Culture
African Tribe in India...
see the big story on Sunday Citizen Live @ 9pm today.. If you are an eagle don't hang around with chickens; chickens don't fly....
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
there are many black tribes out of africa! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
masukuma wrote:there are many black tribes out of africa! Some of those dudes look like Jaruos !! If you are an eagle don't hang around with chickens; chickens don't fly....
I also saw it. Was left begging for more. Will google and learn more about it. But! Its wrong to say 'african tribe in India'. The correct term would be 'black tribe in India', but then, do they have different 'tribe features' from the rest (other than color) indians? E.g language and other culture aspects that define tribe? If we must use the term 'african tribe in india', we have to confirm that they came from africa, and that was not confirmed in the feature. Continents belong to many races. Eg zambian vp is a white zambian known as dr scott. We can't say Zambian british vp, or american or ukranian. Otherwise, it was an interesting watch. For in him (Jesus) we live and move and have our being-Acts 17:28
Rank: Member Joined: 1/22/2011 Posts: 322 Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Where are they on the socio-economic ladder? Are they found in industry and government?
If not, WHY not?
Best,
Hill
Rank: Member Joined: 3/29/2011 Posts: 102 Location: Nairobi,Kenya
This guys have been known since kitambo but from the responses apparently not by so many people...
@ali, that was just the introduction in a series. Part 2 should be on tonight
Just google - there is a lot written about these people. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Siddi
"The first Siddis are thought to have arrived in the Indian subcontinent in 628 CE at the Bharuch port. Several others followed with the first Arab Islamic invasions of the subcontinent in 712 AD.[14] The latter group are believed to have been soldiers with Muhammad bin Qasim's Arab army, and were called Zanjis. Most Siddis, however, are believed to be the descendants of slaves, sailors, servants and merchants from East Africa who arrived and became resident in the subcontinent during the 1200-1900 CE period.[15] A large influx of Siddis to the region occurred in the 17th century when Portuguese slave traders sold a number of them to local princes.[2] In Western India (the modern Indian states of Gujarat and Maharashtra), the Siddi gained a reputation for physical strength and loyalty, and were sought out as mercenaries by local rulers, and as domestic servants and farm labor.[2] Some Siddis escaped slavery to establish communities in forested areas, and some even established small Siddi principalities on Janjira Island and at Jaffrabad as early as the twelfth century. A former alternative name of Janjira was Habshan (i.e., land of the Habshis). In the Delhi Sultanate period prior to the rise of the Mughals in India, Jamal-ud-Din Yaqut was a prominent Siddi slave-turned-nobleman who was a close confidant of Razia Sultana (1205–1240 CE). Although this is disputed, he may also have been her lover.[16] As a power centre, Siddis were sometimes allied with the Mughal Empire in its power-struggle with the Maratha Confederacy.[2] However, Malik Ambar, a prominent Siddi figure in Indian history at large, is sometimes regarded as the "military guru of the Marathas", and was deeply allied with them.[17] He established the town of Khirki which later became the modern city of Aurangabad, and helped establish the Marathas as a major force in the Deccan. Later, the Marathas adapted Siddi guerrilla warfare tactics to grow their power and ultimately demolish the Mughal empire.[17] Some accounts describe the Mughal emperor Jahangir as obsessed by Ambar due to the Mughal empire's consistent failures in crushing him and his Maratha cavalry, describing him derogatorily as "the black faced" and "the ill-starred" in the royal chronicles and even having a painting commissioned that showed Jahangir killing Ambar, a fantasy which was never realised in reality.[18] Some Indian Siddis are descended from Tanzanians and Mozambicans brought by the Portuguese. While most African slaves became Muslim and a small minority became Christian, very few became Hindu since they could not find themselves a position in the traditional Hindu caste hierarchy.[19]"
This is the first time ive heard a black guy with an indian accent. wale wote who go there for studies even for ten years dont get the accent.. twas soo funny hearing a black guy talk in hindu accent. ..v va brot here as slaves..hehehe
There are also blacks in Middle East thanks to slavery and trade links. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zanj
"The Zanj traded extensively with Arabs, Persians and Indians, but according to some sources only locally since they possessed no ocean-going ships.[2] According to other sources the heavily-Bantu Swahili peoples already had seafaring vessels with sailors and merchants trading with Arabia and Persia and as far east as India and China.[12][13][14] Through this trade, some Arabs intermarried with local Bantu women, which eventually gave rise to the Swahili culture and language -- both Bantu in origin but significantly influenced by foreign elements (e.g. clothing, loan words, etc.).[15] Prominent settlements of the Zanj coast included Shungwaya (Bur Gao), as well as Malindi, Gedi, and Mombasa. By the late medieval period, the area included at least 37 substantial Swahili trading towns, many of them quite wealthy. However, these communities never consolidated into a single political entity (the "Zanj Empire" being a late nineteenth century fiction). The urban ruling and commercial classes of these Swahili settlements was occupied by Arab and Persian immigrants. The Bantu peoples inhabited the coastal regions, and were organized only as family groups.[2] The term 'shenzi' used on the East African coast and derived from Swahili 'zanji' referred in a derogatory way to anything associated with rural blacks. An example of this would be the colonial term a 'shenzi' dog, referring to a native dog. The Zanj were for centuries shipped as slaves by Arab traders to all the countries bordering the Indian Ocean. The Umayyad and Abbasid caliphs recruited many Zanj slaves as soldiers and, as early as 696 AD, we learn of slave revolts of the Zanj against their Arab masters in Iraq (see Zanj Rebellion). Ancient Chinese texts also mention ambassadors from Java presenting the Chinese emperor with two Seng Chi (Zanji) slaves as gifts, and Seng Chi slaves reaching China from the Hindu kingdom of Sri Vijaya in Java.[16] The term "Zanj" apparently fell out of use in the tenth century. However, after 1861, when the area controlled by the Arab Sultan of Zanzibar was forced by the British to split with the parent country of Oman, it was often referred to as Zanj.[citation needed]. The sea off the south-eastern coast of Africa was known as the "Sea of Zanj" and included the Mascarene islands and Madagascar. During the anti-apartheid struggle it was proposed that South Africa should assume the name 'Azania' to reflect ancient Zanj.
Abject poverty. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
simonkabz wrote:Abject poverty. And how are folks from Gujarat and Maharashtra doing in KE and TZ? Have they been cast into a low caste? Best, Hill
Rank: Member Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 677 Location: Nairobi
@Jason, nope. They are balling out of control.
Dash wrote:@Jason, nope. They are balling out of control. How is this possible? Seriously... let's talk about it. How is this "imbalance" in economic opportunity possible with a "home-field" advantage? Please help me understand. See, I'm in the US, so I understand why Acata has such a disproportionately small piece of the pie. But please explain how this came about in East Africa. Best, Hill
jasonhill wrote:Dash wrote:@Jason, nope. They are balling out of control. How is this possible? Seriously... let's talk about it. How is this "imbalance" in economic opportunity possible with a "home-field" advantage? Please help me understand. See, I'm in the US, so I understand why Acata has such a disproportionately small piece of the pie. But please explain how this came about in East Africa. Best, Hill Different circumstances ama you expect them to be treated the same way??? ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
I just want to understand how someone looses home-field advantage. I never hear this talked about as an issue.
If they are balling out of control, how did this come about in Kenya specifically?
Best,
Hill
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/3/2010 Posts: 1,797 Location: Kenya
jasonhill wrote:I never hear this talked about as an issue. Let the people decide once tried and learnt a lesson Quote: If they are balling out of control, how did this come about in Kenya specifically?
Because kenyans love all things foreign?? or ask mapambano What does @sunnywords have to say abt this siddis I may be wrong..but then I could be right
Love all things foreign? So then how will vision 2030 be reached with the overwhelming love or all things foreign, which equates to a hate, or at least an indifference to all things Kenyan? Kenya must become a net exporter, where money that is made in Kenya is reinvested in Kenya by those who's alliance and allegiance is with Kenya.
Do you know that there has never been a Black African team that has won the world cup. Or even placed 2nd. Or 3rd for that matter.
Do you know why that is?
Is it a lack of...
Training (education)? No.
Resources? No.
Capability? No.
Physical stamina and dexterity? Goodness no.
It's because the rest of the world, somehow, keeps convincing Africa that this game that we play isn't a competitive, winner-takes-all team sport that we are playing. That we can "support multiple teams". So everyone kicks us around, and then tells us "Smile! We're all on the same team!"
So we act as a large bunch of independent, non-team kickers. We in-fight about tribe and religion. We don't realize that if we Black Africans don't win as a team, NONE of us win. We are all too happy to join any random team that throws us a ball and a smile, not realizing that if they let you in the locker room, you'll be the one cleaning it. And we try to force the mantras, plans, playbook, and team structure of other teams on our own; it will never fit to our benefit. But other teams- they expect free reign and the best tables in not just theirs, but in OUR facilities.
It's all just a friendly game of football I suppose.
Best,
Hill
Rank: Member Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 677 Location: Nairobi
Yes Kenyans do love all things foreign. I cannot speak for other African countries because I don't know their culture. A perfect example is not eating our traditional (and very delicious) mbogas instead of opting for foreign (look at the KFC hulabaloo, give me a kienyeji anytime). Go to the coast and compare how you are treated before and after a mzungu walks into a shop. Or go to the many food courts or hotels in Nrb and see how the next Indian will be treated because it is assumed they will spend more than you as an African will. Personally, I only just started appreciating my African and Kenyan roots. Embracing my culture by what I eat, how I name and teach my children na kadhalika. Not that evrything foreign is bad, but as Africans I thinks its time we stopped shunning our culture and ourselves and have a healthy balance. The Indians themselves despite being here for centuries are still very much entrenched in their culture and beliefs. So I think the reason the siddi have been fully "accepted" is because they never really were part of that culture
Dash wrote:Yes Kenyans do love all things foreign. I cannot speak for other African countries because I don't know their culture. A perfect example is not eating our traditional (and very delicious) mbogas instead of opting for foreign (look at the KFC hulabaloo, give me a kienyeji anytime). Go to the coast and compare how you are treated before and after a mzungu walks into a shop. Or go to the many food courts or hotels in Nrb and see how the next Indian will be treated because it is assumed they will spend more than you as an African will. Personally, I only just started appreciating my African and Kenyan roots. Embracing my culture by what I eat, how I name and teach my children na kadhalika. Not that evrything foreign is bad, but as Africans I thinks its time we stopped shunning our culture and ourselves and have a healthy balance. The Indians themselves despite being here for centuries are still very much entrenched in their culture and beliefs. So I think the reason the siddi have been fully "accepted" is because they never really were part of that culture Or dropping Kenyan names for a full foreign identity like Jason Hill!
Culture
African Tribe in India...