wazua Fri, Aug 1, 2025

conmen on the loose
specky
#1 Posted : Thursday, May 16, 2013 2:03:47 PM

ok,it happened to today,we lost a work mate last week,may his soul rest in peace - attacked by the thugs and left to die.....
so a guy calls the office today and says he wants to speak to someone coz he wants to sent his donation and he was a friend of the late so he wants to sent his pole from US, the reception gives him my number and the idiot calls me,...i am so and so calling from US,i called ur office and was given ur number....bla blah, he asks me my full names and says he has sent me 500 dollars towards the funeral,he gives me a money gram ref.No.,and says someone will call me from the back to confirm that the money has been sent,....bla bla, but heres the catch,he tells me i give 20k to the family and the remaining ati theres a boy he has sponsered and supposed to go US na yuko airport and the plane left him and he is being charged 200 dollars coz of the delay so i sent this guy 17,831 immediately coz the next plane is leaving in like 30 mins and he gives the number of the guy held at the airport,i call the guy who is said to be 21yrs and he is crying coz wanataka kumfukuza kwa airport,i tell him to be patient coz niko job,he says its urgent the plane shuold leave in a short while....mimi namuhurumia,can u imagine....omg,i almost sent my money if it was not 4 friend who told me am being conned........kumbe,the late workmate is in the papers today and they have given info of where he used to work.......jeez!,hawa ni wale wa kamiti.....guys be careful
#2 Posted : Thursday, May 16, 2013 2:22:42 PM

You almost sent????....kumbe hujaongea na wale wako na containers waiting for clearance.
#3 Posted : Thursday, May 16, 2013 2:29:15 PM

You almost sent????....kumbe hujaongea na wale wako na containers waiting for clearance.

#4 Posted : Thursday, May 16, 2013 2:34:55 PM

pole specky.
I met one/two too.
Gave him my email cz it was work related from the beginning.
Dude told me that he works in UK and that needs a guide cz he's coming to Kenya via Uganda for biz.
I googled the place he claimed to work and it existed.

Apparently,a friend of his relocating back to UK from Uganda had sold him a vehicle which he planned on using to cross into Kenya.
I like being of help so he got me there.
Told me that his wife died of cancer and that he has a kid,he just loved kenya blablabla.
I offered to help him on the kenyan side.
I called a friend working with a tour firm and told him to expect a 'client'
I wanted him to accompany me when I meet him cz I don't visit strangers alone.
A week later he called saying that he's in Uganda stuck at the border with the teh car full of goodies from duty free UK.smh! thought I was soo shagmondoz.
He needed to pay customs for the vehicle but he was unable to withdraw because his bank was across border in busia ie Kenyan side.
The 'customs' wwere demanding 40k eti, so he begged me to send via mpesa to teh 'customs'then once we meet in Kenya he will refund the money.The twang!! lol

I told him that I was willing to talk to the border officials because they are people I deal with daily.
He even used different phone lines.
The 'border official'after introducing himself said that the fellow was seated in his car,ful off stuff,looking very depressed and threatening to go back.

When I told him that I couldn't send cash but I was willing to help ,based on the issue sorrounding the car,the twang disappeared and he spoke with local accent.

'onatuma pesa au hutumi'? Alaa!! I was shocked at how this mzungu had suddenly developed a kyuk accent.
But honestly teh thought of sending crossed my mind so Specky I understand.
matata
#5 Posted : Thursday, May 16, 2013 2:40:09 PM

Pole sana. those guys r all over. they will even send u a money or job related msg and the min u call or reply to say wrong No, that is where trouble starts cz they call day day out!
#6 Posted : Thursday, May 16, 2013 2:42:42 PM

people are different, some have a soft spot for helping
rryyzz
#7 Posted : Thursday, May 16, 2013 2:53:04 PM

pole specky.
I met one/two too.
Gave him my email cz it was work related from the beginning.
Dude told me that he works in UK and that needs a guide cz he's coming to Kenya via Uganda for biz.
I googled the place he claimed to work and it existed.

Apparently,a friend of his relocating back to UK from Uganda had sold him a vehicle which he planned on using to cross into Kenya.
I like being of help so he got me there.
Told me that his wife died of cancer and that he has a kid,he just loved kenya blablabla.
I offered to help him on the kenyan side.
I called a friend working with a tour firm and told him to expect a 'client'
I wanted him to accompany me when I meet him cz I don't visit strangers alone.
A week later he called saying that he's in Uganda stuck at the border with the teh car full of goodies from duty free UK.smh! thought I was soo shagmondoz.
He needed to pay customs for the vehicle but he was unable to withdraw because his bank was across border in busia ie Kenyan side.
The 'customs' wwere demanding 40k eti, so he begged me to send via mpesa to teh 'customs'then once we meet in Kenya he will refund the money.The twang!! lol

I told him that I was willing to talk to the border officials because they are people I deal with daily.
He even used different phone lines.
The 'border official'after introducing himself said that the fellow was seated in his car,ful off stuff,looking very depressed and threatening to go back.

When I told him that I couldn't send cash but I was willing to help ,based on the issue sorrounding the car,the twang disappeared and he spoke with local accent.

'onatuma pesa au hutumi'? Alaa!! I was shocked at how this mzungu had suddenly developed a kyuk accent.
But honestly teh thought of sending crossed my mind so Specky I understand.
Kukasirika nayo, at being busted.
Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.... Leo Buscaglia
specky
#8 Posted : Thursday, May 16, 2013 2:57:07 PM

honestly i almost sent....when i thot of the gone workmate na bill ya ICU kwanza MPshah,iko......wacha tu,so i had seen this as God sent,u guys should have seen the smile on my face nikisikia ati nipelekee bibi yake 20k
Um Sayala
#9 Posted : Thursday, May 16, 2013 3:04:50 PM

These thingS happen daily. The topic was even discussed in Classic fm jana jioni...i think Shiko Keitatany's show where a lady was almost being conned.

Now a guy who had been conned of 61k narrated his story. I tell you Kamiti sio maxm prison, ni MASSACHUSETTS SCHOOL OF INTELLECTUAL THINKING/CONNING
"Peace is our profession, War is our business" ...Unknown
#10 Posted : Thursday, May 16, 2013 3:20:05 PM

Um Sayala wrote:
These thingS happen daily. The topic was even discussed in Classic fm jana jioni...i think Shiko Keitatany's show where a lady was almost being conned.

Now a guy who had been conned of 61k narrated his story. I tell you Kamiti sio maxm prison, ni MASSACHUSETTS SCHOOL OF INTELLECTUAL THINKING/CONNING

exactly! these are people who are smart enough to come up with innovative ways to make clean money but choose the shortcuts.
#11 Posted : Thursday, May 16, 2013 3:56:46 PM

Why are all these loooooong coning happens to ladies only, so it seems?
@specky, @essyk...whose next?

#12 Posted : Thursday, May 16, 2013 4:01:42 PM

One even got a facebook girlfriend only to get a mans name when he sent some MPesa!!!!

Mbona threads zinatolewa club SK na kuletwa mahali traffic haiko???
matata
#13 Posted : Thursday, May 16, 2013 4:19:38 PM

One even got a facebook girlfriend only to get a mans name when he sent some MPesa!!!!

Mbona threads zinatolewa club SK na kuletwa mahali traffic haiko???

Am also wondering why admin is moving threads which could have done better at club Sk
Prime
#14 Posted : Thursday, May 16, 2013 5:36:02 PM

Copy pasted from facebook

Rule of the game: In towns, uptown, downtown, upcountry or
wherever, Never shake hands with strangers. Never bow to suggestions.(ati ctwende
kando kidogo ama nipeleke). Never send money. Insist on walking to a security personnel nearby incase anyone needs some
assistance from you. Its simple dont agree on anything from someone you dont know, either physicaly or over the phone. If anyone asks whether you have something like a plain paper or pen, HUNA. Or assist in filling a
certain form or loading credit...HUJUI. Simple. If they wanna know the time, tell them to walk to a city clock... IF ANYONE INSISTS RUN VERY FAST. LOOK LEFT AND RIGHT AND CONTINUE RUNNING..Stay safe..

I admit. being conned is sooo easy. And once you get conned they will try extract a little more. I have a lady pal who has been a good pal since our schooling days. So one day she calls me and tells me she really needs some cash urgently. There were some goods being sent and were stuck sijui where. Customs stuff. Now the only problem, as opposed to essyks version is that this mama was actually expecting some stuff she was importing with some pal in Dubai with whom they were running the biz with. So I did not question much coz she only wanted a 10k which I had in my phone anyway. After 20 min she told me to sent 20k coz there was a problem in the calculation based on the exchange rate. And her hubby was not available on phone. I only sent a further 10k but my 6th sense was up. She texted saying she was ok but needed more cash. I had to ask for the whole story bit by bit and I told her she was being conned. She told me it was impossible. To cut the long story short ALMOST a 100k went into thin air. She refunded as promised but the lesson was learnt.
#15 Posted : Thursday, May 16, 2013 6:15:33 PM

These guys have upped their game by acquiring mpesa agent lines and registering their names the way they know they will con you. A lady received those annoying sms from someone claiming to be working for bank of baroda foreign transfers dept. His name was paul and to entrap her the guy sent her kes.100 via a REAL m-pesa transfer.

The m-pesa message read " you have received kes75 from paul baroda". Ati the 75 bob was to pay for stamp duty that the bank had forgotten to include when remitting her 20,000 dollars. By the time she realised it was a con, she had sent over kes.100,000. She went to bank of baroda and on being told there is no paul there, she almost fainted.
#16 Posted : Thursday, May 16, 2013 6:21:13 PM

People who are not GREEDY, are not easily conned. Unless it is those madawa that make you lose sense.
YoungMulla
#17 Posted : Thursday, May 16, 2013 8:58:08 PM

radio wrote:
People who are not GREEDY, are not easily conned. Unless it is those madawa that make you lose sense.

not really, these guys have got me severally and that's despite me considering myself a 'street smart' fellow.When you think about it, this guys spend days, weeks and months planning their cons.They mess with your psychology, your willingness to assist others in need and lust for fast money as you say.

Knowing what I know now, i cannot look down on anyone for being conned, unless ulienda kuombewa pesa!!!!Shame on you
Before I die - i will touch the sky!!
YoungMulla
#18 Posted : Thursday, May 16, 2013 9:00:23 PM

radio wrote:

not really, these guys have got me severally and that's despite me considering myself a 'street smart' fellow.When you think about it, this guys spend days, weeks and months planning their cons.They mess with your psychology, your willingness to assist others in need and lust for fast money as you say.

Knowing what I know now, i cannot look down on anyone for being conned, unless ulienda kuombewa pesa!!!!Shame on you
Before I die - i will touch the sky!!
Tokyo
#19 Posted : Friday, May 17, 2013 3:02:30 AM

When you include money, strangers and deals to make more money in one paragraph , run and never look behind.
Conning is a psychologal game . Very easy to decipher .
Had been a victim indirectly .
work to prosper
livie
#20 Posted : Friday, May 17, 2013 10:46:08 AM

These guys have upped their game by acquiring mpesa agent lines and registering their names the way they know they will con you. A lady received those annoying sms from someone claiming to be working for bank of baroda foreign transfers dept. His name was paul and to entrap her the guy sent her kes.100 via a REAL m-pesa transfer.

The m-pesa message read " you have received kes75 from paul baroda". Ati the 75 bob was to pay for stamp duty that the bank had forgotten to include when remitting her 20,000 dollars. By the time she realised it was a con, she had sent over kes.100,000. She went to bank of baroda and on being told there is no paul there, she almost fainted.

break it down please....
If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump