wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Need your advice wazuans.
Amurabi.
#1 Posted : Saturday, November 24, 2012 11:54:25 AM

I have always trusted wazua as a place where one can get help. Three weeks ago i had the honour of being a dad.( didn't it feels so to be one)
Point is where can i get a good paedetrician?
Am asking this cos i feel need one whom i can rely on .
Some have been thought brave because they were afraid to run away.
eco
#2 Posted : Saturday, November 24, 2012 12:53:15 PM

Amurabi. wrote:
I have always trusted wazua as a place where one can get help. Three weeks ago i had the honour of being a dad.( didn't it feels so to be one)

@Amurabi, you may want to start here
mkeiyd
#3 Posted : Saturday, November 24, 2012 1:03:57 PM

Amurabi. wrote:

Why do you feel you need one?
Behemoth
#4 Posted : Monday, November 26, 2012 12:08:37 PM

mkeiyd wrote:
Amurabi. wrote:

Why do you feel you need one?

I wud ask the same.
Eagles don't flock, you have to find them one at a time.
#5 Posted : Monday, November 26, 2012 12:37:04 PM

As you've been told, you might never need one. I was in the same state when I got my 1st kid until I realized that kids are strong. Just make sure you follow through on vaccinations/clinics and you'll be good. Take your kid to Getrude's when unwell.

Amurabi.
#6 Posted : Monday, November 26, 2012 2:36:59 PM

Oops Guys am sorry have been away.
Am asking this cos as have stated earlier the young one is only three weeks now and last wednesday took him to the hospital after noticing that he was breathing heavily especially after breastfeeding.The doc said he is ok but some infections and was given some antibiotics.
However the drup was thick and choked him twice.
Took the little one back again an friday where i iwas given another syrup and told to stop the initial one. Again he is still taking it but with difficulties.In summarry i feal i need a doctor who can be attendind the kid when need be.
jjred
#7 Posted : Monday, November 26, 2012 3:37:22 PM

First may I congratulate you and welcome you to fatherhood. From what you have written ,you sound to be one of those responsible fathers who are rare to get in the current generation. From my hear, anybody, father/mother who willingly accept to be custodian of little bundle’s of Joy from above can only be rewarded by God and in the process you shall find joy & satisfaction.
Some 2.5yrs ago I was in your shoes and am telling you I could rush to the Doc expecting so much attention and the guy could just laugh and me telling me that he is 100% sure that that’s my baby no.1

The first time I took my baby to Hosi…that’s avenue, she was only 2weeks old.I got a very honest ped who refused to give her those antibiotics (btw,avoid them as much as possible)He was some old black jamaa can’t remember his name, but he told me that he started practicing in 1978 and as much as I go for executive products I will forever make him rich.I had bought 2 Johnson’s packs products for my little one, I was told to go back to Bar Saop/unperformed pure petroleum jelly or milking jelly/prober breastfeeding and total cleanliness to un-extent you done touch the baby with unwashed hand or any visitor coming to the hse to see the baby MUST was their hands b4 touching her(very hard for Africans)..eti osha mkono ushike toi. In fact he quarreled me to have given out the baby to my friends with homa who in turn infected her.

Believe me not, it work. For a whole one yr we only used to go for vaccine until this year when she started going out to play with friends and meeting with Mr. Germs from the environment

But it very much in order to be as curious as you are. Wish you all the best
Amurabi.
#8 Posted : Monday, November 26, 2012 3:52:35 PM

@jjred. Thanks alot. Infact i decided to come to wazua for help since most pple are telling me that i should avoid those antibiotics.Besides after taking the drugs the boy becomes so sleepy and sometimes gets choked(guess by saliva):
Otherwise other times he is jovial and active.
#9 Posted : Monday, November 26, 2012 4:41:59 PM

Breast milk is dawa.
Some small ailments do not not affect a well breastfed baby.But modern mums! shame.
Avoid giving baby too much dawa and go natural.
Seen people's homes resemble a pharmacy!
The baby's immune system needs to develop and be put to work.
Mother must also watch out for what she eats too cz it affects the quality of milk.
Had crazy friend who would go party,drink and come home to breastfeed her baby cz her breasts would be so full of milk by then.
And she would proudly boast of how the baby snores till morning.Pity that baby he was being fed alcohol.
Anyway,most of these perfumed and yummmy looking expensive baby stuff are a health hazard.Useless to say the least.
Try and be natural.

I know Dr.Kituyi based at Afya Royal-Uchumi ngong road.
I don't mind recommending her.

Amurabi.
#10 Posted : Monday, November 26, 2012 5:03:18 PM

Thanks@essky. Being new to some things is challenging, but am taking notes.
#11 Posted : Monday, November 26, 2012 6:25:14 PM

What @jjred and @essyk have said is on point. I cannot add anything. I think @essyk is going to be our next @wendz

I just wonder how @essyk is getting the experience from and she said she was still considering whether to go back to the walalo or not smile

Well, I can add only one thing: the only warning sign from baby is when there is fever, means infction. Otherwise, most cases baby is fine.
Just make sure baby does not choke in own vomit.
#12 Posted : Monday, November 26, 2012 7:17:19 PM

haha.Apha.
Nway,if baby runs a fever suddenly don't rush out naked, if you don't have medication in the house.
Take warm water and sponge the baby all over the body till it goes down.esp if it's convulsing,then see doc.
Don't get baby used to fever reliefs,pain reliefs,cough reliefs,yawn reliefs,colic reliefs,stress reliefs,fart reliefs,let the baby live and enjoy natures way.
I mean baby industry is like Victoria Secrets Industry.Booming!
That kabody needs to harden a bit bwana cz one day a small cough may knock baby out.
But like I said on another thread,by the time the 3rd baby comes,you shall have forgotten all these medicines.
The first borns are imho guinea pigs.

#13 Posted : Monday, November 26, 2012 9:33:07 PM

Btw is it that kids nowheredays are softies ama nini,am not old,when growing up i kan rem the number of times i went to hospital and got medication...most of the houses i go nowhere days where there are kids is like a fully stocked pharmacy,antibiotics kibao and a myriad of other drugs...I dnt think this is gud.
new investor
#14 Posted : Tuesday, December 04, 2012 11:14:26 PM

Amurabi. wrote:
Oops Guys am sorry have been away.
Am asking this cos as have stated earlier the young one is only three weeks now and last wednesday took him to the hospital after noticing that he was breathing heavily especially after breastfeeding.The doc said he is ok but some infections and was given some antibiotics.
However the drup was thick and choked him twice.
Took the little one back again an friday where i iwas given another syrup and told to stop the initial one. Again he is still taking it but with difficulties.In summarry i feal i need a doctor who can be attendind the kid when need be.

TOO FAST!!!
The baby is just getting used to the environment.

I used Gertrudes and they do not give medicine unless the baby needs it.

Follow their recommended immunisation to the letter, breastfeed for 6 months (don't give even water) it will be ok.

I think antibiotics at that age is not right..... maybe am wrong
Give Away FREE Reports and Affiliate Tools.
Earn commissions from sales of Our Do-It-Yourself List Building Resources.
http://www.leadgeneratingtools.com
karqui
#15 Posted : Wednesday, December 05, 2012 10:26:59 AM

@amu...., congrats and welcome to parenthood. one very rewarding and real results output.
i feel the main aspects on a new born handling are mentioned.
please consider the baby burping well after any feed, this removes the gas hence the choking act.
take things easy, as mentioned he/she is gathering own ground.

#16 Posted : Wednesday, December 05, 2012 10:59:33 AM

google will sort you out most of the times
#17 Posted : Wednesday, December 05, 2012 11:06:04 AM

You certainly need a paedetrician for every young one.

I recommend Dr. Wamanda at the Nairobi Hospital Doctors Plaza. The lady is great with kids and very detailed.
#18 Posted : Wednesday, December 05, 2012 11:15:36 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
You certainly need a paedetrician for every young one.

I recommend Dr. Wamanda at the Nairobi Hospital Doctors Plaza. The lady is great with kids and very detailed.

Yap. Dr. Cecilia Wamanda, I use her when I don't visit Getrudes!
Motomoto
#19 Posted : Wednesday, December 05, 2012 11:18:49 AM

Amurabi. wrote:

The kid may not need one. I was never taken to one when I was a child. Wacha kujitafututia njia ya kuharibu pesa. Even in your neighborhood, you will always find a doctor who can handle a child's issues. You only need a permanent pediatrician when your child has a condition. Lakini kama wewe ni wale watu wameshajatengeneza kaburi na jeneza tayari, I cant stop you from looking for one. This is a broke man's advice anyway!
iKenya
#20 Posted : Thursday, December 06, 2012 3:07:27 AM

firstly, the drugs should enver be given directly but rather mixed with the baby's formula/milk, a doc once told me that babies are the most resilient beings you will ever meet, their (new) parents are not! As mentioned, two things, sustained (key word!)fever na diarrhea..then there is a problem......ingine yote, ni mambo na immunity development.....
Buy when there's blood in the streets, even if the blood is your own...