Let no one ever lie to you that valuation just ''adds unnecessary costs to land transactions'' its actually more than that. Wait till the day, you will be conned, yet you have what exactly looks like an original Title

I can see you have decided to "out yourself" so you work with the crooks at lands offices and since they know you, they wouldn't want to put you in a mess.
When you conduct a search. Its the current lands registrar who certifies your search. He is still the one who signs your title after the transaction is complete. Now imagine dealing with a rogue lands registrar . That's why i asked if this valuers have super powers to prevent fraud , luckily we all have seen the kind of answer he has given.
People have taken loans from banks with land documents authentified by valuers only for the real owners to turn up. Saccos have bought fake land where valuers were involved in the transaction.
There's only one detail that the victims miss :- a visit to a lands surveyors office where a complete history of the land can be obtained especially if the land you are buying is from a property that has had too many subdivisions .
I stand by my previous comments that valuation is an unnecessary cost.
For any investor spend your money in the necessary offices and you will never be disappointed.
@mucene i agree my example was a bit shady but i hope now you get my point
And for you Mr valuer please advertise your usual services not coming here and act like mganga kutoka pemba who can protect land buyers from all kinds of fraudsters .
timuka
#13 Posted : Tuesday, June 03, 2014 7:07:02 AM

the number of "hello's" posting their email addresses on this thread, wacha tu!!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
actuarywahisa
#14 Posted : Tuesday, June 03, 2014 9:29:39 AM

It's frustrating to see how land issues are treated in this country.

I actually consider buying land almost as russian roulette or mine sweeper-the pc game. You never know when you land on a mine!! Is there a way to prevent fraud 100% even with visits to a Land surveyor?

I also think someone should volunteer and give the necessary 'steps' to be followed for one to buy a piece of clean land from hearing about the piece to seeing your name on the title. Thanks.
There are too many opportunities all around. Open your eyes and maybe you'll spot one
Mo
#15 Posted : Tuesday, June 03, 2014 2:24:09 PM

@actua...and all the hellos/newbies,
read the info here http://www.mwakilishi.co...-buy-land-in-kenya.html
Speak your truth quietly and clearly; and listen to others, even the dull and the ignorant; they too have their story.
Marty
#16 Posted : Wednesday, June 04, 2014 1:30:57 PM

1. I want to know, what happens when a SACCO official takes off with cash, that was meant for land purchase. What recourse do the SACCO/Investment group members have?

2. Do you have sample agreements for leasing out land? Do they have to be registered etc etc?

@Mukiri,

Niko bwana though very busy. At least you can remember me.

When I admire the wonder of a sunset or the beauty
of the moon, my soul expands in worship of the Creator.
#17 Posted : Wednesday, June 04, 2014 3:47:37 PM

I too want to know Pastor...I sunk some funds into a sacco acquired plot that was to be subdivided, they took copies of documents and keep saying the titles are coming. 2 years have passed and I am smelling a rat ....and eti the reason I did this is cause the sacco could do more thorough diligence than I could d'oh!
#18 Posted : Wednesday, June 04, 2014 5:03:59 PM

quicksand wrote:

I too want to know Pastor...I sunk some funds into a sacco acquired plot that was to be subdivided, they took copies of documents and keep saying the titles are coming. 2 years have passed and I am smelling a rat ....and eti the reason I did this is cause the sacco could do more thorough diligence than I could d'oh!

Police/ cid or civil court.
#19 Posted : Wednesday, June 04, 2014 5:35:56 PM

Theres a problem with your internal systems. How can an official handle cash? If you have a bank account, members deposit directly into it and all withdrawals are by cheque with atleast TWO signatories.
I can understand if an official took off with some cash given to him by a busy member to bank, but not mullah enough to buy land. Maybe you withdrew the cash and gave him to pay the seller, means you have no record of paying the seller, even if the cash was faithfully delivered.
Take it as a lesson and build systems to run the SACCO. And never trust anyone where cash is concerned, even your .......
propertyvaluer
#20 Posted : Wednesday, June 04, 2014 8:46:42 PM

@mpobiz
You are a serial liar!! Immediately the Institution of Surveyors of Kenya (ISK) and Valuers Registration Board (VRB)(which registers valuers) hears such incidences of gross misconduct, that a valuer does a valuation of a non-existent land or is engaged in funny funny stuff, first, you are de-registered and taken to court to answer charges. So maybe, as your name suggests, you went to River Road and picked valuers without authenticating their qualifications because they were cheap, then when the deal went sour, you started blaming all valuers. FYI valuation is among the most guarded professions in Kenya because it involves billions of money. No valuer would want to do sub-standard work, considering the consequences that follow. You might have been conned by rogue valuers and here you are blaming all valuers. No room for that in Kenya!!