wazua Sun, Jan 19, 2025

Safaricom to buy a bank?
#1 Posted : Wednesday, January 25, 2012 3:36:49 PM

Safaricom ltd is set to buy a small bank. Anyone to confirm the news?
slykat
#2 Posted : Wednesday, January 25, 2012 5:14:42 PM

That would be quite something. Investment income from Mpesa funds, Mpesa loans, Mpesa payroll sevices, Mpesa trading account and Mpesa savings.......

Now, what's your source?
hisah
#3 Posted : Wednesday, January 25, 2012 5:50:14 PM

Wow! That would be something for mpesa bank. And it would also piss off most bankers... smile

Then a CFCI de-merger for Mpesa bank. Then the rally smile
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#4 Posted : Wednesday, January 25, 2012 6:46:58 PM

hisah wrote:
Wow! That would be something for mpesa bank. And it would also piss off most bankers... smile

Then a CFCI de-merger for Mpesa bank. Then the rally smile

smile smile

Cde Monomotapa
#5 Posted : Wednesday, January 25, 2012 6:48:03 PM

Terrible idea.
Cde Monomotapa
#6 Posted : Wednesday, January 25, 2012 6:51:11 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Terrible idea.

Macro-economically. Also, is this an admission that they can't live off their core bizness? I'd be selling this thing.
GGK
#7 Posted : Wednesday, January 25, 2012 7:42:41 PM

Makes little sense.
They should just stick to telecom and sort out congestion issues.
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
#8 Posted : Wednesday, January 25, 2012 8:12:10 PM

Core business of what??the way forward for companies is diversification if you dont want to be faced out by competition,or u will be left holding a monkey...insurance companies do real estate,musc does power and many more examples.
marshalliah
#9 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 9:23:56 AM

the core business while starting was providing calling services.if they remained in their core business which is voice segment, we would have no mpesa. While introducing internet services, it was still no core business, but has succeded. Core business is an outdated concept of running businesses and should be left to the industrial revolution. We are in a new age, where core business doesn't matter, as long as ventures are breaking even and are being driven by innovation.

Who knows the core business of google anymore?
#10 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 9:44:16 AM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Terrible idea.

I think so to. This is a hectic service they can outsource cheaply.

#11 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 9:50:03 AM

@masha good point and seconded.,if you plant different crops in 3 shamba's you are betterof than the guy relying on one shamba and one crop,just that simple...its called spreading risk.
#12 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 9:56:57 AM

Running mpesa is just like running a financial institution and so far its sucessful,..hectic??.just the normal pro' and cons of a business...you want to say outsourcing mpesa services is wise?
Sasha
#13 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 10:00:20 AM

@mlennyma: True that every business has to diversify its operations to increase revenue streams and to maintain the bottomline in the face of stiff competition. However, amidst all the diversification the company cannot lose sight of why they exist and what got them where they are i.e. core business.

As much as it may be true that Safcom have the capacity to start/buy/run a bank, the level of operations and attention required to run the bank would greatly take away management time from their core business, which currently has very many issues that need sorting out as pointed out above. There is spreading risk and inviting risk!

Why on earth would they want to run Mpesa as a bank? The costs of running a bank compared to the convenience and relatively cheap maintenance of the virtual bank that Mpesa is totally beats the logic of acquiring a physical bank!
#14 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 10:13:14 AM

mlennyma wrote:
@masha good point and seconded.,if you plant different crops in 3 shamba's you are betterof than the guy relying on one shamba and one crop,just that simple...its called spreading risk.

THIRDED.
Good move, Ekwete is waht it is today because of sme banking;money is with wanjikus and no longer with bigbossman.

marshalliah
#15 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 11:27:10 AM

Sasha wrote:
@mlennyma: True that every business has to diversify its operations to increase revenue streams and to maintain the bottomline in the face of stiff competition. However, amidst all the diversification the company cannot lose sight of why they exist and what got them where they are i.e. core business.

As much as it may be true that Safcom have the capacity to start/buy/run a bank, the level of operations and attention required to run the bank would greatly take away management time from their core business, which currently has very many issues that need sorting out as pointed out above. There is spreading risk and inviting risk!

Why on earth would they want to run Mpesa as a bank? The costs of running a bank compared to the convenience and relatively cheap maintenance of the virtual bank that Mpesa is totally beats the logic of acquiring a physical bank!

each segment operates as a unit cost by financing its operating and expansion strategies without being dependent on the mother company. E.g. When equity opens a branch, the branch should sustain itself by having enough customers that pay the workers, pay rent, and generate profit for its parent company..... Bob collymore and his team will only need data on the performance of the mpesa bank to decide whether it is sutainable in the long run or should be closed down.

Its already a 'bank'. Only infrastructure is lacking
#16 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 11:46:26 AM

@sasha is right this is a terrible Idea and it doesnt make sense why would safaricom be interested in brick & mortar model when the banks are currently moving away from that format.

Mpesa as a virtual bank is more cost effective than a bank, furthermore this business of venturing into a new business enterprise that differs completely from their core business is dangerous reminds me of Kodak when it ventured into chemicals and pharmaceuticals and acquired several pharmaceuticals companies thereby moving away from its core business of making film.

That was the beginning of Kodaks troubles and I think even though they sold the pharmaceutical subsidiaries,the detour must have contributed to their declining market share and lately bankruptcy.
matuwambugu
#17 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 11:49:20 AM

We need a new innovative approach in the banking sector to break the banks over-reliance on CBR to determine their interest rates. Maybe Safcom bank is not a bad idea for the economy although I doubt the shareholders will fancy it...
Cde Monomotapa
#18 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 12:20:18 PM

Can't you see that Mpesa turns over the largest sum of money daily in this country?? What do you think will happen when it is allowed to hold the same as deposits! Think. Our NATIONAL banking system will be controlled from Vodafone in the UK! Instead of this type of wet dreams, Bob Collymore should be working on shifting the Mpesa data base/system from the UK to Kenya. Nkt!!
Jamani
#19 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 1:15:17 PM

@Cde M* I read the threat this might have on roar
Cde Monomotapa
#20 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 1:24:30 PM

Jamani wrote:
@Cde M* I read the threat this might have on roar