wazua Mon, Jan 27, 2025

Life after graduation
S.Mutaga III
#1 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 5:45:21 PM

I am a wazuan(probably the youngest) and would like some insight from my fellow wazuans. I am in campus(second year) and I have managed to save 50k over the long holz by rearing chicken back in shagz. However,since I school in Nairobi, and I do not plan to leave after graduation, which is the best biz I can start today so that 2 years down the line I wont be tarmacking broke but will have a ka-biz to atleast pay my bills before my parents kick me out. Dont tell me to invest in stocks because I have already invested in them. Kindly share how you survived after graduation because many have told me that was the hardest part of their life.
A successful man is not he who gets the best, it is he who makes the best from what he gets.
richdad
#2 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 5:54:53 PM

Keep on with the chicken business. Get someone to manage when you are away.
Keep it simple
S.Mutaga III
#3 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 6:00:34 PM

richdad wrote:
Keep on with the chicken business. Get someone to manage when you are away.

There is a shamba boy at home...problem is that he drinks is irresponsible when not supervised...I had to sell the chicken before oppening day of school.I want a ka-biz I can visit during weekends or whenever I feel like so it is best in Nairobi or Thika.
A successful man is not he who gets the best, it is he who makes the best from what he gets.
Wakandi
#4 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 6:01:23 PM

S.Mutaga III wrote:
I am a wazuan(probably the youngest) and would like some insight from my fellow wazuans. I am in campus(second year) and I have managed to save 50k over the long holz by rearing chicken back in shagz. However,since I school in Nairobi, and I do not plan to leave after graduation, which is the best biz I can start today so that 2 years down the line I wont be tarmacking broke but will have a ka-biz to atleast pay my bills before my parents kick me out. Dont tell me to invest in stocks because I have already invested in them. Kindly share how you survived after graduation because many have told me that was the hardest part of their life.

You want to be told and not to be told? Choose one!
S.Mutaga III
#5 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 6:03:28 PM

Wakandi wrote:
S.Mutaga III wrote:

Wakandi...I think I made myself clear when I stated that I have holdings in nse already!!!
#6 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 6:04:14 PM

Let me get this straight

1. You started a chicken biz with no experience and got 50k
2. You now want to leave it to someone you know will fail
3. Apparently there is a biz wazuans know about that will allow you to hire someone that you know will fail.

I don't know about you, but I'd stick with the shickens and forget about hiring someone. Have you heard of the shickens farmer in Nyeri with an aeroplane?

Nini mnataka vijana jameni? Suti na tai?
S.Mutaga III
#7 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 6:08:47 PM

Let me get this straight

1. You started a chicken biz with no experience and got 50k
2. You now want to leave it to someone you know will fail
3. Apparently there is a biz wazuans know about that will allow you to hire someone that you know will fail.

I don't know about you, but I'd stick with the shickens and forget about hiring someone. Have you heard of the shickens farmer in Nyeri with an aeroplane?

Nini mnataka vijana jameni? Suti na tai?

Kuku unalisha wapi Nairobi???...the biz thrives in shagz coz expenses approach zero...Nairobi is not a good environment because of the high expenses...hiyo biz haiwezekani nairobi
richdad
#8 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 6:09:45 PM

Buy used iphones from amazon and ebay. Ship to kenya via DHL. Post your ads for free in olx and google trader. Also posters in KU kama uko huko. Sell them from your college room.

There is potential to make 5k per gadget (selling at 15k - iphone3g and generic tablets).

Aim at graduating to laptops and other IT equipment. Also plan on getting a stall at sarit/westie/or CBD within 2 yrs of the hustle.

p/s I did several businesses while in campus. From printing, selling cds, "helped" friend buy laptops etc. Didn't make much money out of it but the experience was very enriching.
Keep it simple
#9 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 6:12:59 PM

I'm just trying to help you out here.

Where did you study in your college days that you only make money in Nairobi?

You don't want to be broke 2yrs from now. Do you know the number of graduates sitting around Nairobi, trying to figure out the perfect business to do in Nairobi?

Let me give you an idea.

Go back to shags. Keep those shickens until you can produce on a weekly basis. It should take you a year.

That is about the time you guys will go to a big field somewhere to be given the power to read with ugly looking clothes. Look around you at that time at your fellow Nairobi loving graduates.

Then make a decision then.
Wakandi
#10 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 6:14:06 PM

S.Mutaga III wrote:
Wakandi wrote:
S.Mutaga III wrote:

Wakandi...I think I made myself clear when I stated that I have holdings in nse already!!!

Ok @Mutaga,
It is never easy to start a new venture. If i were you, i would not let off the chicken biz out of worry about being failed. Get a better shamba boy and it should be well. In the meantime, how about you identify a need within your campus and work to satisfy this? A friend of mine had a tuck shop in campus and i guess he made loads of cash. He operates the shop to date.
S.Mutaga III
#11 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 6:18:17 PM

Maybe it would be better if I showed you exactly where I am financially so that you may help me map a way forward:-
a ) 50k cash to start a biz
b ) 50k in stocks.
c ) An online store for selling educational material and stuff....although I invested nothing but time and brains...
d)A laptop and free internet within the school premises...i believe these are assets that can be used to make cash.
#12 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 6:23:27 PM

Ok so exactly what do you sell in your online store? what is educational material?
richdad
#13 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 6:25:03 PM

@S.Mutaga 3...what do you study? Which campus is are u in?
Keep it simple
S.Mutaga III
#14 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 6:26:48 PM

Ok so exactly what do you sell in your online store? what is educational material?

Classroom notes e.g ACCA,CPA,IT,CFA,CSIA...guides and stuff...nothing much...
S.Mutaga III
#15 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 6:28:26 PM

richdad wrote:
@S.Mutaga 3...what do you study? Which campus is are u in?

Economics and Statistics...along Thika rd
#16 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 6:36:36 PM

Since you seem like a nice fella I'm going to give you some free advice.

1. Never, ever tell people how much you earn online and then send them to the website where you earn whatever figure you quoted.

2. Don't offer services that you cannot do well. eg the web design services, plus on a KBO are a no no.

3. You are very far from making a decent income from just your laptop and internet connection. Please don't believe the hype. You will likely fall for a scam like tommorow morning.

4. I'll say this again to you. Since you are still in college, take this time to learn. If you are interested in making money from your laptop, then this is the time to learn, not invest your hard earned 50k. You have a lot to learn going by your website quality.

5. Business is simple. Find something that is profitable then scale it. You had your shickens. They made you money. That is what we call a sure thing. Stick to that and scale on it. Fire the bad employee and hire accordingly.

6. These assets you are talking about can make you learn to be the best telephone shickens farmer in the world. You really don't have to be an internet guru.

and good luck

ChessMaster
#17 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 6:40:51 PM

alma I agree with you on that.

@S.Mutaga III - Do you have something else in mind that you are more passionate about and you want to pursue?
Uncertainty is certain.Let go
S.Mutaga III
#18 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 7:07:57 PM

ChessMaster wrote:

@S.Mutaga III - Do you have something else in mind that you are more passionate about and you want to pursue?

the only other thing i am good at is swimming...once considered a career in the navy
ChessMaster
#19 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 7:17:03 PM

S.Mutaga III wrote:
ChessMaster wrote:

the only other thing i am good at is swimming...once considered a career in the navy

Can you talk passionately talk about swimming for hours and not get bored?
Uncertainty is certain.Let go
brayokasa4
#20 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 7:29:51 PM

Since you seem like a nice fella I'm going to give you some free advice.

1. Never, ever tell people how much you earn online and then send them to the website where you earn whatever figure you quoted.

2. Don't offer services that you cannot do well. eg the web design services, plus on a KBO are a no no.

3. You are very far from making a decent income from just your laptop and internet connection. Please don't believe the hype. You will likely fall for a scam like tommorow morning.

4. I'll say this again to you. Since you are still in college, take this time to learn. If you are interested in making money from your laptop, then this is the time to learn, not invest your hard earned 50k. You have a lot to learn going by your website quality.

5. Business is simple. Find something that is profitable then scale it. You had your shickens. They made you money. That is what we call a sure thing. Stick to that and scale on it. Fire the bad employee and hire accordingly.

6. These assets you are talking about can make you learn to be the best telephone shickens farmer in the world. You really don't have to be an internet guru.

and good luck

Applause Applause Applause Applause

Wouldn't trust him to design a website for me going by his website quality.
If you think you can, and if you think you can't , either way, you are right!