wazua Thu, Mar 19, 2026

Can 500,000/= build a decent 2br?
Coolbull
#1 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2012 9:44:01 AM

I'd like to know if 500,000/= can build a decent self-contained 2 bedroomed house in Lower Kabete(Red Soil).

I intend to direct the in-house loo to an existing pit latrine, so no septic tank to be build. (I hope doing this is legal).

Kindly give ideas.

#2 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2012 10:02:33 AM

Coolbull wrote:
I'd like to know if 500,000/= can build a decent self-contained 2 bedroomed house in Lower Kabete(Red Soil).

I intend to direct the in-house loo to an existing pit latrine, so no septic tank to be build. (I hope doing this is legal).

Kindly give ideas.

there was a thread by User on the same sometime back. nyumba ya mwananchi. cant seem to locate it but wazuans gave insights on the same
yaserbigchair
#3 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2012 10:33:44 AM

You can build any place in the world but if you manage yourself.

Using an existing pit, if its the government one is not legal. But something is not legal when you are caught.
Sound that I love most: Is the ringing bell of Stock Market.
boyd
#4 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2012 1:47:11 PM

smallfama
#5 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2012 4:35:41 PM

Also check here for other options

http://wazua.co.ke/forum.aspx?g=posts&t=11231
Horton
#6 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2012 6:29:29 PM

Nope range per sq foot is 15000-35000

Lower Kabete wapi?? How bIg is the land? Wanna sell?
josiah33
#7 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2012 8:59:56 PM

yaserbigchair wrote:
You can build any place in the world but if you manage yourself.

Using an existing pit, if its the government one is not legal. But something is not legal when you are caught.

Is substituting a pit latrine for a septic illegal?
Horton
#8 Posted : Thursday, July 19, 2012 10:17:43 PM

Cool bull lower kabete wapi? How big is the land wanna sell?
slykat
#9 Posted : Friday, July 20, 2012 2:08:26 AM

Horton wrote:
Cool bull lower kabete wapi? How big is the land wanna sell?

LOL! Reminds me of a fable;

A poor man passed on in his village at a ripe age.

He had never considered himself poor as Amadioha had blessed him with many sons.

All he left for his sons was the land he inherited from his father and fore-fathers before them. He had resisted the rich neighbour's offers for the land till the end.

Later when a son had managed to put aside some material for a small hut, the rich neighbour approached him, "son, this hut is not worthy of the first son of my great departed friend, Amadioha bless him. Sell me the land and I will pay you enough to build a decent house like mine".

Suffice to say, the son had no sons to consider. So he became a well-accommodated IDP.
nyangao
#10 Posted : Friday, July 20, 2012 8:26:39 AM

Coolbull wrote:

Kindly give ideas.

to do a good 2 bedroomed unit of average 75 sqm you need not less than 1 M, unless of course you have your own quarries, no tiles G32 mabati sheets and matchboarded doors.
but the 500,000 can finish your shell. finishes are what takes the largest chunk of the cash.