Fishing places around Nairobi
Hello all. Trust mko wazima. I'd like to know of places where i can go fishing around nairobi. My boy who is 3 won't let me have peace, he wants us to go fishing. I loved going fishing in my boyhood and teenage yeas bt have not done it since high schl. Thanks in advance for ideas. For in him (Jesus) we live and move and have our being-Acts 17:28
Rank: Member Joined: 6/27/2011 Posts: 301 Location: Nairobi
ali wrote:Hello all. Trust mko wazima. I'd like to know of places where i can go fishing around nairobi. My boy who is 3 won't let me have peace, he wants us to go fishing. I loved going fishing in my boyhood and teenage yeas bt have not done it since high schl. Thanks in advance for ideas. Fishing!!  which part of Nairobi do you live? Maybe I should first ask what it is you want to fish, since in places like Nairobi river, you can get anything else but fish. On a serious note, I only know of two dams, Nairobi dam and the Nairobi University dam in Waiyaki way (kabete). There may be smaller streams that feed into Nairobi river and mbagathi river (Karen) as well.
Hapana, around nairobi. Not in nairobi. Just got a lead: ruiru river is one. Altenative is we go to thka river chania. I'm not eager for nairobi For in him (Jesus) we live and move and have our being-Acts 17:28
MMMM! With a three year old? Wacha akae na mama yake ama mboch. Appear in the evening when he has played enough to be able to pester you. "Never regret, if its good, its wonderful. If its bad, its experience."
Chania's waters are raging and brown from the rains. Sioni ukikamata kíùngùyù hapo. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
@Ali, there is a place on Kiambu road where you can fish (this place where kila mtu hupeleka harusi), but they hire out the fishing rod etc. Let me try and get the name.. The other place is Mamba village, though this is seasonal as they wait for maturity of the fish....
I have a similar problem, so tried once at Mamba in Karen and caught nothing. Was told there are some private properties that have dams that allow fishing, but havent figured out where they are. Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
Lake Naivasha is near Nairobi! Great men are not always wise, neither do the aged understand judgement...
nostoppingthis wrote:@Ali, there is a place on Kiambu road where you can fish (this place where kila mtu hupeleka harusi), but they hire out the fishing rod etc. Let me try and get the name.. The other place is Mamba village, though this is seasonal as they wait for maturity of the fish.... Evergreen Park and Paradise Lost...all on Kiambu road...try and contact them. This will be fun for the kids!
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/31/2008 Posts: 7,081 Location: Kenya
ali wrote:Hello all. Trust mko wazima. I'd like to know of places where i can go fishing around nairobi. My boy who is 3 won't let me have peace, he wants us to go fishing. I loved going fishing in my boyhood and teenage yeas bt have not done it since high schl. Thanks in advance for ideas. ...Very good...Now that it is raining and schools have closed, take him to ushago...many rivers running now...with abundance of fish and other aquarium stuff (mindaalali na kadhalika!!!) AMA USHAGO NI BURUBURU!!!
ali wrote:Hello all. Trust mko wazima. I'd like to know of places where i can go fishing around nairobi. My boy who is 3 won't let me have peace, he wants us to go fishing. I loved going fishing in my boyhood and teenage yeas bt have not done it since high schl. Thanks in advance for ideas. fond memories. We would stick up a worm or grasshopper on an improvised 'hook' made of a sewing thread. most of the times,we'd only catch frogs, crabs and tadpoles.sometimes we'd catch 3 inch cat fish and boil them using kimbo tin cans
buy a big bucket... buy some fish from these acquarium guys and then on a fine saturday morning outside you balcony teach ur son how to fish from the bucket....
@Chemos What did you smoke for breakfast? "Never regret, if its good, its wonderful. If its bad, its experience."
chemos wrote:buy a big bucket... buy some fish from these acquarium guys and then on a fine saturday morning outside you balcony teach ur son how to fish from the bucket.... Reminds me of a ka-paper film that guys in shags would put kwa screen ya great wall to make the tv 'coloured'.
There is Maasai Lodge, Ongata Rongai. The Mbagathi river passes there.
Rank: Elder Joined: 8/1/2008 Posts: 1,432 Location: Marsabit
Sagana.... lots of places to fish Nevermind what haters say, ignore them til they fade away - Just live your life
Tebes wrote:MMMM! With a three year old? Wacha akae na mama yake ama mboch. Appear in the evening when he has played enough to be able to pester you. mayo!!!
When fishing was still fishing, 2011 post!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Fishing places around Nairobi