wazua Fri, Mar 27, 2026

M-shwari loan
theking
#1 Posted : Saturday, December 14, 2013 11:17:52 AM

Just took my 1st m-shwari loan. Processing took less than 2mins. i had 0 bal in both m-pesa n m-shwari accounts. Wow! this thing wl go places. But the big question in, hw wl they deal with defaulters?
#2 Posted : Saturday, December 14, 2013 11:33:15 AM

theking wrote:
Just took my 1st m-shwari loan. Processing took less than 2mins. i had 0 bal in both m-pesa n m-shwari accounts. Wow! this thing wl go places. But the big question in, hw wl they deal with defaulters?

Me think its hard to default, unless you do not use MPESA. They will Just transfer from YOUR mpesa. But wait, you will get several reminders as repayment deadline approaches.
jerry
#3 Posted : Saturday, December 14, 2013 11:58:16 AM

Am wrote:
theking wrote:

Me think its hard to default, unless you do not use MPESA. They will Just transfer from YOUR mpesa. But wait, you will get several reminders as repayment deadline approaches.

Defaulters will be fwded to credit reference Authorities!
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#4 Posted : Saturday, December 14, 2013 1:58:57 PM

theking wrote:

How much have you taken as loan?

theking
#5 Posted : Saturday, December 14, 2013 2:06:04 PM

theking wrote:

How much have you taken as loan?

A very small amount. Was actually just testing to c wetha it works. Was amazed by the efficiency
#6 Posted : Saturday, December 14, 2013 2:48:14 PM

jerry wrote:
Am wrote:
theking wrote:

I asked same question. And I hear they have done their averaging and concluded that the risk is already covered by the interest earned from the loans, 7% per month means 84% interest per annum! But they don't have rights to transfer your Mpesa money to Mshwari.

I think they have debt collection plan, which is scheduled and deisnged to harras defaulters, which I think eventually leads to your oine being suspended, not mentioning your name appearing in Credit Reference Authorities Shame on you
Kihara joni
#7 Posted : Saturday, December 14, 2013 4:36:36 PM

most loans are around 2,900/- I wouldn't want to lose my number because of 3k, plus this thing saved my behind sometimes back
#8 Posted : Sunday, December 15, 2013 6:26:54 PM

Risk of default is insured and all that fuzzy actuarial math has gone into the structuring of this product.
There is also an automated engine that lowers your credit risk rating as you build your borrow-repay history.
In any case only an idiot would think of losing such a convenient facility for a miserly approx theoritical max of 7000/- one-off payday.
#9 Posted : Sunday, December 15, 2013 9:05:50 PM

jerry wrote:
Am wrote:
theking wrote:

I asked same question. And I hear they have done their averaging and concluded that the risk is already covered by the interest earned from the loans, 7% per month means 84% interest per annum! But they don't have rights to transfer your Mpesa money to Mshwari.

I think they have debt collection plan, which is scheduled and deisnged to harras defaulters, which I think eventually leads to your oine being suspended, not mentioning your name appearing in Credit Reference Authorities Shame on you

There is already a section at their call centre whose sole job is to keep calling n "harassing" defaulters.
Muheani
#10 Posted : Monday, December 16, 2013 6:44:46 AM

jerry wrote:
Am wrote:
theking wrote:

There is already a section at their call centre whose sole job is to keep calling n "harassing" defaulters.

-@washiku . Kula kulipa.i dont think wr should call it harassment. Someone willigly took up a loan. A few calls to remind them to pay are in order.