wazua Sun, Feb 2, 2025

The average policeman... the average tout...
lietmach
#1 Posted : Sunday, June 02, 2013 1:22:42 PM

In Kenya, if you get an A's (straight) in KCSE you go to a high powered uni course (eng, arch, med, etc). The A minuses and B's end up in BCom, Law, B.Ed etc. The C's end up in mid-level colleges (TTC, KMTC etc). The D's and E's are sort of left to whatever devices they can get their hands on: touts, policemen, hawking, farming, KYM etc. This is based on a segmented Gaussian distribution - with the exceptional outliers in each (sub-population)
Assuming KCSE performance (minus drilling) is a good indicator of intellect, is it surprising the quality of cops/touts/KYM that we have???
As far as the other cadres are concerned, I think that the introduction of parallel degree programmes means that university papers dont present the accurate picture of ability (both skill and intellect). Eg UoN med sch 2008 had approx 350 graduands and only 150 were regular. Hao wengine were 'able' to pay Kshs 500000 p.a.!! Halafu sasa tunasikia madaktari are half-baked

#2 Posted : Sunday, June 02, 2013 1:34:32 PM

You're misinformed! you think all cops are D and E materials?????
#3 Posted : Sunday, June 02, 2013 1:51:28 PM

Coolio wrote:

Not all but most.

#4 Posted : Sunday, June 02, 2013 1:56:45 PM

Coolio wrote:

Not all but most.

not all but most agreed. when they charged one Mr agunda for murdering his wife and daughter who were actually attending the court hearings I gave up on the Kenya police
lietmach
#5 Posted : Sunday, June 02, 2013 2:10:41 PM

@Coolio, the AVERAGE policeman is nothing to write home about.
thuks
#6 Posted : Sunday, June 02, 2013 6:06:44 PM

lietmach wrote:
@Coolio, the AVERAGE policeman is nothing to write home about.

He/ she holds ppls lives in his / her hands. The society ignored this fact and now being paid by the same coin. Who endangers their life for ash 20k per month?
I care!
#7 Posted : Sunday, June 02, 2013 7:46:54 PM

Lol! Coolio ni ...... sura ngumu roho sugu. Mkiendelea kuchesea yeye hapa naona runguu ikichapaa....
#8 Posted : Sunday, June 02, 2013 8:28:51 PM

Our education system is flawed! And only seeks to divide on the basis of who has a better memory than who. Its no wonder lawyers (historians) are the richest in the country. It does not create people capable of 'thinking' just 'doing'.

An average cop probably saves more lives than your average doctor. His sheer presence is bound to keep the thugs at bay (the thugs with a little manners), while your average doctor taught to dish out poison (medicine) without addressing the root causes (food, lifestyle etc)

If there are any policy makers here, make Medicine a 2nd degree! After Nutrition!

#9 Posted : Sunday, June 02, 2013 9:01:40 PM

Our education system is flawed! And only seeks to divide on the basis of who has a better memory than who. Its no wonder lawyers (historians) are the richest in the country. It does not create people capable of 'thinking' just 'doing'.

An average cop probably saves more lives than your average doctor. His sheer presence is bound to keep the thugs at bay (the thugs with a little manners), while your average doctor taught to dish out poison (medicine) without addressing the root causes (food, lifestyle etc)

If there are any policy makers here, make Medicine a 2nd degree! After Nutrition!

this is what we call out of box logic.
#10 Posted : Sunday, June 02, 2013 9:30:57 PM

simply defective reasoning. High grades do not translate to wisdom else all A students would be making great decisions but we know they dont. Blame it on culture
Ngong
#11 Posted : Sunday, June 02, 2013 9:50:50 PM

simply defective reasoning. High grades do not translate to wisdom else all A students would be making great decisions but we know they dont. Blame it on culture

Thanks!
Mtu ni utu sio degree!
Apple Bees
#12 Posted : Monday, June 03, 2013 1:36:09 AM

Last time the doctors were on strike, they were chanting: Tumesoma na tunasota. Well, if policemen were to strike, theirs would probably be like: Tulichota D na twatawala
#13 Posted : Monday, June 03, 2013 1:49:02 AM

Ngong wrote:

Thanks!
Mtu ni utu sio degree!

Hamna kitu hapa...masomo ni muhimu
lietmach
#14 Posted : Monday, June 03, 2013 3:15:15 AM

Fact 1: the average architect in govt is in jobgroup L earning 35k (basic salo before allowances). The average doctor is JG M earning 40k basic. A doctor and arch and eng are more inclined to reason things out in a certain way and give a certain targeted intervention e.g the arch will ask you how big your land is, what you hope to achieve with it then try and create something out of whats available. And so invest his knowledge and skill to make progress life
The policeman will arrest some Kenyan in Umoja for not having an ID yet he had stepped out to buy sukuma (for 10bob) and left the stew on the jiko. Then he will ask for TKK. Most councillors (show me one who has a degree not gotten in the 'evening classes) have very valuable pieces of land allocated in prime areas
Woe unto us when professionals eg docs, arch, eng start opening butcheries and vinyozi's (like they do) so that they can make ends meet, because the question is when do they better their knowledge and skill when they are busy in the garage getting their matatu crew released by the policeman for touting. And the 'poorly' paid policemen and hawkers are the landlords so those who have invested more time and energy acquiring skills have to pay those who have no skills (and are making rules). God help us
Muheani
#15 Posted : Monday, June 03, 2013 5:58:59 AM

lietmach wrote:
Fact 1: the average architect in govt is in jobgroup L earning 35k (basic salo before allowances). The average doctor is JG M earning 40k basic. A doctor and arch and eng are more inclined to reason things out in a certain way and give a certain targeted intervention e.g the arch will ask you how big your land is, what you hope to achieve with it then try and create something out of whats available. And so invest his knowledge and skill to make progress life
The policeman will arrest some Kenyan in Umoja for not having an ID yet he had stepped out to buy sukuma (for 10bob) and left the stew on the jiko. Then he will ask for TKK. Most councillors (show me one who has a degree not gotten in the 'evening classes) have very valuable pieces of land allocated in prime areas
Woe unto us when professionals eg docs, arch, eng start opening butcheries and vinyozi's (like they do) so that they can make ends meet, because the question is when do they better their knowledge and skill when they are busy in the garage getting their matatu crew released by the policeman for touting. And the 'poorly' paid policemen and hawkers are the landlords so those who have invested more time and energy acquiring skills have to pay those who have no skills (and are making rules). God help us

You Have A Point
Ni Shamba la Wanyama..but Like They Say, Life isnt Fare..to All Of Us..

I Agree With @mukiri

And The Moment We Understand That Not Every Child Can Be A Doctor, Pilot, Accountant, Engineer;
And That A Child Can Be An Artist, A Musician, Anthropologist, A Farmer, A Footballer

Then We Will Reflect On Why One Needs To Take Their 6 Yr Olds Off To Boarding In academies..... N support Them as They Become What They Cud Best Become.

lietmach
#16 Posted : Monday, June 03, 2013 6:53:02 AM

And then there is always that small issue: you make money (in Wazua market, the stock market or real estate) then you send your child to medical or engineering school...
#17 Posted : Monday, June 03, 2013 8:08:20 AM

Muheani wrote:
lietmach wrote:

You Have A Point

I Agree With @mukiri

And The Moment We Understand That Not Every Child Can Be A Doctor, Pilot, Accountant, Engineer;
And That A Child Can Be An Artist, A Musician, Anthropologist, A Farmer, A Footballer

Then We Will Reflect On Why One Needs To Take Their 6 Yr Olds Off To Boarding In academies..... N support Them as They Become What They Cud Best Become.

Doesnt this bring the line of thinking that would limit ourselves?You can be anything you want to be all it takes is hard work,focus and determination...the will power to achieve...we are all not the same that is how God made us, someone would want to be a doctor,engineer etc but in their minds they will be like,I cant get those grades let me stick to something else that will require me to work less,score less...Yes allow your children space and freedom to decide what they want to do but also help them know the value of giving it their all,working hard etc
#18 Posted : Monday, June 03, 2013 8:51:04 AM

Apple Bees wrote:
Last time the doctors were on strike, they were chanting: Tumesoma na tunasota. Well, if policemen were to strike, theirs would probably be like: Tulichota D na twatawala

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
Muheani
#19 Posted : Monday, June 03, 2013 9:01:14 AM

Muheani wrote:
lietmach wrote:

You Have A Point

I Agree With @mukiri

Doesnt this bring the line of thinking that would limit ourselves?You can be anything you want to be all it takes is hard work,focus and determination...the will power to achieve...we are all not the same that is how God made us, someone would want to be a doctor,engineer etc but in their minds they will be like,I cant get those grades let me stick to something else that will require me to work less,score less...Yes allow your children space and freedom to decide what they want to do but also help them know the value of giving it their all,working hard etc

Agreed Maka
The tragedy is we parents are more likely to want our kids to be what we wanted to be...insteady of pushing them to be all they can be..
#20 Posted : Monday, June 03, 2013 9:45:16 AM

Being a professional artist, footballer, musician is no less a task than being a doctor, engineer, architect! They all call for hard work and determination. None is 'easier' than the other.

How I wish we'd come up with an education system that recognizes this.