wazua Sat, Jan 11, 2025

Mobile Apps
ChessMaster
#1 Posted : Thursday, November 15, 2012 2:51:50 PM

Which mobile apps would you want to use in Kenya and why?
Uncertainty is certain.Let go
#2 Posted : Thursday, November 15, 2012 2:53:23 PM

want to use or currently using??
ChessMaster
#3 Posted : Thursday, November 15, 2012 3:01:02 PM

Both
#4 Posted : Thursday, November 15, 2012 3:19:48 PM

On android I use:
My data manager
Twitter
Facebook
Instagram
Vault
Toddler Lock (for my son)
Flashlight
Livescore (me and sports)
Babies' great (for the kid)
...some I keep installing and de-installting!!!
ChessMaster
#5 Posted : Thursday, November 15, 2012 3:51:54 PM

No kenyan apps?
#6 Posted : Thursday, November 15, 2012 3:55:28 PM

ChessMaster wrote:
No kenyan apps?

.....there's one for Mpesa, places to visit etc but they are rarely updated and some fail miserably!!!!
ChessMaster
#7 Posted : Thursday, November 15, 2012 4:06:30 PM

Not some, most!
#8 Posted : Thursday, November 15, 2012 5:47:33 PM

I have noticed that when installing some apps they say that the app has access to personal data etc etc... what exactly do these apps get access to?

#9 Posted : Thursday, November 15, 2012 6:01:34 PM

I have a Citizen one and DSTv. I wouldn't mind one that gives live NSE stock prices. Ama free local tv and/or radio

Foz00
#10 Posted : Thursday, November 15, 2012 6:19:10 PM

Talking Tom - kids love this
File Lock
ChessMaster
#11 Posted : Thursday, November 15, 2012 7:30:31 PM

There is an NSE app for android. Cant remember the name though. Personal data could be anything on your phone. File lock app sounds interesting.
ChessMaster
#12 Posted : Sunday, January 27, 2013 5:46:04 PM

I have a Citizen one and DSTv. I wouldn't mind one that gives live NSE stock prices. Ama free local tv and/or radio

Tv and Radio can be data intensive.Live prices,possible but tricky.
ChessMaster
#13 Posted : Thursday, February 28, 2013 9:57:09 PM

Safaricom with a customer base of 19.2m has decided that to drop feature phones and embrace smartphones.The market leader has moved. Hopefully they'll focus on android phones. Now we need APIs!
seppuku
#14 Posted : Wednesday, March 13, 2013 9:02:50 PM

ChessMaster wrote:
Safaricom with a customer base of 19.2m has decided that to drop feature phones and embrace smartphones.The market leader has moved. Hopefully they'll focus on android phones. Now we need APIs!

What does that mean? Where is the link?

On another note, apparently Kenyan developers still can't put out paid apps on Google Play. Hopefully we're headed there soon. However, I long for the day when Kenyans will be able to pay for (Kenyan) apps out of their airtime credit. That would stimulate the app market big time. Small utility apps that go for 5 or 10 shillings. Maybe even 1 shilling but targeting the mass market.
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
seppuku
#15 Posted : Wednesday, March 13, 2013 9:04:30 PM

Deleted duplicate post.
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
ChessMaster
#16 Posted : Wednesday, March 13, 2013 11:32:17 PM

seppuku wrote:
ChessMaster wrote:

On another note, apparently Kenyan developers still can't put out paid apps on Google Play. Hopefully we're headed there soon. However, I long for the day when Kenyans will be able to pay for (Kenyan) apps out of their airtime credit. That would stimulate the app market big time. Small utility apps that go for 5 or 10 shillings. Maybe even 1 shilling but targeting the mass market.

http://blog.thomsonreuters.com/index.php/tag/safaricom/

http://www.humanipo.com/news/4177/Safaricom-to-stop-selling-feature-phones-across-its-countrywide-outlets

Feature phones,basically phones that are not smartphones.Kambe and the like.For me it means change a big change for Kenya.Let me say,I am astonished by your idea.It's so simple and elegant I have no doubt it will be implemented!Applause Applause Applause
seppuku
#17 Posted : Thursday, March 14, 2013 11:35:10 AM

ChessMaster wrote:
seppuku wrote:
ChessMaster wrote:

http://www.humanipo.com/news/4177/Safaricom-to-stop-selling-feature-phones-across-its-countrywide-outlets

Feature phones,basically phones that are not smartphones.Kambe and the like.For me it means change a big change for Kenya.Let me say,I am astonished by your idea.It's so simple and elegant I have no doubt it will be implemented!Applause Applause Applause

Seen the links and I agree with Safaricom's move. Data is where the future is and what better way to prepare for that than to skew the market towards smart phones. They've become pretty cheap these days and will only continue to become cheaper. People who really need feature phones can get them from regular phone shops anyway.

Having said that, Safaricom now ought to use its influence to lobby aggressively for accessible app payment mechanisms. Even if Google allows us to put out paid apps on Play and expect Kenyans to pay for them via credit cards, penetration will still be low and developers will not be motivated. Africa is a completely different context from the west and Google ought to appreciate that fact.

As for Kenyan developers, we need to invest in the requisite skills and creativity to produce professional applications. Simple things like app UI design and the icons you use make a huge impact on how users perceive your application. Of course it has to have some useful functionality to back up its beauty. And note that I say useful - not complicated or out of this world - just useful. Who will stand up to be counted?
ChessMaster
#18 Posted : Thursday, March 14, 2013 11:57:28 AM

seppuku wrote:
ChessMaster wrote:
seppuku wrote:
ChessMaster wrote:

Seen the links and I agree with Safaricom's move. Data is where the future is and what better way to prepare for that than to skew the market towards smart phones. They've become pretty cheap these days and will only continue to become cheaper. People who really need feature phones can get them from regular phone shops anyway.

Having said that, Safaricom now ought to use its influence to lobby aggressively for accessible app payment mechanisms. Even if Google allows us to put out paid apps on Play and expect Kenyans to pay for them via credit cards, penetration will still be low and developers will not be motivated. Africa is a completely different context from the west and Google ought to appreciate that fact.

As for Kenyan developers, we need to invest in the requisite skills and creativity to produce professional applications. Simple things like app UI design and the icons you use make a huge impact on how users perceive your application. Of course it has to have some useful functionality to back up its beauty. And note that I say useful - not complicated or out of this world - just useful. Who will stand up to be counted?

seppuku your idea is the fastest and easiest mechanism I can see to implement the payment option.It is so Kenyan and without hustles of M-pesa and other payment options.Scom has done something great and reaffirmed its position as a market leader.

I agree we need the UI design industry to thrive in Kenya.The skills esp for android is just java and xml.Easily portable and a good number of people have exposure to java in Kenya.The app competitions have attracted interest of upcoming developers and attention of the public.

The problem that needs to be focused on by app developers is understanding the consumer.We need apps that are relevant and will be used consistently and these have to be very personal in nature.Even the design should factor in this personal nature.Just like you have said we're not in the west,so this requires R&D so that we can better build apps that fit the local context.
seppuku
#19 Posted : Thursday, March 14, 2013 12:41:55 PM

@ChessMaster, I just recently got interested in Android development and I am liking it. As you say, it's really just Java and XML and if you have experience in those things from wherever then Android programming is a breeze. That has been my experience and I am having fun developing my first (hopefully useful) Android app. I intend to offer it for free on Google Play - just to test the waters.

But the tech capacity to develop an app is one thing. Good ideas to implement, great user experience and getting the economics right is a completely different kettle of fish. And I think here in Kenya that's the bigger gap.

I haven't keenly followed the app competitions although going forward I am very interested in them. But I think they have a big role to play in piquing developers' interest. I have also heard about the Safaricom Academy in collaboration with Strathmore but haven't investigated it much. But I think we both agree that there's huge potential here for Kenyan developers if we're willing to rise to the occasion and expand our skill set beyond hardcore technical know-how and include the other things I talked about.

I like your idea of asking people here for apps they would want to use although you don't seem to be getting many replies. In a sense that's expected. In my experience, users often tend to know better what they do not want than what they want. And even then only after you've built it and presented it to them. In a sense, putting out an application is like telling a joke. Regardless of what you make of your joke you only get to know if it's funny once you tell it. And so asking people for app ideas is not much unlike asking an audience what jokes they'd love to hear. They may not know. But when you tell 'em a good joke they say to themselves, "Wow! That was hilarious.". No prizes for guessing what happens when you tell 'em a lousy one!
ChessMaster
#20 Posted : Thursday, March 14, 2013 12:59:48 PM

If you like java,you should also try C# for windows phones.Very similar shouldn't be a problem.There is a huge gap and this is the time to get the skills and test the market so your ahead of the competition.My intention was exactly that,to get a better understanding of the apps issue in Kenya from a local perspective.

Let me share my views on developing apps. "If I had asked people what they wanted, they would have said faster horses." - Henry Ford. Sometimes people don't know what they want because they don't know the possibilities.That is a dilemma many developers from silicon valley to the silicon savanna experience.They are out of touch with the people and their needs.But you already said it,its simplicity not a competition to show the best skills. What I have learnt is you have to diversify your knowledge base to understand people from different walks of life.If its entertainment understand matters of entertainment,investments,shopping,information...that's is the biggest strength because even if the competition tries to copy your product,without your understanding its futile and they won't be able to replicate your future successes.