wazua Sun, Jan 12, 2025

Business Brookside Dairy acquires majority stake in Molo Milk
gmg
#1 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 2:33:19 AM

Rink http://www.standardmedia...ity-stake-in-molo-milk.

Kwani how deep are brookeside pockets? the deal is worth approximately 3 billion kshs????????
#2 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 5:16:16 AM

gmg wrote:

Kwani how deep are brookeside pockets? the deal is worth approximately 3 billion kshs????????

Eish...I know people who cant use any other milk if its not packed by this dairy. Kenyans love tea white tea for that matter milk is big business
#3 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 6:18:37 AM

Wow. That gives them a 60 percent market share. Usiseme maziwa, sema Brookside;-)
#4 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 7:39:04 AM

..And Still some lazy haters still talk ooh..hii familia ni wezi..oohh..walinyakua.

The Family is simply smart and they know how, when and where to Invest..
#5 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 8:04:24 AM

Am wrote:
..And Still some lazy haters still talk ooh..hii familia ni wezi..oohh..walinyakua.

NKT.

Ni wanyakuzi wa mali ya umma! Hii ni mashamba ya wataveta ambayo inauzwa pole pole, pesa inapelekwa kwengineko!

Now Brookeside has Tuzo, Molo na Brookeside.

#6 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 8:32:32 AM

Am wrote:

NKT.

Ni wanyakuzi wa mali ya umma! Hii ni mashamba ya wataveta ambayo inauzwa pole pole, pesa inapelekwa kwengineko!

Hmmm...nice business move on their part. I still stick to my KCC though, their milk just tastes 'sweeter'.
mkeiyd
#7 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 9:22:43 AM

Am wrote:

Acha siasa, keep such lyrical narrations for aliens.

Moving on, i hope they won't start monopolistic b.s.
#8 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 9:41:08 AM

gmg wrote:

They have very deep pockets.Part of brookeside shareholding is owned by an investment fund I cant remember the name it is either Helios or Actis but am not sure.Now if you combine that with the Kenyatta's family's wealth then you have a monolith that now may be controlling 85% of the Milk market in Kenya.
#9 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 9:53:26 AM

We know which food product will not attract VAT, we know which product will not have price controls despite it being an important part of the diet...
mwekez@ji
#10 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 9:55:26 AM

gmg wrote:

Whats the Net Asset Value, Return on Assets & Return on Equity of Molo Milk? Then we can tell goodwill paid by brookside and whether its justified
#11 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 9:56:47 AM

We know which food product will not attract VAT, we know which product will not have price controls despite it being an important part of the diet...

Proccessed milk will not be taxed.

Tito44
#12 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 10:08:24 AM

Proccessed milk will not be taxed.

and hawking of raw milk criminalized. Lol
#13 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 10:14:37 AM

Molo Milk is so overated......they have such a small capacity for fresh milk with not a single UHT machine....they have to co-pack with Kabianga dairy: Before this sale they must have been sitting at number 5 in terms of production capacity:

1. Brookside, 2. NKCC, 3. Daima, 4. Githunguri and 5. Molo milk.
streetwise
#14 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 10:16:05 AM

who will catch the criminal ..otherwise it will be another entry in our laws to increase the volume and storage space.
#15 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 10:40:21 AM

anti competitive practices Sad
#16 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 10:50:06 AM

Molo Milk is so overated......they have such a small capacity for fresh milk with not a single UHT machine....they have to co-pack with Kabianga dairy: Before this sale they must have been sitting at number 5 in terms of production capacity:

Molo milk has been a headache for Brookeside you see tuzo and Ilara brand are geared towards the mass market and targets mainly small income households.

Molo is king in that market fresha used to rule but I dont think they can beat Molo.Tuzo even had a promotion going in the market to finish molo by reducing its price by 5/= but molo remained put.

I think Brookeside just wants to finish a a formidable competitor and as @Guru267 says the govt shld check this noncompetitive behavior...but oops who is the government?
bird_man
#17 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 10:58:30 AM

Non competitive behaviour?Really?It is a capitalist system.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#18 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 11:19:40 AM

Brookside will acquire Daima (Sameer) next. Merali wouldn't say no to a 3B deal for Sameer Dairy. Watch this space...
#19 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 11:48:13 AM

Am wrote:

NKT.

Live on nation TV - all channels - Uhuru challenged anyone with evidence that his family stole anything from anybody and no one came up. And this was in front of all his political detractors. Karua even had to retract the claim she had made earlier that week that the Kenyattas own half of Kenya!

So, @dunkang; present here the evidence you have of the stolen land in Taveta. And don't just say that the Kenyattas have 30,000 acres there. There is nothing wrong with owning 30,000 acres.

And another thing, you imply that the Kenyattas have sold off the land in Taveta to raise cash for Molo Milk take over: when did the sale occur and to whom did they sell?

DISCLAIMER:
I did not vote for Uhuru because he strikes me as a weak character -- look at the way he is pleading with striking teachers instead of cracking the whip!
#20 Posted : Friday, July 05, 2013 12:00:10 PM

selah wrote:

Molo milk has been a headache for Brookeside you see tuzo and Ilara brand are geared towards the mass market and targets mainly small income households.

Molo is king in that market fresha used to rule but I dont think they can beat Molo.Tuzo even had a promotion going in the market to finish molo by reducing its price by 5/= but molo remained put.

I think Brookeside just wants to finish a a formidable competitor and as @Guru267 says the govt shld check this noncompetitive behavior...but oops who is the government?

Boss if you knew the capacities of both plants you would no talk.....Brookside processes more than 500,000 (consevative) litres of milk everyday.....Molo does less than 200K!!!!....Molo plant in Molo only compares to Brookside Indutrial area plant (formerly TUZO).....you don't get to Ruiru where it is an empire!!!!