wazua Sat, Dec 28, 2024

Nakumatt sold
Mainat
#1 Posted : Tuesday, November 03, 2009 7:47:00 AM

Anybody able to confirm this or is somebody BS-ing?

www.mjengakenya.blogspot.com
Sehemu ndio nyumba
stonemimi
#2 Posted : Tuesday, November 03, 2009 7:54:00 AM

@mainaT

Of what importance if sold or not?

Fundaah
#3 Posted : Tuesday, November 03, 2009 7:57:00 AM

They were talking of an IPO ...what happened? .....I bet Tuskys and Ukwalla could be doing better ....their models are more common man friendly....just as Ekwete .......Nakumatt is more geared to few elites market niche....If Nakumatt is sold ...it may not add any plates in my kitchen.....

Rules of the game here: Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good.... It's good to live a honest life....life without guilt.... Jeremiah 17:11 As a partridge that hatches eggs which it has not laid,So is he who makes a fortune,but unjustly; In the midst of his days it will forsake him,And in the end he will be a fool.' From the SK Anti-hate/anti- corruption campaigner..
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
ONE WORLD
#4 Posted : Tuesday, November 03, 2009 8:45:00 AM

@Fundah

Ukiona mwengine ana nyolewa...what do u do 2 ur hend?

I am selling my Duka soon.

DONT'T SAVE WHAT IS LEFT AFTER SPENDING; SPEND WHAT IS LEFT AFTER SAVING.
drake
#5 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 12:13:00 PM

Nkmatt has been having cash-flow problems compounded by the loss of Nkmatt Downtown which was their most profitable and most liquid. As a result,they had their credit rating withdrawn - effectively ending any hopes of listing IMHO

http://www.globalratings...2ae16f597a1295af617ee2e

they've also had to supplement working capital by issuing relatively expensive commercial paper and the last time I was there,weren't redeeming shopper points.... also what happened to FIT?

However,the business model (from an ops P.O.V) is likely not the problem and methinks they went the Uchmi way and 'over-expanded'

While it's true that Tskys & Ukwla cater to the 'lower' end of the market - the 'EQTY Bank model' as I like to call it is also their achilles heel vis a vis STDCH.

One 'independent analyst' has been so bold as to state that EQTY is correlated to GDP.....I might as well claim that the same holds for Tskys & Ukwla. The 'lower' end of the market exhibits very high income elasticity and when the economy suffers and/or inflation spirals this end of the market takes the biggest hit & is bound to change or impact their shopping trends.

Also,looking at it from an Average Revenue per Shopper point of view,I have no doubt that this is higher at Nkmatt than Tskys & Ukwla. (Possibly a multiple thereof)

PS
As the self-proclaimed and yet-to-be-coronated king of arbitrage,I,some time back,visited either divide of the shopping space hunting for price differentials. Some of you may be surprised to note that for some products,NKmatt was actually cheaper than Tskys or Ukwla albeit by only one or two shillings (not worth search costs) while having a more diverse product range.

It often happens that a TRADER carries out a deep and complicated calculation,but fails to spot something elementary right at the first move!
Pierce
#6 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 12:25:00 PM

@drake,wacha mambo mingi!! Imeuzwa ama la!!
pops
#7 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 12:36:00 PM

the rumours are very true,nakumatt is having cash flow problems. i supplied them in march and am still waiting for payment. the last i was told that the best they could do was pay me on a consignment basis i.e. only for what they have sold. so i am stuck and have been doing some sniffing around. the feedback i got was that there are ownership wrangles. apparently the big guy has been sidelined together with the operations director in boardroom politics. and these were the brains behind the nakumatt success. so the other guys have messed things up over the last few months. anyway its rumoured the big guy is exiting and selling out. question is who is buying him out??
#8 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 12:39:00 PM

20% sold,to a foriegn firm,who has owned a Kenyan company in the past.....North African guy.

pinkpanther
#9 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 1:47:00 PM

@kulalaha.
Why can't you name the guy.We need to know who owns some of these big coys.

pink
jaribu
#10 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 2:39:00 PM

1. who really owns nakumatt and what percentage? coz mara it's john harun mwau,then wahindi,then moi...

2. has this company ever paid taxes really and how much?

any clues?

wHo.. DaRes.. wIns!
#11 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 3:12:00 PM

.....is Gaddafi involved?????

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
#12 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 4:24:00 PM

So... no one has answered @maiant question... yet...

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
yekeyeke
#13 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 4:58:00 PM

Soma hii

http://www.eastandard.ne...14&j=&m=&d=

http://www.rich.co.ke/media/docs/020NSX1307.pdf

'You can fool all the people some of the time,and some of the people all the time,but you cannot fool all the people all the time.'
Abraham Lincoln.
#14 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 5:42:00 PM

Was nakumatt ever going to hav an ipo?i think it was just a gimmick to get shoppers back to their stores after uchumi was revivd by gok in 06.there was a big patriotism based drive to get pple shop @ uchumi coz it was revivd using gvt funds.nakumat responded to that drive by claiming their purchases were kenyan n then that they wld have an ipo!

The wicked flee even when no one is pursuing...
#15 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 6:33:00 PM

Kenya was ahead of the game... bailing out firms with taxpayer cash... LOL... then the USA & UK started bailing out the banks using taxpayer money...

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
#16 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 6:36:00 PM

Unlike the old Uchumi... Nakumatt does not own properties but leases them so (yes,they lost the sales from Downtown + Thika Rd) but not the properties. I am surprised Nakumatt hasn't taken over the old cinemas (Cameo/Embassy) to open a new location.

#17 Posted : Wednesday, November 11, 2009 6:41:00 PM

who would do an IPO in this environment... unless they are desperate... Nakumatt management is smart to hold off since either the price they get will be low(er) or they cant sell all the shares OR both... Look at Co-op which lowered the price as well as an under-subscription!!!

Fundaah
#18 Posted : Thursday, November 12, 2009 7:18:00 AM

what happened to their Managing Director,Mr Thiagarajan Ramamurthy......change of guard? dont see him in news since the downtown fire incident...

Rules of the game here:

Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good....
It's good to live a honest life....life without guilt....

Jeremiah 17:11

As a partridge that hatches eggs which it has not laid,So is he who makes a fortune,but unjustly; In the midst of his days it will forsake him,And in the end he will be a fool.'

From the SK Anti-hate/anti- corruption campaigner..
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
#19 Posted : Thursday, November 12, 2009 7:26:00 AM

you have to love the way wahindi runs his business..with the crunch..the compnay is still in shape...

heard they leased space at the former odeon cinema..a walk walk out model..guess it makes more money coz of the medium income segment....

i love your smile....

Ever had a bath so hot,that as you lower urself in 'Oo! Oo! Oo! Aa! Aa! Aa..ahhh…ohhh yeahh eehhh yeahh!'.
ispoa
#20 Posted : Thursday, November 12, 2009 7:53:00 AM

@ V V S

'Unlike the old Uchumi... Nakumatt does not own properties.....'

What abt Junction,Prestige???

When you do the common things in life in an uncommon way,you will command the attention of the world.

Indecision and delays are the parents of failure.