wazua Sun, Feb 2, 2025

Marriage certificate.
bigbossman
#1 Posted : Tuesday, January 29, 2013 8:58:00 PM

What's the easiest way of getting a marriage certificate currently without having to go through the hussle of an expensive church wedding?
LIFE IS SO GOOD
#2 Posted : Tuesday, January 29, 2013 9:54:18 PM

REQUIREMENTS FOR A MARRIAGE IN THE OFFICE OF REGISTRAR OF MARRIAGES

Bring original and copies of the Identity Cards or Passports of both parties. Complete Notice of Intention to Marry form and pay Kshs.200. The Notice runs for 21 days.

In the event that either one or both parties are widowed, the Death Certificate of the departed spouse and a copy must be produced.
In the event that either one or both parties are divorced, a Divorce Decree Absolute must be produced.
Should the documents be in any language other than English, an official English translation must be attached.
After 21 days, the couple completes the affidavit under S 11 of the Marriage Act, gets it commissioned by the Registrar and completes a Marriage Certificate Form.

Then pay Kshs.1, 500 and book a date for the marriage. The marriage must take place within three months from the date of giving the 21-day notice.

Good luck.

Eh this is easy.
Um Sayala
#3 Posted : Tuesday, January 29, 2013 10:02:04 PM

@bigboss...
First let me correct you, a wedding doesnt have to be expensive, actually it can be a very private affair, and very cheap.

If u dont want elaborate wedding then this is an alternative:
1. Go to Ag's sheria hse, room 211 with a copy of your ID and her ID (I have assumed u are a man)
2. Pay Ksh 200 and fill the form they will give you.
3. Go back to the same office after 3wks, this time with her.carry your original IDs.Pay Kshs 1550 and they will fix a 'marriage' date for you.

4. Get married, get the wife and the CERTIFICATE. carry a ring (optional) and two witnesses, one for each.

DO NOT Divorce after that...pplleeaassee
"Peace is our profession, War is our business" ...Unknown
josiah33
#4 Posted : Tuesday, January 29, 2013 10:04:39 PM

Na hii story ya chief kwani ilifanyika aje tena?
#5 Posted : Tuesday, January 29, 2013 10:28:14 PM

bigbossman wrote:
What's the easiest way of getting a marriage certificate currently without having to go through the hussle of an expensive church wedding?

does a church wedding have to be expensive?
bigbossman
#6 Posted : Tuesday, January 29, 2013 10:31:15 PM

Are there any other costs apart from the ksh.200 and ksh.1550 if one decides to go the civil marriage way? I don't want any parties or sherehes(i will sherehekea with my wife alone), just a marriage certificate and i don't want to announce to the whole world that am formalising my marriage with my wife of three years in a church wedding. Also i want to know if there are other people involved apart from the two witnesses.
LIFE IS SO GOOD
bigbossman
#7 Posted : Tuesday, January 29, 2013 10:36:14 PM

bigbossman wrote:

does a church wedding have to be expensive?

I don't want our marriage to be announced to everyone in the church. Ok, i've been 'married' for awhile and people, including my parents and her parents, know we are man and wife, but it's not formalised. I just hate that announcing thing they do in church and not that am afraid that some girl i impregnated might come forward and make a scene.
LIFE IS SO GOOD
#8 Posted : Tuesday, January 29, 2013 11:43:02 PM

So, you have been co-habiting? Yaani, 'come-we-stay'. All you need is to love your man/woman, and ANNOUNCE TO EVERYONE. Show others that you love her.

bigbossman
#9 Posted : Wednesday, January 30, 2013 8:19:08 AM

So, you have been co-habiting? Yaani, 'come-we-stay'. All you need is to love your man/woman, and ANNOUNCE TO EVERYONE. Show others that you love her.

It not like they don't know we are man and wife and we love each other-i have even done the usual, 'mimi ndio nimeiba msichana wenu' thing and paid some little mahari if that's what cohabiting is. All i want is a marriage certificate and not a church wedding.
LIFE IS SO GOOD
#10 Posted : Wednesday, January 30, 2013 8:44:38 AM

@bigbossman; initially, I thought it was the cost of a "full wedding" that you were afraid of. Now it appears that you are also afraid of "announcing to the world" that you are married.... getting married.

I wonder why....

Are you ashamed of your spouse?

Are you not ready for marriage?

The reason they make the announcements in Church is so that "anyone who knows a reason why the two should not be joined together" can come out and say it....or "forever hold their peace"

Now the reason is not necessarily some old flame who turns up with six kids claiming that you fathered them! It could also be a close friend of your partner who knows that she lives a secret life as a drug-dealer and has never told you about it..... wouldn't you want to know this before marrying her?

In all; I think you are not ready for marriage! You want to live a double life as a single and married man at the same time. Why?

I am also curious: why do you want the certificate now?
josiah33
#11 Posted : Wednesday, January 30, 2013 8:50:25 AM

What is marriage really? A church wedding, a civil wedding, come-we-stay or a marriage certificate?
bigbossman
#12 Posted : Wednesday, January 30, 2013 8:57:17 AM

mukiha wrote:
@bigbossman; initially, I thought it was the cost of a "full wedding" that you were afraid of. Now it appears that you are also afraid of "announcing to the world" that you are married.... getting married.

I wonder why....

The reason they make the announcements in Church is so that "anyone who knows a reason why the two should not be joined together" can come out and say it....or "forever hold their peace"

Now the reason is not necessarily some old flame who turns up with six kids claiming that you fathered them! It could also be a close friend of your partner who knows that she lives a secret life as a drug-dealer and has never told you about it..... wouldn't you want to know this before marrying her?

In all; I think you are not ready for marriage! You want to live a double life as a single and married man at the same time. Why?

Am the kind of guy who doesn't like bothering the whole world and at the same time doesn't like the whole world bothering him. I like to keep to myself and keep it simple. Why do u ask why i need a marriage certificate? Of course i don't want anybody snatching whatever little property i have from my significant other when and if i die. You should know how useful a marriage certificate can be in some situations.
LIFE IS SO GOOD
bigbossman
#13 Posted : Wednesday, January 30, 2013 9:01:27 AM

josiah33 wrote:
What is marriage really? A church wedding, a civil wedding, come-we-stay or a marriage certificate?

All marriages are the same to me. Even come we stay is marriage and if i could get a Marriage Certificate without a wedding, the better. Not that the certificate means much, but u know the law- u will not be able to prove your marriage easily if u don't have that piece of paper.
LIFE IS SO GOOD
#14 Posted : Wednesday, January 30, 2013 9:03:37 AM

bigbossman wrote:
mukiha wrote:

I wonder why....

Am the kind of guy who doesn't like bothering the whole world and at the same time doesn't like the whole world bothering him. I like to keep to myself and keep it simple. Why do u ask why i need a marriage certificate? Of course i don't want anybody snatching whatever little property i have from my significant other when and if i die. You should know how useful a marriage certificate can be in some situations.

The certificate is useless when it comes to property inheritance!

If you had fathered some kid outside wedlock the certificate will not stop the kid from laying claim on your property!

If you really want to protect your wife from search claims, then register everything that you own in HER name alone. I assume that you trust her that much...that she won't throw you out!

But still, why are you assuming that you will die before her?
#15 Posted : Wednesday, January 30, 2013 9:06:37 AM

BTW:

You don't a certificate to be married; and you don't need a wedding to get a marriage certificate
bigbossman
#16 Posted : Wednesday, January 30, 2013 9:11:49 AM

mukiha wrote:
bigbossman wrote:
mukiha wrote:

I wonder why....

The certificate is useless when it comes to property inheritance!

If you had fathered some kid outside wedlock the certificate will not stop the kid from laying claim on your property!

If you really want to protect your wife from search claims, then register everything that you own in HER name alone. I assume that you trust her that much...that she won't throw you out!

But still, why are you assuming that you will die before her?

You don't get me- i have no kids with any other woman out there. I would register the property in her name if it came to that but isn't it easier and logical that she is legally registered as my wife instead? I am not planning to die soon but just incase i do i don't want some brother or sister or parent giving my dear wife hell because of what i acquired myself. Hope u understand now.
LIFE IS SO GOOD
bigbossman
#17 Posted : Wednesday, January 30, 2013 9:16:00 AM

mukiha wrote:
BTW:

You don't a certificate to be married; and you don't need a wedding to get a marriage certificate

That's exactly what i wanted to know. Thanx bro/sis.
LIFE IS SO GOOD
#18 Posted : Wednesday, January 30, 2013 9:25:19 AM

FYI @bigbossman; When you go to the AG's office to register you marriage, they will post your names on the notice board for 21 days and also in the Kenya Gazette!

Which is worse: to be announced to a few hundred people in church or to thousands and the AG's
bigbossman
#19 Posted : Wednesday, January 30, 2013 9:33:25 AM

mukiha wrote:
FYI @bigbossman; When you go to the AG's office to register you marriage, they will post your names on the notice board for 21 days and also in the Kenya Gazette!

Which is worse: to be announced to a few hundred people in church or to thousands and the AG's

I am sure alot of people i know or who know me wouldn't be looking there and not so many people know about the Kenya Gazzette. And if they happened to go through the Kenya Gazzette they might just easily miss my name or if they did see it, it might not have the same impact as being announced in church. In any case, the few hundred mouths in church are enough to spread the news to the furthest corners of the earth.
LIFE IS SO GOOD
#20 Posted : Wednesday, January 30, 2013 9:43:00 AM

bigbossman wrote:
mukiha wrote:

I am sure alot of people i know or who know me wouldn't be looking there and not so many people know about the Kenya Gazzette. And if they happened to go through the Kenya Gazzette they might just easily miss my name or if they did see it, it might not have the same impact as being announced in church. In any case, the few hundred mouths in church are enough to spread the news to the furthest corners of the earth.

stop going to that church.. it seems you have issues with the flock there...

A simple way is to just go to an advocate and sign an affidavit that you are married under customary laws... Most companies accept this as proof of co-habiting/marriage etc.. esp if u want to include her in ur insurance cover...etc...
For ur case just choose a lawyer who doesnt know you since it seems you have an issue with people knowing ur formalizing ur come we stay arrangements..