wazua Wed, Jul 23, 2025

Should bank lending rates be regulated?
#1 Posted : Tuesday, March 20, 2012 5:19:43 PM

I think they should.
I've always wondered why banks don't put their lending rates on their websites while they have the most current forex exchange rates. Neither do they put the interest to be earned on savings or fixed depo accounts.
Why do they try to hide this info? Is it because it's not good?

I understand why it might not be a good idea but what is? The fuel regulation seems to be working.

#2 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 11:05:58 AM

I agree with you @ 2012 there should be some sort of regulation when it comes to lending rates,personally I believe its unethical for a bank to charge 25% upwards for any loan while on the other hand you,l be lucky to get a measly 4% p.a on your deposits...
mkeiy
#3 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 11:49:21 AM

The banks argument that if regulated the ordinary mwananchi will miss on advances doesn't hold with me.
How does charging higher interest rate help me,or make it easier for me to repay?
Does it lower the risk/rate of default?
If its more risky lending when the CBR is high, then would it not follow that, its also riskier for depositors hence need for higher interest rate on their deposits?
With the zero-sum of the above argument, would it not be more sensible,business-wise, to keep the lending rates reasonably low, a few percentage points above CBR?
I think regulating them would be a good idea,capping the rates between 3%-5% above CBR.
#4 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 12:05:45 PM

@2012, good arguments. Most would now agree pure Capitalism as a market system is flawed. Government regulation is required to protect the marketplace from manipulation, and even enhance competitive forces that nurture Capitalism.

Hence the min/max caps on interest spreads should be set, beyond which social aspects of the macroeconomy would detoriate - banks running tyrant and poverty sharply increasing.

Coincidentally, wasn't Central Bank intervention in effects of USD/KES crisis towards the same end? Our collective good was at the mercy of the banks. Too much regulation BAD; too little even WORSE.

kizee1
#5 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 12:10:06 PM

how will regulation make credit cheaper? econ 101, what happens when you regulate any commodity? infact isnt credit regulated at the money? isnt it the cbk that controls the amount of money in the system?(albeit in a subtle manner)..infact can any of you guys give just one example of price controls that actually worked?
#6 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 12:44:09 PM

@kizee1 in my opinion, the regulation is not meant to make credit cheaper but is supposed to prevent it from being outrageously expensive [limit/cap on spread] and I liken it to the in-duplum rule.

Okay I agree price controls are to be frowned upon, but not all regulation is price control.

All economies and markets are regulated to some extent. A laissez-faire state and completely free market has never existed.

mkeiy
#7 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 1:02:56 PM

kizee1 wrote:
how will regulation make credit cheaper? econ 101, what happens when you regulate any commodity? infact isnt credit regulated at the money? isnt it the cbk that controls the amount of money in the system?(albeit in a subtle manner)..infact can any of you guys give just one example of price controls that actually worked?

It has worked to a lesser extend with fuel. A petrol station in Westlands used to a few shillings more expensive than a petrol station on say Outering Rd before controls.

It's also used else where to curb runaway inflation on prime land. A punitive tax is charged on speculative transactions.

Credit and other commodities e.g sugar don't share the same market dynamics.
I don't see how banks can hoard loans, but sugar can be hoarded. Sugar can be sold in the black market.
Can lending be done in black market? How about redress for defaults in that "black market", if one were to be devised?
Not all commodities can be regulated effectively, but i think a cap on interest rates can work.

#8 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 1:20:33 PM

mkeiy wrote:

I don't see how banks can hoard loans,

Not all commodities can be regulated effectively, but i think a cap on interest rates can work.

@mkeiy a cap on lending rates will have a detrimental effects on the common mwananchi... imagine if the CBR was 18% and interest rates were capped at 22%..

Why would I as a bank lend to small scale farmer @ 22% and incur all the risk of default when I can simply lend to GOK through risk free treasury bonds @ 20-21%???

There will be absolutely no incentive to lend to the common man so the banks will hoard the loans to them..
the deal
#9 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 2:08:09 PM

Banks with their huge spreads are sabotaging the economy...Kenyan banks enjoy one of the highest interest rate spreads in the world...regulation and innovation over the years have reduced the cost of doing business for banks I.e agency banking, respect those MP's.
#10 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 2:12:12 PM

guru267 wrote:
mkeiy wrote:

@mkeiy a cap on lending rates will have a detrimental effects on the common mwananchi... imagine if the CBR was 18% and interest rates were capped at 22%..

Why would I as a bank lend to small scale farmer @ 22% and incur all the risk of default when I can simply lend to GOK through risk free treasury bonds @ 20-21%???

There will be absolutely no incentive to lend to the common man so the banks will hoard the loans to them..

@guru 267...I tend to disagree,you are looking at only one side of the situation what happens when the CBR rate is between 6-8%,when government securities arent an attractive form of investment,banks will have to lend to the common man so as to boost profits,the kind of regulation we are talking about isnt retrogressive or harsh as we can put it rather one that will bring some sort of sanity in the banking industry and to the lending rates that the citizens are exposed to,25-28% is morally wrong...i also tend to think that kenyan banks should diversify so as to earn revenue from different sources that way they can afford to have lower lending rates while in the meantime maintaing or even growing their profits in the long run...
the deal
#11 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 2:14:45 PM

guru267 wrote:
mkeiy wrote:

T-bills and bonds have tumbled to 16-17% have banks reduced lending rates...ofcourse there is every incentive to lend to a farmer at 19% than to put money in a t-bill at 17%...
mkeiy
#12 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 2:33:28 PM

guru267 wrote:
[quote=mkeiy]

@guru, What i don't get is how, by lending to the same farmer at 28% solves the problem.
Higher interest rates lead to higher defaults,but compensated by higher repayment above principal.

The amounts that gov't borrows is not infinite,banks will have to lend the extra cash.

Interest rates are not going to remain above 15% for ever, how about when CBR comes down to single digits?
Ain't interest cap going to work for that farmer?

I say cap them. A range of between 3%-5% won't be that bad.
kizee1
#13 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 2:56:59 PM

so you guys think that the current scenario is laissez faire?im quite amused
#14 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 5:32:39 PM

You misunderstand my point. In your post, you used regulation and price control interchangably, the two are not synonymous.
kizee1 wrote:
econ 101, what happens when you regulate any commodity? ..infact can any of you guys give just one example of price controls that actually worked?

My point was all 'price controls' are Regulation. But the gambit of Regulation (an inescapable reality) is wider than just 'price controls'.

In Kenya for example, these interventions had a different key motive in my view, while only affecting price indirectly:
- In duplum
- Freeze currency speculation
- Setting telecom MTR rates
- Capping Margins on interest rates

#15 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 7:48:14 PM

mkeiy wrote:
Interest rates are not going to remain above 15% for ever, how about when CBR comes down to single digits?

When the CBR hits for example 5% Then bonds and bills will be at around 7-8% and the lending rate would be capped at 9%..

Any bank that knows how to calculate anything in risk management would only lend to the government and high net worth clients in such an environment..

The higher interest rate a farmer is charged is because of the risk premium needed on that loan.

It involves opportunity cost... Why would I as a bank lend to a farmer when the government and corporates are taking on plenty of debt??
#16 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 8:16:35 PM

guru267 wrote:
mkeiy wrote:

When the CBR hits for example 5% Then bonds and bills will be at around 7-8% and the lending rate would be capped at 9%..

Any bank that knows how to calculate anything in risk management would only lend to the government and high net worth clients in such an environment..

The higher interest rate a farmer is charged is because of the risk premium needed on that loan.

It involves opportunity cost... Why would I as a bank lend to a farmer when the government and corporates are taking on plenty of debt??

@guru...the system will always find a way of stabiling itself and creating equilibrium.Yes bonds and short term paper will- be around 8-9% when the CBR rate comes down to 5%,banks will still be forced to lend out not only to HNWI and big firms but to everyone who is credit worthy as default rates will be much lower and the uptake of loans will be huge.Competition between banks will dictate who makes the most profit and the bannkor banks that will be willing to expand their loan portfolio will edge out those that will be conservative and selective in their lending...countries that have lending rates @ 5% still have baks which loan out individuals,the same case will apply here..
the deal
#17 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 8:38:47 PM

Banks also earn commissions and fees on loans, so its to their advantage to lend than stick money in T-Bills...ain't Equity bank making billions from small farmers @guru? Last time I checked their NPL's where at an all time low...so even in a regulated environment banks will lend...
#18 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 8:47:40 PM

the deal wrote:
Banks also earn commissions and fees on loans, so its to their advantage to lend than stick money in T-Bills...ain't Equity bank making billions from small farmers @guru? Last time I checked their NPL's where at an all time low.

@the deal Have you seen the rates the farmers with no collateral pay... Some are payin 26-29% while we all know the secured loans are going for 19-21%..

This is why equity lends to them.. Take this away and their source of credit is gone.. It will be The destruction of the SME sector..
the deal
#19 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 9:17:01 PM

guru267 wrote:
the deal wrote:
Banks also earn commissions and fees on loans, so its to their advantage to lend than stick money in T-Bills...ain't Equity bank making billions from small farmers @guru? Last time I checked their NPL's where at an all time low.

@the deal Have you seen the rates the farmers with no collateral pay... Some are payin 26-29% while we all know the secured loans are going for 19-21%..

This is why equity lends to them.. Take this away and their source of credit is gone.. It will be The destruction of the SME sector..

According to this http://theeastafrican.co.../-/3wmff5z/-/index.html Equity Bank is lending to farmers at 10%..HFCk is charging existing clients 16%...the secret is access to cheap long term funds..if banks paid more on deposits more Kenyans would save...banks would have access to cheap long term funds..which can be used for mortgage lending..
chiaroscuro
#20 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2012 11:21:46 PM

Some times I think that those who advocate for controlling of bank interest rates have probably never borrowed from a bank. Reason: why would anyone in their right mind borrow at 25% when the major banks are lending at around 15%?

Proof: Last month a neighbour needed to buy a car; she walked into Equity and enquired. They said car loans are at 14.5%. She signed the papers and three weeks later she had the car.

So, I ask: where are these banks that are charging 25%? HAKUNA KITU KAMA HIYO!!

DISCLAIMER: I am not an employee of EQUITY, but I am a shareholder.