wazua Sat, Jan 18, 2025

Best Stock Broker - as at October 2012
mauryc
#1 Posted : Tuesday, October 23, 2012 4:10:05 PM

I know this topic has been discussed severally on this forum, but times have changed and some brokers have improved their services while others are worse. Which stockbroker would you consider the best in terms of customer service, online platforms, efficiency among other criterion?

You views are welcomed.
#2 Posted : Tuesday, October 23, 2012 4:19:53 PM

Definitely dyer and Blair!!

1. They have an online trading all day with demand supply and real time price info! Trades are executed in milliseconds!

2. cheques are cleared within 2days after being requested!

3. Customer service is not the best but a lot of improvements are being made!

4. Highest commissions in Kenya!
StatMeister
#3 Posted : Tuesday, October 23, 2012 4:27:10 PM

mauryc wrote:
I know this topic has been discussed severally on this forum, but times have changed and some brokers have improved their services while others are worse. Which stockbroker would you consider the best in terms of customer service, online platforms, efficiency among other criterion?

You views are welcomed.

Which broker do you work for or trade with?
A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work
#4 Posted : Tuesday, October 23, 2012 4:27:56 PM

guru267 wrote:

How now, thought that is negative for an investor, holding other factors constant?
FUNKY
#5 Posted : Tuesday, October 23, 2012 4:43:43 PM

I use the CFC online system and i am happy with it...my second broker is AIB Capital through which i execute my orders through the phone and am also happy with them. However, both the brokers take around 4 days to give cheques.
#6 Posted : Tuesday, October 23, 2012 4:44:50 PM

guru267 wrote:

How now, thought that is negative for an investor, holding other factors constant?

They have the same commission rate as other players but a massive customer base!

The high commissions signify high profits and capital base!
ProverB
#7 Posted : Tuesday, October 23, 2012 5:19:28 PM

Business Daily Online wrote:

NIC sues broker, share custodian over client fraud

NIC Securities has sued a stockbrokerage firm and the custodian of shares traded at the stock market, Central Depository and Settlement Corporation (CDSC), for allegedly allowing fraudulent sale of its client’s shares valued at more than Sh10 million.

NIC has accused CDSC of allowing the fraudulent transfer of 300,000 of its client’s shares to another stockbrokerage firm, Genghis Capital, which subsequently sold them without the investor’s consent.

The 279,400 Barclays Bank shares, 24,207 Nation Media Group (NMG) shares, and 100 Standard Chartered Bank shares allegedly belonged to NIC Securities’ client Hilary Gabrielle Erculiani, a Caucasian female, but were fraudulently transferred to a Hilary Gabrielle Erculiani, a Caucasian man.

NIC argues that CDSC negligently created and operated internal procedure and systems that allowed fraud to be perpetrated by its employees in contravention of its regulatory obligations.

“CDSC allowed unauthorised workers access to information and materials that paved way for the alleged fraud,” states NIC in court papers filed on September 12.

Genghis is accused by NIC of failing to establish the identity of the person claiming to be Hilary Gabrielle Erculiani to ascertain the veracity of the identification documents presented to the broker.

A CDSC employee alleged to have schemed the fraud, Simon Kabata Ngethe, was arraigned in a Nairobi court on March 2 and denied defrauding customers shares worth Sh15 million. Mr Ngethe was the custodian of electronic investor share accounts and headed the help desk at CDSC.

He denied seven counts of making electronic records, conspiracy to defraud and stealing.

“The real Hilary Gabrielle Erculiani is elderly Caucasian female whilst the person who purported to be NIC customer, Hilary Gabrielle Erculiani was a Caucasian man,” argues NIC.

The broker subsequently sold the securities, causing the investor loss. NIC Securities is seeking a refund of the shares from CDSC and Genghis.

Going by Friday’s market price of the three firms’ stocks, the 303,707 shares are valued at about Sh10 million but the claim could be significantly higher taking into account dividend payments, bonus issue and share splits.

NIC said it received communication from the Capital Markets Authority (CMA) on January 3 alerting them of suspected fraud of certain share transfers purportedly transacted by its client Erculian.

Further investigations by NIC revealed a Central Depository Settlement (CDS) account held by Erculiani had been unlawfully transferred to Genghis Capital with the approval of CDSC.

NIC now wants the court to declare the purported transfer of Erculiani CDS account by CDSC and Genghis as illegal and null.

The broker is also seeking a full statement of the Barclays Bank, NMG and Standard Chartered shares in addition to bonuses and share splits.Alternatively, NIC wants the defendants to pay for the value of the shares from the date the judgement will be delivered and all dividends which would have accrued on the shares.

CDSC and Genghis have not filed their defence to counter the allegations. NIC argues in the suit that CDSC, while approving the share transfer, failed to verify the authenticity of its seal appearing on the CDS forms where they would have detected forgery.

CDSC is also accused of failing to confirm whether the transaction was in conformity with central depository rules and procedures.

http://www.businessdaily.../-/mbg01wz/-/index.html

Ujinga ni? ______________________________________
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
#8 Posted : Tuesday, October 23, 2012 5:56:44 PM

Was at CFC FS kitambo before they moved from Kimathi street, abandoned the account when they started asking flimsy KYC things - eventually they ahve been tossing people to agents/agency - dont like the whole aidea.

Then went to Suntra and 0penned another account. Been very good over the last 3 years, transactions are on time, cheque pap, deposit bbk and reflects pap. Then they introduced on-line platform managed through TANGAZA321.COM/TRADING. Hell on earth, mara transactions dont go through, mara they have gone through twice, sold shares and are still on your portfolio (but cdsc account is correct) and all manner of things. i gave up. Been transacting the hard way for the last 3 months, place an order via an email and follow up with calls.

Suffering investor!
#9 Posted : Tuesday, October 23, 2012 5:58:26 PM

guru267 wrote:

They have the same commission rate as other players but a massive customer base!

The high commissions signify high profits and capital base!

Yap i understand, banking on numbers - equity style - good for them and you the customer! Applause Applause Applause
#10 Posted : Tuesday, October 23, 2012 6:16:12 PM

This is not the first time Genghis are being mentioned in shady deals. The last time they mentioned, @Genghis was forced to bolt from Wazua on the back of many questions...
#11 Posted : Tuesday, October 23, 2012 6:24:47 PM

... the worst is CFC financial services. Very useless. Where's @genghiscapital to answer the above?
#12 Posted : Tuesday, October 23, 2012 9:13:19 PM

Best broker in terms of?Netting in the highest commissions isn't a sign of you being good as @guru said it just shows that you have probably a large client base or your rate of turning trades is significantly higher than other brokers probably due to a strong back office9which is a plus).Me thinks we seriously need an independent body or bodies to monitor and conduct surveys which should be published periodically @Mauryc should have just gone to a particular site and voila all the info should have been there.
Essentially the performance of a broker can be measured in two ways:
(1)The service received on the basis of the client's own assessment.
(2)The performance of the broker relevant to a benchmark.

investors need to know how many problem logs are generated by each broker,the frequency and type of the logs and how the broker went about solving the problem,number of failed trades that occur during a given duration,how queries from clients were responded to by the different brokers.
A poll can be conducted and a scoring system be put in place this is the only way brokers can be put on their toes.Numerous complaints have come to the fore over and over again especially on this site, this should be things of the past if we want a proper working Securities exchange that can compete with the best...All said and done am an A.A guy all the way...For genghis and chase bank sisemi kitu its always been a constant...
Aguytrying
#13 Posted : Tuesday, October 23, 2012 9:17:40 PM

Cfc are good. my bankers cheque reflected the next day. pap.
customer care is excellent and responsive.
trading platform is more than you can ask for(except few hiccups- cant log in- very rarely). Im so happy with their service( almost emailed them to tell them)
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
S.Mutaga III
#14 Posted : Tuesday, October 23, 2012 9:49:33 PM

My broker is equity custodial...ie equity bank...no regrets so far...no reason to shift...mimi ni mkulima mdogoLaughing out loudly
A successful man is not he who gets the best, it is he who makes the best from what he gets.
#15 Posted : Tuesday, October 23, 2012 9:57:02 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
trading platform is more than you can ask for(except few hiccups- cant log in- very rarely). Im so happy with their service( almost emailed them to tell them)

..advantages of having a bank,with a brokerage arm.lakini hapo juu kuna mtu amezusha juu ya CFCFS
Aguytrying
#16 Posted : Tuesday, October 23, 2012 10:22:43 PM

Aguytrying wrote:

..advantages of having a bank,with a brokerage arm.lakini hapo juu kuna mtu amezusha juu ya CFCFS

did i also say they charge 1.87 commission, even trades below 100k.

that person didnt even say their problem.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#17 Posted : Tuesday, October 23, 2012 10:41:00 PM

S.Mutaga III wrote:
My broker is equity custodial...ie equity bank...no regrets so far...no reason to shift...mimi ni mkulima mdogoLaughing out loudly

Equity bank uses SIB i think. Am also with them, EQUITY, yet i cannot call myself mkulima mdogo (or am i dreaming, my portfolio value is about 1.4M).
I use it coz i feel safer working with a bank as opposed with my money been with a broker (Nyaga and DSL collapsed with guys cash).

S.Mutaga III
#18 Posted : Tuesday, October 23, 2012 10:54:25 PM

S.Mutaga III wrote:

Equity bank uses SIB i think. Am also with them, EQUITY, yet i cannot call myself mkulima mdogo (or am i dreaming, my portfolio value is about 1.4M).
I use it coz i feel safer working with a bank as opposed with my money been with a broker (Nyaga and DSL collapsed with guys cash).

1.4m...not bad...perhaps am not a mkulima mdogo after all.
A successful man is not he who gets the best, it is he who makes the best from what he gets.
mauryc
#19 Posted : Wednesday, October 24, 2012 9:03:10 AM

StatMeister wrote:
mauryc wrote:

You views are welcomed.

Which broker do you work for or trade with?

I dont work with any broker. I was asking because i want to start trading.
mwekez@ji
#20 Posted : Wednesday, October 24, 2012 10:05:44 AM

guru267 wrote:

Liar Liar Liar

I know of the following hierarchy,

1. Kestrel – 22% of market share
2. Renaissance Capital – 12%
3. CFCFS – 10%
4. AA – 10%
5. Dyer & Blair – 8%
6. Sterling – 6%
7. SIB – 5%
8. Apex – 5%
9. Faida – 5%
10. NIC – 4%
11. Others – 13%

Source: CFC Stanbic IM dated Friday 31st August, 2012, clause 8.2.2 - Capital markets brokerage and portfolio investment industry overview, page 42