Political, Satirical
#1 Posted : Sunday, November 25, 2012 12:04:05 PM

copy pasted. ..
hilarious I guess. ..

CP March 2013. The 4th
Kenyan President is sworn in.The sky is filled with fireworks.One month later, Kenya is no
longer a member of the ICC. ...
The president says that Kenyais a sovereign state and willnot be cowed. 5 months later, tea prices plummet, tourism is
non-existent, KQ lays off morestaff due its shrinking customer base. Horticulture sells come to a stand still. Fuel is at an all time high. The president makes high voltage n frantic trips to Sudan, Zimbabwe, Venezuela and Iran to try
and foster stronger
partnerships. The future of the Lamu project is unknown.
Partners are looking for
alternatives. Western
countries withdraw all aid. The president says that Kenyans are resilient. Unemployment hits 80% and crime soars. Angry Kenyans pour out into the streets, lawlessness n pandemonium ensue. Schools are closed. Govt Salaries have not been paid for 2months. The future is bleak. We
sit and wonder, did we need this man in state house so much that we were were willing to give up our livelihoods, the future of our children and the dignity of our country! Suddenly I wake up, and realize it was just a nightmare. We are still in 2012 and there is still hope....... -
josiah33
#2 Posted : Sunday, November 25, 2012 12:13:00 PM

copy pasted. ..

CP March 2013. The 4th
Kenyan President is sworn in.
The sky is filled with fireworks.
One month later, Kenya is no
longer a member of the ICC. ...
The president says that Kenya
is a sovereign state and will
not be cowed. 5 months later,
tea prices plummet, tourism is
non-existent, KQ lays off more
staff due its shrinking
customer base. Horticulture
sells come to a stand still. Fuel
is at an all time high. The
president makes high voltage
trips to Sudan and Iran to try
and foster stronger
partnerships. The future of the
Lamu project is unknown.
Partners are looking for
alternatives. Western
countries withdraw all aid. The
president says that Kenyans
are resilient. Unemployment
hits 80% and crime soars. We
sit and wonder, did we need
this man in state house so
much that we were were
willing to give up our
livelihoods, the future of our
children and the dignity of our
country! Suddenly I wake up,
and realize it was just a
nightmare. We are still in 2012
and there is still hope....... -

Awwww! what a bad dream you had last night.
#3 Posted : Sunday, November 25, 2012 12:16:42 PM

hehe ndoto hatari sana hiyo. Kenya ni yetu, sio ya mtu fulani.
#4 Posted : Sunday, November 25, 2012 12:42:30 PM

Will we conclude that justice has been done when we fail to vote for the ICC suspects?

Are these people suspects to us citizens of Kenya? Are we accusing them of anything? Are we working dilligently as citizens, to reveal the truth of the political crimes that happened after 2007?

To surrender this matter to the ICC is once again a denial of our responsibility and freedom.

And even if slaves are inundated with foreign aid and tributes they cannot claim to have better lives.
#5 Posted : Sunday, November 25, 2012 1:22:21 PM

Will we conclude that justice has been done when we fail to vote for the ICC suspects?

Are these people suspects to us citizens of Kenya? Are we accusing them of anything? Are we working dilligently as citizens, to reveal the truth of the political crimes that happened after 2007?

To surrender this matter to the ICC is once again a denial of our responsibility and freedom.

And even if slaves are inundated with foreign aid and tributes they cannot claim to have better lives.

My big question to u tycho, what is uhuruto offering us? A better or worse life? I believe worse. Any other arguments are just sideshows. Tell wazuans EXACTLY why you support that group.
#6 Posted : Sunday, November 25, 2012 2:08:55 PM

My big question to u tycho, what is uhuruto offering us? A better or worse life? I believe worse. Any other arguments are just sideshows. Tell wazuans EXACTLY why you support that group.

I am not surprised to learn that you think that I support the ICC suspects. It is as if the citizen is faced with two political and ethical choices of either voting for the suspects or voting for some other politician like PK or Raila.

But for me the matter goes beyond voting and into the political conduct of the citizen who am afraid is too reliant on the politician.

We must not forget that power corrupts. A case in point is that of the late president of Malawi, Wa Mutharika. He degenerated to dictatorship after just a single term due to the citizen's applause and veneration.

A similar, and perhaps a worse fate awaits us if we don't consider a third option of ensuring the citizen is ever powerful and vigilant, and always sceptical of the politician.

No man can be the protector of a people, and neither can a people be the protector of a person without relying on justice and truth. And Kenyans have so far failed to uphold these principles. How then can we be sure of progress and freedom, even with saintly politicians?
Liv
#7 Posted : Sunday, November 25, 2012 6:44:20 PM

One thing I like about the URP and TNA coalition is that....the Kalenjin and Gema nations will for once vote on the same side. Since the beginning of mult-partism in 1992, these 2 communities have always been in the opposing camps.

This has lead to deep suspicion, hatred, tribal clashes. For once in the last 20 years they will be on one side and this could be the start of the healing process and reconcilition in Rift valley, the hotspot of tribal crashes and this will be better for Kenya.

I also believe that the ICC cases do NOT concern only individuals indicted but also the communities they come from. This is what happens in life. e.g. The fallout between Mzee Jomo Kenyatta and Jaramogi Odinga has affected Kenyas politics todate. Someone could have argued this was a disagreement between individuals..... but we know it has affeccted the relationship between their communities many years after they left the scene. History has more examples of such incidences where individuals were mistreated by the powers that be ...and their communities identified with this suffering. So having Uhuru and Ruto at ICC and eventually having them jailed will not solve our tribalism problem in Kenya. It will make it worse.

ICC is not just about justice but a tool for Western Countries to influence leadership of mainly African and other 3rd world countries and protection of their interests.
heavenly body
#8 Posted : Sunday, November 25, 2012 7:23:02 PM

Liv

1) Peaceful co-existence between the Kikuyu & Kalenjin in Rift Valley troubled hotspots should not be dependent on agreements and co-alitions between their respective tribal kingpins. This is temporary and based on individualistic political aspirations which are self-centred at best.

Wnat happens if the two fall out? The perceived reconciliations are fragile, temporary and political driven.

2) Have you considered it possible that the the two accused and bound for the Hague may just be aspiring for leadership as a way out of their legal problems rather than a vision for this country?

3) In as much as the ICC is a western-world court, it may just be a god-send for the PEV victims and the larger Kenyan citizenry because it may just ensure power brokers in this country face some level of responsibility for their actions - something that would otherwise not happen in our courts and legal system.
#9 Posted : Sunday, November 25, 2012 7:38:29 PM

ICC is not just about justice
but a tool for Western
Countries to influence
leadership of mainly African
and other 3rd world
countries and protection of
their interests.

Liv, these western interests you keep talking about, are they harmful to us, or will we mutually benefit? All your posts call for outright defiance to the west n their eastern allies, so that we GAIN WHAT? Honestly, hiyo ni yako kabisa. Kenya does not DEPEND on china, it depends on the whole world, more so, the west, heavily. That is our point of departure. You want to save suspects coz u pity them too much. I pity myself. And therefore I shall selfishly vote for that guy from whom I shall benefit.
jamplu
#10 Posted : Sunday, November 25, 2012 8:36:13 PM

@Liv lets be honest the two suspects like a majority of our politicians are pursuing their self interests the first one being using the presidency to delay or scuttle the entire ICC process.
Stop alleging that the cases they are facing at the hague are an indictment of their communities you will be shocked that if they lose the election even the groupies who used to accompany them to hague will be no where to be found.
Let me repeat what i told you sometimes back the problem is not the west the problem is ourselves if in any way the west uses us to serve their interests we allow them to and its not the white man who does the killing here its us!