wazua Mon, Jan 27, 2025

ATTENDING AN INTERVIEW
abdulrahman
#1 Posted : Monday, August 06, 2012 4:28:11 PM

I will be attending an an executive interview on Thursday with a big organization. Its a management post. The last time I attended an Interview was like 5 years ago.

Please assist me on the questions I am likely to be asked. There is a thread sometimes back about interviews but could not get it through search.

Kindly help your brother.
#2 Posted : Monday, August 06, 2012 4:31:27 PM

abdulrahman wrote:
I will be attending an an executive interview on Thursday with a big organization. Its a management post. The last time I attended an Interview was like 5 years ago.

Please assist me on the questions I am likely to be asked. There is a thread sometimes back about interviews but could not get it through search.

RINK NDIO HII.

#3 Posted : Monday, August 06, 2012 5:26:03 PM

abdulrahman wrote:

RINK NDIO HII.

Brari Uji Baridi!!!
#4 Posted : Monday, August 06, 2012 5:34:58 PM

abdulrahman wrote:

RINK NDIO HII.

We unatumia Lsd. Laughing out loudly
#5 Posted : Monday, August 06, 2012 5:38:35 PM

abdulrahman wrote:

RINK NDIO HII.

Brari Uji Baridi!!!

If someone can afford to log in here means he has access to internet.
Google is all he needs.
Shame on you

#6 Posted : Monday, August 06, 2012 5:41:27 PM

@abdulrahman - Interviews have never been rocket science. There are a few things you need to know: -

1) Understand the industry you are in.
2) Understand the company - read about them widely.
3) Know exactly what they are looking for - why do they want to hire? What are the gaps they are trying to fill?
4) Be clear on what you are bringing to the company - How does the company benefit by hiring you? Carefully map your strengths to their needs.
etc.

The rest are details and/or porojo!
felicity
#7 Posted : Monday, August 06, 2012 6:16:46 PM

@abdulrahman - Interviews have never been rocket science. There are a few things you need to know: -

3) Know exactly what they are looking for - why do they want to hire? What are the gaps they are trying to fill?
4) Be clear on what you are bringing to the company - How does the company benefit by hiring you? Carefully map your strengths to their needs.
etc.

While at it what is the right answer to the question tell me about yourself..
abdulrahman
#8 Posted : Monday, August 06, 2012 6:22:48 PM

etc.

Thanks @Maich
#9 Posted : Monday, August 06, 2012 6:31:24 PM

felicity wrote:

etc.

Discuss your academic and professional backgroud and all the while keep it relevant. Being the treasure the vice chair of you "Cousins Chama" might be irrelevant!
#10 Posted : Monday, August 06, 2012 6:33:55 PM

felicity wrote:

etc.

My name Esther Mwende aka Mwesh, I leave in pipeline estate.I went to both primary and secondary school.I am self employed as shown in my cv.I have 4 shudren,I have no steady husband,I work mostly at dusk.I can work for you very well...

Goodluck!

Querry
#11 Posted : Monday, August 06, 2012 9:13:29 PM

1. Be confident- believe you're the person they're looking for.
2. Google, Google, Google.
3. Pray n pray some more.
#12 Posted : Monday, August 06, 2012 9:34:31 PM

felicity wrote:

etc.

My name Esther Mwende aka Mwesh, I leave in pipeline estate.I went to both primary and secondary school.I am self employed as shown in my cv.I have 4 shudren,I have no steady husband,I work mostly at dusk.I can work for you very well...

Goodluck!

Applause
#13 Posted : Monday, August 06, 2012 10:04:38 PM

Some tips:
• Arrive late.
• Excuse yourself and answer cell phone calls in the course of the interview.
• In the midst of the interview call your wife/girlfriend and tell them how it is going
• Use a sanitizer after greeting the interviewers.
• Don’t be kind to the receptionist/demand tea from her
• Show how intelligent you are by putting down the interviewers
• Show arrogance or disrespect
• Become angry or defensive.
• When asked why you need that job tell them you are just about to be sacked.
• Above all assume you are Miguna Miguna as you tackle their questions.
• Good luck
#14 Posted : Monday, August 06, 2012 10:35:38 PM

Some tips:
• Arrive late.
• Excuse yourself and answer cell phone calls in the course of the interview.
• In the midst of the interview call your wife/girlfriend and tell them how it is going
• Use a sanitizer after greeting the interviewers.
• Don’t be kind to the receptionist/demand tea from her
• Show how intelligent you are by putting down the interviewers
• Show arrogance or disrespect
• Become angry or defensive.
• When asked why you need that job tell them you are just about to be sacked.
• Above all assume you are Miguna Miguna as you tackle their questions.
• Good luck

• Don't forget to chew.
• Sit on the edge of your chair.
chiaroscuro
#15 Posted : Tuesday, August 07, 2012 8:25:28 AM

felicity wrote:

etc.

The correct answer is: "What would you like to know?"
chiaroscuro
#16 Posted : Tuesday, August 07, 2012 8:31:06 AM

abdulrahman wrote:

On a serious not...

Just be yourself: if you are nervous, let it be; if shy, don't hide it...

I will always remember the scene in Chinua Achebe's "No Longer at Ease" when Obi Okwonkwo as at the job interview. One of the panelists asks him: "Tell me Mr. Okwonkwo, do you want this job so that you can be taking bribes?"

Okwonkwo replied: "With all due respect, sir, even if that was my intention, you sure don't expect me to say so"

specky
#17 Posted : Friday, August 10, 2012 3:26:25 PM

abdulrahman wrote:

How did it go?
abdulrahman
#18 Posted : Friday, August 10, 2012 4:01:38 PM

specky wrote:
abdulrahman wrote:

How did it go?

It was a nice interview. I wish I go through.
Apart from the first question on "tell us about yourself" all the other questions were based on how to do the job they were interviewing me for and ofcourse what was in my CV. I guess they wanted me to present myself they way I did in the CV. They also gave me a written scenario where they asked me to demonstrate how i would avert a crisis, this was based on the job.
They also asked me the name of my child and named after who in the family.....dont know why they asked this.
They have called me again to go on Monday morning.
specky
#19 Posted : Friday, August 10, 2012 4:08:17 PM

utatoboa usijali just dont forget to pray...
#20 Posted : Friday, August 10, 2012 4:34:17 PM

All the best @abdulrahman - I hope you go through too. It always feels nice when you get a new job that takes a step forward in your career. I hope you get to experience this feeling on Monday. No matter how many you've experienced it, it always feels like it is the first time!