wazua Fri, May 15, 2026

GREEDY TEACHERS
abdulrahman
#1 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2012 5:14:13 PM

Its the high time that the representatives (KNUT) officials should be shamed in public for demonstrating greediness (sic).

Who said that the teachers should be added salary every time other civil servants are given a pay hike.
If my memory serves me right, teachers have had more increments than other civil servants in the recent past. Teachers are fond of going on strike but sometimes the civil servants opt for dialogue though they also demonstrate.

For the chairman Sossion to come out openly for what cannot be implemented is just useless.

Do you imagine a P2 teacher being paid Total earnings ksh 74,000 while the chief principal almost ksh 700,000.

http://www.nation.co.ke/...18/-/cpts0b/-/index.html
#2 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2012 5:26:01 PM

This is when we need an executive order from the presidents.
Let them strike and starve until they grow some sense!

#3 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2012 7:23:03 PM

in some/ many places what a tea lady earns is twice a p1 salary.why go to teachers college then?

teachers deserve a good pay.teachers made you and me what we are.

a basic salo of ksh 11180. h/all 3000 travel all 1000 less paye nhif is just a con.

mind you ,you handle 70 little brat in a single class
#4 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2012 7:41:40 PM

in some/ many places what a tea lady earns is twice a p1 salary.why go to teachers college then?

teachers deserve a good pay.teachers made you and me what we are.

a basic salo of ksh 11180. h/all 3000 travel all 1000 less paye nhif is just a con.

mind you ,you handle 70 little brat in a single class

They should apply for those tea girl posts and live happily!

callaspade
#5 Posted : Friday, July 20, 2012 8:20:17 AM

....and then you put in there midst countless mini skirts?.......the teachers are already known to make school gals paged,now add them money plus this njeve then mutura must include maternity wards in the EDUCATION budget next year. bk!
#6 Posted : Friday, July 20, 2012 8:44:10 AM

Demanding even more than the lecturers, jeez!!

@Impunity hapo sawa, let them become the tea girls!!!!

........who has more than 3 months leave in this country apart from teachers????
#7 Posted : Friday, July 20, 2012 9:00:20 AM

The current demand by teachers is unreasonable I must agree. However, in negotiation, you start from above your target and negotiate downwards.... Its a good strategy for the KNUT officials though exaggerated.

Having said that, well paid teachers would be a blessing to this country. the reason we have so many private schools is because the public schools have failed. Why have they failed? It is because the teachers are paid peanuts and to survive, they have to sell some sukuma wiki as part time job to sustain a reasonable lifestyle taking the valuable time they would have been preparing for the next lesson. What happens to the quality of education they give the children? it goes down of course. That is how those who have money take their kids to private schools.

In private schools, the teachers are paid better than public schools but not much different. the proprietor will overload the teachers and result to clandestine ways of making sure that the children pass exams so that more can come.... hence, we end up with children who have passed exams but they have learnt nothing.... And this continues to university level.... otherwise, why do we still have graduates whose reasoning is suspect? Why is the 8-4-4 system a failure? Why are we producing "half-baked" graduates who cant be left to run a business? These half-baked graduates are an expense to organisations and the economy as a whole. We need committed teachers, but how do we expect the teachers to be committed to their calling when they cant put a decent meal on the table for their children? It doesn't matter whether we can afford to take our kids to a private school, the curse of poorly paid teachers will follow us everywhere.

there are those who do not look at it that way and they are entitled to their opinion.
#8 Posted : Friday, July 20, 2012 9:10:21 AM

Demanding even more than the lecturers, jeez!!

@Impunity hapo sawa, let them become the tea girls!!!!

........who has more than 3 months leave in this country apart from teachers????

Na tutawatongoza hapo wakitu-serve chai.

Its only a Kenyan female teacher who has a 6-month leave (hizo 3 za @makerege plus 3 za mimba)

And the way they give birth like guinea pigs (after every 6 months) you can imagine how many effective years they put in schoolwork for their entire 20 years of siring!
Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

Ms Mkenya
#9 Posted : Friday, July 20, 2012 10:17:07 AM

Most of these teachers are Diploma holders, some with degrees.
They should fin out how people are being paid first.
If a principal is to be paid 700k si kila mtu atatenda kufundisha?
....above all, to stand.
#10 Posted : Friday, July 20, 2012 10:22:19 AM

Ms Mkenya wrote:
Most of these teachers are Diploma holders, some with degrees.
They should fin out how people are being paid first.
If a principal is to be paid 700k si kila mtu atatenda kufundisha?

And some of them insist on only teaching the lower primary so that they have the whole afternoon manning their estate kiosks and doing doing bodaboda business!!!
Shame on you Shame on you