wazua Wed, Apr 22, 2026

MPesa to and from bank account transactions
#1 Posted : Monday, July 09, 2012 3:20:52 PM

I believe that Mpesa has now reached maturity with the advent of MPesa to bank account transactions. Unless one is handling huge amounts of money, there may be no reason to visit the bank or even go to the ATM to withdraw funds since you can do all that using your phone.
maligumu
#2 Posted : Monday, July 09, 2012 3:55:31 PM

I believe that Mpesa has now reached maturity with the advent of MPesa to bank account transactions. Unless one is handling huge amounts of money, there may be no reason to visit the bank or even go to the ATM to withdraw funds since you can do all that using your phone.

It is convinient however the charges might be higher . All the same it is cost effective .
Peace be with you
deadpoet
#3 Posted : Monday, July 09, 2012 3:59:38 PM

No M-pesa API is a real obstacle to this becoming widespread...

http://blog.kingori.co/2...hat-if-mpesa-had-an-api/
GGK
#4 Posted : Monday, July 09, 2012 6:04:04 PM

[quote=deadpoet]No M-pesa API is a real obstacle to this becoming widespread...

http://blog.kingori.co/2...at-if-mpesa-had-an-api/[/quote]

I find the USSD protocol very useful. It is easy connection oriented mode that uses simple menus to access the bank.

But... of-course it can be improved via an ap... but that complicates it further
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
boyd
#5 Posted : Monday, July 09, 2012 6:14:43 PM

tom_boy
#6 Posted : Thursday, July 12, 2012 5:25:11 PM

I think the next step should be for Safcon to make it easier to load money on Mpesa. I am talking of making it as easy as buying an 'Mpesa top up card' where rather than going to an agent to load your account, you just buy a card (same as for buying airtime or the recently introduced way of topping up on Megabytes). This will tremendously improve accessibility especially to the Pesa Ndogo economy.
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
bird_man
#7 Posted : Thursday, July 12, 2012 5:43:35 PM

@tom boy.....so if I want to deposit 15,410sh which card would I buy?
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
sizzla
#8 Posted : Friday, July 13, 2012 3:22:43 PM

bird_man wrote:

#9 Posted : Friday, July 13, 2012 3:43:39 PM

bird_man wrote:

15,500 card.... or you buy 15000, 200, 200, 50 cards. Whatever remains, remains in your account...

If you think you will use 12bob to make a call, how much airtime do you load? Or just want to send one sms and have no credit?
kilbuff
#10 Posted : Friday, July 13, 2012 3:47:59 PM

tom_boy wrote:
I think the next step should be for Safcon to make it easier to load money on Mpesa. I am talking of making it as easy as buying an 'Mpesa top up card' where rather than going to an agent to load your account, you just buy a card (same as for buying airtime or the recently introduced way of topping up on Megabytes). This will tremendously improve accessibility especially to the Pesa Ndogo economy.

so the card would be legal tender,i can exchange it for goods and services if i don't load it in my phone? then safcom would be a parallel CBK

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you