Culture
SUBARU DRIVERS
Can smn educate Kenyan Subaru drivers that fog lights were designed to be used in situations of low visibility and rain and not to be used for attention seeking at midday when the solar is at 32degrees. Subaru drivers are the only one u c zooming at 100kmph inside a residential estate like nyayo where speed limit is 30kmph what the hell with this attention craze.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/3/2010 Posts: 1,797 Location: Kenya
@premio... I may be wrong..but then I could be right
@premio, very true! And they always have their windows down so that u see them! Not to forget the loud exhaust makelele (cc NEMA noise dept)
wivu... When I have money, I get rid of it quickly, lest it find a way into my heart.
the loud Subaru sound!!!! that has scared people off the road at night and caused bad accidents...thank God the person I know survived...
Rank: Member Joined: 10/8/2010 Posts: 763 Location: Intersection
Hate that noise...especially late in the night when you are trying to sleep and the subaru has arrived...even the toyota's complain...ma-alarms everywhere...NKT!!!!!
....and to imagine that most of them are now way cheaper than the toyos?...NKT!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
It's nice then that, lately, ladies have been driving them. Calm resuming, perhaps? Luck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
Rank: Veteran Joined: 3/31/2008 Posts: 761 Location: Nairobi
I overtook one along thika road and was driving at 100kmph. The fellow seemed to be in no hurry but as soon as I overtook him with my toyota jalopy, he got mad and zoomed past me at lightining speed, only to find him 2km ahead driving at 50kmph. In his world he knows he taught me a lesson. ABK When I admire the wonder of a sunset or the beauty of the moon, my soul expands in worship of the Creator.
Kila nyani na starehe zake, there are people who write all sorts of crap on the car, some have pictures or some funny blue lights on the wheels, spinners, ridiculous seat covers, irritating music, big tyres....the list is so big. Besides, I usually see most top of the range vehicles (BMW, Mercedes, Range etc) driving with fog lights on during the day...doesn't bother me really. I know the noise is sometimes irritating but i think most Subarus are imported like that, unlike the toyotas or Nissans which are fitted with Mufflers....now that's annoying.
I had a Subaru Impreza STI once and what i can say is that driving one is very different from your normal Toyota. There's a reason why you don't mix Subarus (turbo charged) and alcohol and it has nothing to do with the attitude of the driver. Anyway Subaru owners usually have a Subaru-fest, maybe you should attend one who knows it might change your perception.
BTW....this thing with Subarus and fog lights is not just a Kenyan thing, its almost everywhere....well apart from the UK where you get a ticket or even jail time if caught driving with fog lights on when the weather is clear.
@TAZ, Shida ni makerere and disturbance to 3rd parties, graffitti na maandishi sio sida!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Quote:I overtook one along thika road and was driving at 100kmph. The fellow seemed to be in no hurry but as soon as I overtook him with my toyota jalopy, he got mad and zoomed past me at lightining speed, only to find him 2km ahead driving at 50kmph. In his world he knows he taught me a lesson. ABK so ilikua wewe? 1. RULE No. 1 THOU SHALL NEVER OVERTAKE A MOVING SUBARU.
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/7/2010 Posts: 2,148 Location: elderville
Beat me to it He who can express in words the ardour of his love, has but little love to express. - Petrach, Son. (That men by various ways arrive at the same end. - Montaigne, The Essays of.)
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/4/2008 Posts: 1,289 Location: Nairobi
Subs are fun. Stop hating
Rank: New-farer Joined: 6/26/2011 Posts: 46 Location: Embakasi, Nairobi
Overspeeding inside the estates more so within a restricted speed limit is not justifiable. But other motorists also do that. The rest is just hating!!! Let The Subaru be. The stars will never align, & the traffic lights of life will Never go green at the same time.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 7/5/2010 Posts: 2,061 Location: Nairobi
McReggae wrote:....and to imagine that most of them are now way cheaper than the toyos?...NKT!!! ...It is living with the machine that can be costly. Ask anyone who has broken a Subaru light,..they will tell you.
Uza premio nunua subaru...you will even have change...but you will never go back...
brav wrote:Quote:I overtook one along thika road and was driving at 100kmph. The fellow seemed to be in no hurry but as soon as I overtook him with my toyota jalopy, he got mad and zoomed past me at lightining speed, only to find him 2km ahead driving at 50kmph. In his world he knows he taught me a lesson. ABK so ilikua wewe? 1. RULE No. 1 THOU SHALL NEVER OVERTAKE A MOVING SUBARU. Though Subarus have better acceleration and speed than most Toyotas, the bottom line is the driver. Most of the Subaru fast drivers in the estates,rough roads and within the city are average[if not below] drivers. They will overtake,cut in and do all sorts of crazy stuff. Back to @ brav,I dispute your rule. Thumbs up to Subaru, but not to the MAJORITY of their drivers. They will be dying to show off in the estates and rough roads, coz of their superior power, accelerating faster than most Toyotas, but when the road clears good enough, i've only seen one Subaru get past me in a Toyota since 2006. Those average drivers give Subaru a bad name.
mkeiyd wrote: Back to @ brav,I dispute your rule. Thumbs up to Subaru, but not to the MAJORITY of their drivers. They will be dying to show off in the estates and rough roads, coz of their superior power, accelerating faster than most Toyotas, but when the road clears good enough, i've only seen one Subaru get past me in a Toyota since 2006. Those average drivers give Subaru a bad name.
There are very few roads around where a driver can really appreciate the power of a Subaru.....try racing with a Subaru STI along Mombasa rd with your Toyota, you'll probably give it away for free ama itakuwa nyumba ya kuku (unless your Toyota is Turbo charged). Speed is all about acceleration, how many km/h it can do in 10 seconds. I usually see so many idiots speeding around estates lakini akifika highway anakuwa bure kabisa.
Culture
SUBARU DRIVERS