wazua Sat, Feb 1, 2025

Disastrous Nairobi Public Transport
#1 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 9:59:00 AM

When Citi hoppa were recruiting drivers, they should have told the drivers that the vehicles are bigger than the 14 seaters they were used to. On my way home I'm almost guaranteed to find a hoppa in an accident, stalled or pulling the most craziest of stunts to get through traffic. I'm not saying KBS and Double M are any better, they are getting there as well, something went wrong after the owner of Double M passed away. Now, if we thought getting rid of 14 seaters is the end of our problem and the way forward, we need to think again.

On a different note, do the matatus own the title deed to Naivasha Road and Kawangware? Where are the traffic police?

#2 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 10:12:43 AM

If you think Citi Hoppa drivers are the craziest then you've probably not had an experience with those Kayole buses.
#3 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 10:16:37 AM

Try Dandora long-ches nini-buses and u will know KENYA.

#4 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 10:23:28 AM

If you think Citi Hoppa drivers are the craziest then you've probably not had an experience with those Kayole buses.

StarBus ndio chida tupu!!! worst nightmare on waiyaki way...
#5 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 10:26:14 AM

Forward travellers on jogoo road all the way to Kayole. they own the roads and the policemen in the area.
QD
#6 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 10:32:38 AM

When Citi hoppa were recruiting drivers, they should have told the drivers that the vehicles are bigger than the 14 seaters they were used to. On my way home I'm almost guaranteed to find a hoppa in an accident, stalled or pulling the most craziest of stunts to get through traffic. I'm not saying KBS and Double M are any better, they are getting there as well, something went wrong after the owner of Double M passed away. Now, if we thought getting rid of 14 seaters is the end of our problem and the way forward, we need to think again.

On a different note, do the matatus own the title deed to Naivasha Road and Kawangware? Where are the traffic police?

You're saying the lady who told us how double M came about died?
This then will indicate how family businesses fail when the originators dies and no clear succession plan is in place.
When the business remains to kids who never took keen interest on the businesses but partying are left to now manage them.
The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts while the stupid ones are full of confidence
wilyum
#7 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 10:36:41 AM

kwanza hii forward traveller,i wonder what concoction they use! i seriously pity the kids of those drivers,if they ever copy their dads manners. no pun intended
#8 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 10:45:41 AM

Clearly, public transport in Nairobi is a disaster. I've been trying to get any interested media house to do a jicho pevu on the nightmare they cause and impunity but no luck yet. I just can't understand how a matatu parks in the middle of the road blocking traffic waiting for customers to fill up?

#9 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 11:06:49 AM

[quote=QD
[/quote]

Nope it is the man who died, followed closely by one of his best/most trusted managers. that is why nowadays Double M are behaving like any other ordinary matatu.
tassia
#10 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 11:11:23 AM

QD wrote:

This then will indicate how family businesses fail when the originators dies and no clear succession plan is in place.
When the business remains to kids who never took keen interest on the businesses but partying are left to now manage them.

Do not kill people. It is the husband who died.
#11 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 11:18:38 AM

forward travellers must be the worst.
#12 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 11:27:52 AM

I gave hoppa and another one a blackout the moment they showed face on our roads!
Those things I believe are made of tins.Throw away tins.
Lemmie give an honest analysis and please prove me wrong cz I will upload a pic or video.

1. They are DIRTY.there is always this funny lingering smell inside those buses.
2. The conductors are rude,noisy and not neat.
3. The seats are worse than bench ya Muliro gardens
4.They carry pax like potatoes.
5.They don't issue receipts
6.They do not have fixed fare.
7.They are slow,noisy metal,keep breaking down often.
8.Loose hanging doors,broken windows covered with polythene.

Who owns these ugly things? esp those plying airport route zina aibu mob to sana.
When MM put new KB's to ply that route,Hoppas brought compe by putting KZ's.

very ugly things,Laughing out loudly
#13 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 11:32:08 AM

As the good book says; "The love of money is the root of all evil"

Operators relinquish control of their vehicles to the crew... then the driver also relinquishes control to the tout - akisema "TWENDE!" tunaenda; even if the red traffic light is on!

All this relinquishing of controls is aimed at maximising profits: as the good book says, "the love of money..."
#14 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 11:33:02 AM

wilyum wrote:
kwanza hii forward traveller,i wonder what concoction they use! i seriously pity the kids of those drivers,if they ever copy their dads manners. no pun intended

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Why do they always make that screeching irritating noise?
Halafu have you noticed how long they are?
They are neither buses nor train,somethin in the middle.
I think they keep adding mabati behind to create space and accomodate more pax,.
I have done my own analysis on our roads and I know what to avoid kabisa hata nikilemewa.
Iganamagana
#15 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 11:49:57 AM

And those ugly Githurai buses plying Thika Highway?
grolut
#16 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 11:51:13 AM

wilyum wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Why do they always make that screeching irritating noise?
Halafu have you noticed how long they are?
They are neither buses nor train,somethin in the middle.
I think they keep adding mabati behind to create space and accomodate more pax,.
I have done my own analysis on our roads and I know what to avoid kabisa hata nikilemewa.

Hahaha kama those apartment blocks, nice one.Applause
In a place where thought is abandoned, freedom can become a curse.
Spend.thrift
#17 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 11:54:38 AM

Think about it as you vote your governor next year.

#18 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 11:57:05 AM

mukiha wrote:
As the good book says; "The love of money is the root of all evil"

Operators relinquish control of their vehicles to the crew... then the driver also relinquishes control to the tout - akisema "TWENDE!" tunaenda; even if the red traffic light is on!

All this relinquishing of controls is aimed at maximising profits: as the good book says, "the love of money..."

nditto

#19 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 12:02:02 PM

Listing in order of 'ugliness' from most to least

1.Hoppa
2.Shuttle
3.Forwarders
4.Githurai
5.Star.

Kenyans have suffered eyesores.
Laughing out loudly Jamani give them design,colour and good names.
#20 Posted : Monday, October 22, 2012 12:07:54 PM

Paradiso... very very very very terrible impunity... some dude was telling me how the new ones have a cabin for the driver that is impenetrable and so there is nothing a cop can do even if the idiot parka across Thika road..