Corruption in Kenya.
Rank: Elder Joined: 5/21/2013 Posts: 2,841 Location: Here
So, a report was released the other day showing Kenya as the fourth most corrupt country in the world. Heck, this time, we've even beaten our perennial rivals, Nigeria, at it. And whereas some of us may have doubts about the credibility of the study, we nevertheless all are in agreement that this cancer called corruption has become too endemic in Kenya. And so, it got me thinking, is it really that impossible to tackle corruption once-and-for-all in our society and country? I mean, some countries have managed to do it with stellar results. I have in mind Georgia that has managed to bring down corruption markedly by doing some simple yet revolutionary thing. Read more here: Georgia.Life is like playing a violin solo in public and learning the instrument as one goes on.
Keenly watching the hits.......probably we might blame wazungu for this the wazua way!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rankaz13 wrote:So, a report was released the other day showing Kenya as the fourth most corrupt country in the world. Heck, this time, we've even beaten our perennial rivals, Nigeria, at it. And whereas some of us may have doubts about the credibility of the study, we nevertheless all are in agreement that this cancer called corruption has become too endemic in Kenya. And so, it got me thinking, is it really that impossible to tackle corruption once-and-for-all in our society and country? I mean, some countries have managed to do it with stellar results. I have in mind Georgia that has managed to bring down corruption markedly by doing some simple yet revolutionary thing. Read more here: Georgia. Its not that hard just that those who are meant to tackle this vice from the top are deep in it...how many big names get prosecuted?They always find a way of evading prosecution...there is zero will power... possunt quia posse videntur
I love Kenya so much but on this one, we are a complete failure! I with the youngsters we'd see some immediate results on head rolling but it is business as usual! Nothing happening. the police FORCE is still taking bribes, my title deed is still doing rounds in Land's registry 2 years on, tenders are still given on who-knows-who basis....well, what can one say?
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
It's not about states, it's about individuals. Am I corruption free? Can I ever be corruption free?
What is obstacle called 'devil'? My 'ignorance'. That's why 'knowledge' was 'my' 'temptation'. 'Perfect' knowledge is the answer.
So to eradicate corruption in me, I must not only seek knowledge, but I must be 'perfect love'.
Meanwhile, in Georgia corruption is being centralized. But we are in an era of privatization!
The Georgian way is unsustainable. But alas, the ranking is also questionable.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/2/2011 Posts: 4,818 Location: -1.2107, 36.8831
What good do you expect of an Ouru and Rooto governance. The name Kiniatta just reminds me of 'Kanyoni gakwa wihithe hithe, na wonuo nduri wakwa'. Receive with simplicity everything that happens to you.” ― Rashi
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/31/2008 Posts: 7,081 Location: Kenya
McReggae wrote:Keenly watching the hits.......probably we might blame wazungu for this the wazua way!!!! Why should we force laptops down the throat of kids a d teachers? What is behind this aggressiveness...and many more meaningless projects...
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2012 Posts: 3,855 Location: Othumo
Magigi wrote:McReggae wrote:Keenly watching the hits.......probably we might blame wazungu for this the wazua way!!!! Why should we force laptops down the throat of kids a d teachers? What is behind this aggressiveness...and many more meaningless projects... Omera you seem to have been away in shaggs, we have moved on from Laptops to providing Tablets. Thieves
King G wrote:Magigi wrote:McReggae wrote:Keenly watching the hits.......probably we might blame wazungu for this the wazua way!!!! Why should we force laptops down the throat of kids a d teachers? What is behind this aggressiveness...and many more meaningless projects... Omera you seem to have been away in shaggs, we have moved on from Laptops to providing Tablets. A priest was once invited for dinner. The host did not know that the priest didndidn't eat pork....he did not want to bother the host...and so he prayed, 'Lord Jesus I convert this pork into chicken.....' and he gladly partook of the newly converted pork ...
maka wrote:Rankaz13 wrote:So, a report was released the other day showing Kenya as the fourth most corrupt country in the world. Heck, this time, we've even beaten our perennial rivals, Nigeria, at it. And whereas some of us may have doubts about the credibility of the study, we nevertheless all are in agreement that this cancer called corruption has become too endemic in Kenya. And so, it got me thinking, is it really that impossible to tackle corruption once-and-for-all in our society and country? I mean, some countries have managed to do it with stellar results. I have in mind Georgia that has managed to bring down corruption markedly by doing some simple yet revolutionary thing. Read more here: Georgia. Its not that hard just that those who are meant to tackle this vice from the top are deep in it...how many big names get prosecuted?They always find a way of evading prosecution...there is zero will power... Its normally the case of 'if you cant beat them, join them' that is making everyone else join the bandwagon. Very sad, but imagine if we avoided thos esmall traffic offenses and refused to part with a 'rwabe' for the cop??
Rank: Member Joined: 9/9/2010 Posts: 784 Location: ant hill - red hill
McReggae wrote:Keenly watching the hits.......probably we might blame wazungu for this the wazua way!!!! This is becoming boring. If you have something to contribute, post. The greatest act of bravery is chancing a fart while suffering from diarrhoea
maka wrote:Rankaz13 wrote:So, a report was released the other day showing Kenya as the fourth most corrupt country in the world. Heck, this time, we've even beaten our perennial rivals, Nigeria, at it. And whereas some of us may have doubts about the credibility of the study, we nevertheless all are in agreement that this cancer called corruption has become too endemic in Kenya. And so, it got me thinking, is it really that impossible to tackle corruption once-and-for-all in our society and country? I mean, some countries have managed to do it with stellar results. I have in mind Georgia that has managed to bring down corruption markedly by doing some simple yet revolutionary thing. Read more here: Georgia. Its not that hard just that those who are meant to tackle this vice from the top are deep in it...how many big names get prosecuted?They always find a way of evading prosecution...there is zero will power... My thoughts exactly Lord, thank you!
Wendz wrote:I love Kenya so much but on this one, we are a complete failure! I with the youngsters we'd see some immediate results on head rolling but it is business as usual! Nothing happening. the police FORCE is still taking bribes, my title deed is still doing rounds in Land's registry 2 years on, tenders are still given on who-knows-who basis....well, what can one say? Hiyo ya polisi, wacha tu. I was watching that feature on BBC news yesterday. Do you know what they did? Having established that traffic police were amongst the most corrupt, they decided to come up with a new modus operandi (pardon my dholuo). They abolished the traffic department and instituted US-style road patrols. The former officers were not redeployed, no. They were sacked!! Now, talk of guts! Life is like playing a violin solo in public and learning the instrument as one goes on.
McReggae wrote:Keenly watching the hits.......probably we might blame wazungu for this the wazua way!!!! Oh yeah, that. But haven't we been independent (sovereign?) for 50yrs now? Looking for scapegoats won't work in this issue. Life is like playing a violin solo in public and learning the instrument as one goes on.
Rank: Member Joined: 4/24/2012 Posts: 331 Location: Vantage point
Magigi wrote: Why should we force laptops down the throat of kids a d teachers? What is behind this aggressiveness...and many more meaningless projects...
That is the trouble with seeing things through a certain filter (lifestyle). One can only identify with your problems if they have walked a mile in your shoes.
Rank: Member Joined: 4/6/2010 Posts: 741 Location: Nairobi
Rankaz13 wrote:Hiyo ya polisi, wacha tu. I was watching that feature on BBC news yesterday. Do you know what they did? Having established that traffic police were amongst the most corrupt, they decided to come up with a new modus operandi (pardon my dholuo). They abolished the traffic department and instituted US-style road patrols. The former officers were not redeployed, no. They were sacked!! Now, talk of guts! Nobody in Kenya; Mpig, Judge, Teacher, lawyer, police etc etc is ever sacked when caught in the wrong. They are simply transferred. hata am sure Waiganjo ako police post ingine tu flani
Magigi wrote:McReggae wrote:Keenly watching the hits.......probably we might blame wazungu for this the wazua way!!!! Why should we force laptops down the throat of kids a d teachers? What is behind this aggressiveness...and many more meaningless projects... Laptops for kids = corruption? Is that the reason why our position has "improved"? I can bet over 98% of us try to negotiate with police for ANY offense committed and unfortunately, they mostly succumb. I care!
safariant wrote:McReggae wrote:Keenly watching the hits.......probably we might blame wazungu for this the wazua way!!!! This is becoming boring. If you have something to contribute, post.
Lolest! wrote:safariant wrote:McReggae wrote:Keenly watching the hits.......probably we might blame wazungu for this the wazua way!!!! This is becoming boring. If you have something to contribute, post. I can see the two of you really got stuff to post..... ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
thuks wrote:Laptops for kids = corruption? Is that the reason why our position has "improved"? I can bet over 98% of us try to negotiate with police for ANY offense committed and unfortunately, they mostly succumb. Some people eat heir cut before some projects are conceived!!! And hence no turning back!
Corruption in Kenya.